wazua Sat, Feb 1, 2025

8 Pages«<45678>
Tighten your seat belts!!!!
#101 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 10:58:14 PM

Drobos fly wrote:
For those who can't afford a cow, just like imported sugar is cheaper than local sugar, we can have wholecream powered milk imported at prices cheaper than petrol.

Newfarer, kwani you cook with what? ...Kuni? coz elec is another that's going to be taxed, even kerosene is indirectly connected to fuel tax.

when I buy 13 kg gas it lasts about 2 months but 3 pints of milk at 168 per day for the young family isn't a laughing matter.

now will have to reduce milk consumption to 1 or 2 Max per day.wataumia lakini tutado?
mbeta
#102 Posted : Thursday, September 05, 2013 6:58:18 AM

Drobos fly wrote:
For those who can't afford a cow, just like imported sugar is cheaper than local sugar, we can have wholecream powered milk imported at prices cheaper than petrol.
Newfarer, kwani you cook with what? ...Kuni? coz elec is another that's going to be taxed, even kerosene is indirectly connected to fuel tax.

@Drobosfly Be careful with cheap imported food products, remember this
http://thinkbusiness.nus...%80%99s-melamine-scandal
#103 Posted : Thursday, September 05, 2013 7:49:36 AM

mbeta wrote:
[quote=Drobos fly]For those who can't afford a cow, just like imported sugar is cheaper than local sugar, we can have wholecream powered milk imported at prices cheaper than petrol.

http://thinkbusiness.nus...80%99s-melamine-scandal[/quote]

Now if we cant make cheap food here what do we do?
#104 Posted : Thursday, September 05, 2013 7:59:26 AM

mbeta wrote:
[quote=Drobos fly]For those who can't afford a cow, just like imported sugar is cheaper than local sugar, we can have wholecream powered milk imported at prices cheaper than petrol.

http://thinkbusiness.nus...80%99s-melamine-scandal[/quote]

And this:

Contaminated milk scare.
#105 Posted : Thursday, September 05, 2013 9:44:19 AM

haya keyde raw unchained! Rink
Um Sayala
#106 Posted : Thursday, September 05, 2013 10:04:10 AM

But honestly why should a litre of Milk be more expensive than a litre of petrol.
Something is not adding up considering this is a basic commodity
"Peace is our profession, War is our business" ...Unknown
CLK
#107 Posted : Thursday, September 05, 2013 10:12:20 AM

Um Sayala wrote:
But honestly why should a litre of Milk be more expensive than a litre of petrol.

Doesnt make sense considering petrol is imported, refined and transported for long distances with many middlemen, milk moves from Kiambu farmers to brookside in Kiambu county....
#108 Posted : Thursday, September 05, 2013 11:03:20 AM

CLK wrote:
Um Sayala wrote:

Doesnt make sense considering petrol is imported, refined and transported for long distances with many middlemen, milk moves from Kiambu farmers to brookside in Kiambu county....

the scale at which the milk is produce is small thus more expensive, it funny that a farmer in kiambu has to employ a farm help to cater for the 3 or 4 cows while kuna familia majuu who manage a farm with 10 to 20 times the animals and size without any help.
#109 Posted : Thursday, September 05, 2013 11:22:39 AM

anybody can own a cow. watu wanunue ng'ombe.
Um Sayala
#110 Posted : Thursday, September 05, 2013 11:36:43 AM

Quite pedestrian. With googles of course
"Peace is our profession, War is our business" ...Unknown
#111 Posted : Thursday, September 05, 2013 11:42:33 AM

Um Sayala wrote:

Quite pedestrian. With googles of course

Exactment.
CLK
#112 Posted : Thursday, September 05, 2013 12:55:59 PM

Yes, tie it hapo kwa post on 4th floor of a flat in Umo..
#113 Posted : Thursday, September 05, 2013 1:46:22 PM

Let's start it from the supply side.

How much should a farmer be paid by the milk processor per litre?
danas10
#114 Posted : Thursday, September 05, 2013 1:58:09 PM

How much does it cost to produce 1 litre of milk upto the point of delivery to the processor? Then we can determine how much the processor should pay the farmer.
#115 Posted : Thursday, September 05, 2013 2:01:59 PM

danas10 wrote:

How much does it cost to produce 1 litre of milk upto the point of delivery to the processor? Then we can determine how much the processor should pay the farmer.

Alot of factors comes in but 100 vs 30 pr litre is too much!
I know the miok is transported from Muchatha to Roiro/Brookside, filtered, homeginised, fat removed, cooled, parked and shipped to Tuskies 20km away in the city!

ION: How much is alitre of that miok sold in Supermarkets through dispensers?

#116 Posted : Thursday, September 05, 2013 2:06:29 PM

At Naivas, 55/=, others 60/=.

#117 Posted : Thursday, September 05, 2013 2:09:37 PM

Si we open our own plant namely Wazua Milk Processors and sell the milk at a reasonable price? All consumers will come our way...and the Wazua shareholders will be rich...even as they sort out a social problem. I still believe the milk high prices are not all about the VAT. Even 45 is way too high for many of us.
#118 Posted : Thursday, September 05, 2013 2:09:51 PM

CLK wrote:
Um Sayala wrote:

the scale at which the milk is produce is small thus more expensive, it funny that a farmer in kiambu has to employ a farm help to cater for the 3 or 4 cows while kuna familia majuu who manage a farm with 10 to 20 times the animals and size without any help.

its the middlemen called 'milk processors' that remove cream from milk, put it in containers then sell it at a premium.
#119 Posted : Thursday, September 05, 2013 2:10:18 PM

At Naivas, 55/=, others 60/=.

Then I see some business opportunity here.
How much is that miok dispenser and what are the permits required to operate one?

#120 Posted : Thursday, September 05, 2013 2:40:27 PM

Si we open our own plant namely Wazua Milk Processors and sell the milk at a reasonable price? All consumers will come our way...and the Wazua shareholders will be rich...even as they sort out a social problem. I still believe the milk high prices are not all about the VAT. Even 45 is way too high for many of us.

Energy cost, 'food experts' cost, transportation cost, Board members allowances, CEO and CFO thuggery costs etc etc at the factory. Don't forget the politicians who act as Mafia gangs will also be collecting protection fees!