wazua Sat, Feb 1, 2025

disturbing new trend
Rollout
#21 Posted : Thursday, September 05, 2013 10:05:12 PM

The guy holding his in portrait style looks ike he's searching for network, hehe. Yes, people can live their lives the way they want, that does not mean we should not point out ushamba when we have the chance. All these guys are just showing off that they have an Ipad/Tablet...problem is everyone has them nowadays, so there's nothing to show off. It's like showing off a mobile phone. Watu watulie...mwanaume ni kufunika meza na maziwa!!!

Why are you noticing them then....? It say something about yourself...
#22 Posted : Thursday, September 05, 2013 10:19:16 PM

May I take a minute to call out people who are using these equipment for the wrong jobs... cameras are smaller, cheaper and have more megapixels...

can people us the right tools for the right job!!
kama wewe ni moja wao... wacha hii tabia... hii ni ushamba! hii ni ushamba!

This is the ipad era. Cameras are sooo 20th century, belonging to a bygone era. We need to move with the times.

priss... moving to lower quality, bigger and expensive things that block your view?

kumbe I am not alone... its an annoying phenomenon..

http://lookstupidtakingp...swithanipad.tumblr.com/

http://peopletakingpictureswithipads.tumblr.com/

http://gizmodo.com/59419...s-from-doing-their-jobs

ona huyu!

#23 Posted : Thursday, September 05, 2013 10:20:13 PM

Rollout wrote:
The guy holding his in portrait style looks ike he's searching for network, hehe. Yes, people can live their lives the way they want, that does not mean we should not point out ushamba when we have the chance. All these guys are just showing off that they have an Ipad/Tablet...problem is everyone has them nowadays, so there's nothing to show off. It's like showing off a mobile phone. Watu watulie...mwanaume ni kufunika meza na maziwa!!!

Why are you noticing them then....? It say something about yourself...

Sawa Rollout, clearly I've touched a nerve
#24 Posted : Thursday, September 05, 2013 10:25:07 PM

Soon you will see people walking around with 42" flat screens.

Not in this era, saa hii ni kutembea na packet za maziwa...

Saw one at a wedding taking pictures with the iPad and the camera was hang around the wrist...I thought the camera would take better pictures
#25 Posted : Thursday, September 05, 2013 10:56:08 PM

You look stupid when you take pictures with an iPad.

There, I said it.

I know this may come as a shock to some, but tablets are not meant to be used as photo-taking devices.

Tablets are used for four purposes: browsing the Internet, checking email, watching movies and playing games. And, for some, watching porn. (Seriously, don’t do that.)

The camera on an iPad? It sucks. It’s a paltry five megapixels, and that’s only on the new “Retina display” model. The photos are grainy, oversaturated and of such poor quality, it is unbelievable companies like Apple allowed them to be shipped.

But that ignores the most important thing — everyone looks like a dumbass when trying to take a picture with one.

Think about it. You’re wielding this giant, 10-inch slate of metal and glass in front of your face, trying to take a picture of something that is, in all likelihood, too far away to take a picture of. You just embarrass yourself instead of getting a good shot.

I’ve taken more pictures of idiots with iPads on the sideline of Tiger Stadium than I care to admit. I once watched a teenager hold her brand-new, $500 iPad over a pool to film a swimming relay. I saw people with iPads taking pictures at the Voodoo Experience at least 100 yards away from the stage.

How are these people allowed to own tablets?

What’s even more absurd is that if you own an iPad or other tablet, there’s a good chance you have a smartphone, too.

Guess which camera is not only good, but, in many cases, legitimately better than many traditional point-and-shoots?

Cell phone cameras.

Unlike tablet shooters, these don’t suck. That’s why Instagram and mobile picture sharing is so popular — you’re always carrying a competent camera in your pocket.

So why in the name of all that is good and pure would you choose to take pictures with a bulkier, heavier and more terrible version of something you already have?

Maybe you have unresolved issues from your childhood or something, but that does not give you permission to walk around with your iPad looking like an idiot.

Let this be a warning: If I catch you taking pictures with an iPad for anything serious, I’m going to take it from you. You look dumb, and you should feel dumb.

Save yourself the embarrassment
seppuku
#26 Posted : Friday, September 06, 2013 9:47:47 AM

Someone here has made the point that people don't even take the time to enjoy the moments anymore. I agree. Often it is more rewarding to just focus and be genuinely involved. I mean, I can understand the urge to grab a few decent shots, but unless you are the official photographer for the event, you should mostly stay out of the way. And that's the one thing tablet photographers aren't especially good at.

But you know, the problem is much more complicated than that. People are obsessed with social networking too. They want to be the ones to post the best or the most pictures of an event on Facebook. They are so busy trying to show the world how much fun they are having that they actually miss out on having that very fun itself. It's paradoxical, really. And because they have no clue how to get a decent shot, they fire away incessantly as though their camera were some type of optical shotgun - hoping to land a good frame by dint of good luck alone.

