wazua Thu, Jan 16, 2025

12 Pages«<101112
Kenya Airways FY 2012/13 after tax loss of 7.8bn
mwekez@ji
#221 Posted : Friday, September 06, 2013 10:01:03 AM

Kenya Airways’ associate, Precision Air, posts net loss of KES 1.6bn in FY2012/13

Precision Air has posted a net loss of KES 1.6bn for the full year ended March 2013 due to increased operating expenses. The airline’s total operating expenses rose 44.2% y/y to KES 2.9bn on the back of increased staff related costs, impairments on receivables and marketing expenses leading to an operating loss of KES 977.7m. The gross profit meanwhile was down 27.3% y/y to KES 1.8bn as a result of increased fuel and maintenance costs. Revenue however rose 11.2% y/y to KES 9.8bn driven by increased passenger numbers (+8.5% y/y to 895,150 passengers). The airline will scale back on routes and cancel expensive aircraft leases to return to profitability. Last month, Precision Air sought a USD 32.0m bailout package from the Tanzania government to mitigate the effects of high borrowing costs (finance costs were up 6.8% y/y to KES 442.7m in FY13) related to the acquisition of seven planes from Avions de transport regional (ATR) for a total cost of USD 136.0m in 2007. The airline’s IPO in 2011 was also undersubscribed, limiting the cashflow available to service the debt. Kenya Airways’ owns 41.0% of Precision Air and recorded a loss of KES 230.0m in FY13 relating to this stake. (Source; Business Daily, Kestrel Research)
Kausha
#222 Posted : Saturday, September 07, 2013 12:56:17 PM

This is the PA that IPO'd at the tail end of 2011 and is now ombaing serikali itusaidie. Airline business is not a portfolio investors' play. KQ next with serikali?
#223 Posted : Saturday, September 07, 2013 2:08:10 PM

Buy this thing if you have some loose cash, its a steal at Kes. 9.50...it will hit 14 by Oct when they announce their positive HY results!
Take my words.
Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you We are watching Liar Liar Liar
#224 Posted : Saturday, September 07, 2013 5:00:10 PM

Buy this thing if you have some loose cash, its a steal at Kes. 9.50...it will hit 14 by Oct when they announce their positive HY results!
Take my words.

Listen to me!

#225 Posted : Saturday, September 07, 2013 10:20:42 PM

Take my words.

Listen to me!
Good for you! We will wait until 31st Oct 2013. In the meantime, I am staying out since 14/- is a mirage. Again, IMHO.
Kausha
#226 Posted : Sunday, September 08, 2013 10:56:21 AM

Take my words.

Listen to me!
Good for you! We will wait until 31st Oct 2013. In the meantime, I am staying out since 14/- is a mirage. Again, IMHO.

Look expect bailout application on that day....and this is serious.
mwekez@ji
#227 Posted : Friday, September 27, 2013 8:36:52 AM

#AGM > NAIROBI, Kenya, Sep 26 – Kenya Airways has assured its shareholders that it will turn the losses experienced in the period ended March 2013 into profit in the next financial year.

Kenya Airways Managing Director Titus Naikuni says the airline has set targets to achieve cost saving in all areas of the business by improving work practices. > http://www.capitalfm.co.ke/busi...return-to-profitability/

mkeiyd
#228 Posted : Friday, September 27, 2013 9:20:58 AM

mwekez@ji wrote:
#AGM > NAIROBI, Kenya, Sep 26 – Kenya Airways has assured its shareholders that it will turn the losses experienced in the period ended March 2013 into profit in the next financial year.

Kenya Airways Managing Director Titus Naikuni says the airline has set targets to achieve cost saving in all areas of the business by improving work practices. > http://www.capitalfm.co.ke/busi...return-to-profitability/

The next financial year being the one ending March 2014.
Less than 8 months for @obiero to be made "rich"?
mwekez@ji
#229 Posted : Friday, September 27, 2013 5:33:36 PM

Bullish Rich Today wrote:
Dr. Titus Naikuni's comments at the AGM yesterday, where he said

“When we compare the first five months of this financial year over a similar period last year, we have seen a marked improvement in passenger numbers as well as managed well the operating costs” and guided Investors towards the View that Kenya Airways was on Target to report a FY Profit, bounced the share price 1.07% to close at 9.45. Kenya Airways will hurdle 10.00 and head towards 12.00. Its been deeply sold for a while. Dr. Naikuni is not the type to pad his comments and he is signalling the Earnings Curve has inflected. There was Buy Side Demand at the Finish Line for 691% more shares than were traded during the session.

#230 Posted : Friday, September 27, 2013 6:24:08 PM

waiting to see the price movements. may start to slow down my buying at any price above KES 14

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
cnn
#231 Posted : Monday, September 30, 2013 3:10:10 PM

At the close the demand was for 699 800 against a supply of 1000(all at 10.35),a high of 10.35,last price 10,the VWAP @ 9.65....some upward traction on the price seems to be on the cards.
#232 Posted : Monday, September 30, 2013 6:55:00 PM

cnn wrote:
At the close the demand was for 699 800 against a supply of 1000(all at 10.35),a high of 10.35,last price 10,the VWAP @ 9.65....some upward traction on the price seems to be on the cards.

KES 12.50 by 08.06.13.. thank me later

cnn
#233 Posted : Monday, September 30, 2013 7:26:20 PM

cnn wrote:

Thank you but this one for me no.
jerry
#234 Posted : Tuesday, October 01, 2013 7:08:33 AM

cnn wrote:
cnn wrote:

08/06/13???
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#235 Posted : Tuesday, October 01, 2013 9:13:37 PM

jerry wrote:
cnn wrote:
cnn wrote:

08/06/13???
LMAO ... Liar Liar Liar 8th June 2013 or 6th August 2013? Aren't both dates past the due date?
#236 Posted : Tuesday, October 01, 2013 9:28:36 PM

jerry wrote:
cnn wrote:
cnn wrote:

08/06/13???
LMAO ... Liar Liar Liar 8th June 2013 or 6th August 2013? Aren't both dates past the due date?

Wewe nacheka nini bwana.. Haha. Obviously meant October

Aguytrying
#237 Posted : Tuesday, October 01, 2013 9:53:30 PM

@obiero. you've proven yourself as a competent bus driver. be sure to alert passengers when to jump out if it comes to that. personally with current mgnt I can't touch kq
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#238 Posted : Tuesday, October 01, 2013 11:29:35 PM

jerry wrote:
cnn wrote:
cnn wrote:

08/06/13???

Good luck on KQ.
mkeiyd
#239 Posted : Wednesday, October 02, 2013 8:31:59 AM

jerry wrote:
cnn wrote:
cnn wrote:

08/06/13???

Will it ramp up 2 bob in 4 trading sessions?