All the while people who are actually trying to participate have to crane their necks like horny flamingos because some nit-witted wannabe socialite can't sit still an pay attention. Watu wawache ushenzi.
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
#27 Posted : Friday, September 06, 2013 10:09:27 AM

seppuku wrote:
Someone here has made the point that people don't even take the time to enjoy the moments anymore. I agree. Often it is more rewarding to just focus and be genuinely involved. I mean, I can understand the urge to grab a few decent shots, but unless you are the official photographer for the event, you should mostly stay out of the way. And that's the one thing tablet photographers aren't especially good at.

But you know, the problem is much more complicated than that. People are obsessed with social networking too. They want to be the ones to post the best or the most pictures of an event of Facebook. They are so busy trying to show the world how much fun they are having that they actually miss out on having that very fun itself. It's paradoxical, really. And because they have no clue how to get a decent shot, they fire away incessantly as though their camera were some type of optical shotgun - hoping land a good frame by dint of good luck alone.

All the while people who are actually trying to participate have to crane their necks like horny flamingos because some nit-witted wannabe socialite can't sit still an pay attention. Watu wawache ushenzi.

ballistic
#28 Posted : Friday, September 06, 2013 11:08:58 AM

May I take a minute to call out people who are using these equipment for the wrong jobs... cameras are smaller, cheaper and have more megapixels...

How on earth can this be a "disturbing" trend? Kwani whats the camera and video recorder in the ipad for?
theman192000
#29 Posted : Friday, September 06, 2013 11:54:04 AM

ballistic wrote:

How on earth can this be a "disturbing" trend? Kwani whats the camera and video recorder in the ipad for?

Skype?
#30 Posted : Friday, September 06, 2013 11:55:22 AM

theman192000 wrote:
ballistic wrote:

Skype?

Na video?

#31 Posted : Friday, September 06, 2013 12:13:17 PM

mkenyan wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly . always laugh. at least one day they would realise that they not only look silly but the photo quality is real down. and i see one even taking a photo in portrait. Sad Sad

This must be in Nyanza, I can see Applet!

@Masukuma,@Impunity hata wakificha ushamba ati ni mido class, it has a way of showing and this is one it.
#32 Posted : Friday, September 06, 2013 12:22:37 PM

the next annoying thing is those big ugly rings. Now put those ones next to big ugly shades, very big ideos and a person taking a photo, you have the very defination of ushamba.
#33 Posted : Friday, September 06, 2013 12:30:06 PM

ballistic wrote:

the back facing camera is for video while using facetime and skype! such that you don't need to turn the tablet to show the person you are conversing with your environment! andika hii mahali and underline IT'S NOT FOR TAKING PHOTOS!! check out what Dave Limp, Vice President Amazon Kindle said about the same....
We're pretty sure that if people want to take a picture, they have more than enough options, between their phones and everything else, that they don't need a camera on their tablet.
even the nexus does not have a back facing camera.

this is how someone looks when they take photos with a tablet!
#34 Posted : Friday, September 06, 2013 12:44:13 PM

the next annoying thing is those big ugly rings. Now put those ones next to big ugly shades, very big ideos and a person taking a photo, you have the very defination of ushamba.

....add to that some very BIG bangles...

#35 Posted : Friday, September 06, 2013 1:36:28 PM

....add to that some very BIG bangles...

Fake hair ....
pleasecallme
#36 Posted : Friday, September 06, 2013 4:27:33 PM

This is the ipad era. Cameras are sooo 20th century, belonging to a bygone era. We need to move with the times.

priss... moving to lower quality, bigger and expensive things that block your view?

kumbe I am not alone... its an annoying phenomenon..

http://lookstupidtakingp...swithanipad.tumblr.com/

http://peopletakingpictureswithipads.tumblr.com/

http://gizmodo.com/59419...s-from-doing-their-jobs

ona huyu!

Not sure if they realize their picture quality is 2mpx type or its jus an 'Ipad' euphoria. And I bet all these guys have phones with better cameras than those giant windows frames. Actually you'll get an ipad in 1/50 cases, the rest ni huawei,samsung..et al.
You kill bird...bird dead snake come.
Drobos fly
#37 Posted : Friday, September 06, 2013 5:52:48 PM

Masukuma, not everyone was born to be a professional, so go easy on these guys besides if everyone was professional how would those gadget manufacturers make their money?
We need some dimwits to keep the market running! How do you think the stock market works?.... Not everyone is supposed to be smart you know... and I think I like it that way smile
CLK
#38 Posted : Friday, September 06, 2013 6:14:44 PM

I don't do the same lakini some comments border on mauchungu!!!!

True, dont see why i should carry my Galaxy S4 to make calls on Safaricom, Sony Xperia Z for making calls on Airtel, Nikon Camera for taking photos and my iPad to read whats trending on wazua if one of them can do all...
Msa Liti
#39 Posted : Friday, September 06, 2013 7:40:30 PM

It will come to pass. A few years ago Kenyans were going to clubs with 128MB flashdisks hanging from their necks.
I don't see that nowadays.
#40 Posted : Friday, September 06, 2013 8:20:22 PM

Msa Liti wrote:
It will come to pass. A few years ago Kenyans were going to clubs with 128MB flashdisks hanging from their necks.
I don't see that nowadays.

well said!!!