wazua Thu, Feb 6, 2025

VAT Bill - 2013
#21 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 9:52:21 AM

Now every employee should go on strike and demand for more pay. Where will the money come from? Your guess is as good as mine or maybe from the mega profits companies are bragging about.

#22 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 9:55:07 AM

Now every employee should go on strike to demand more pay.

smile Kumbe bei ya maziwa haina stronghold
#23 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 10:32:26 AM

VAT pia haina stronghold.
#24 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 10:47:08 AM

Why are the prices going up by a straight 16%+? I thought prices would adjust by 5 - 10%. Weren't this suppliers claiming back any VAT from KRA when these commodities were zero rated? How is this factored in within the new tax regime?
#25 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 11:06:18 AM

smile Bei ya maziwa ndiyo stronghold.

#26 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 11:32:47 AM

FundamentAli wrote:
Why are the prices going up by a straight 16%+? I thought prices would adjust by 5 - 10%. Weren't this suppliers claiming back any VAT from KRA when these commodities were zero rated? How is this factored in within the new tax regime?

Accept, pay and move on. Let us support the gavament!
#27 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 11:38:21 AM

FundamentAli wrote:

They need the money to implement the promises!!! commodity prices hazina tyranny of numbers
#28 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 11:45:30 AM

Bread 45/=
Milk 55/=
Lunch 120/=
Airtime 100/=
Data Bundle 20/=
Fare to and from work 200/=
Mbegu ya pastor 300/=
TOTAL Approx.840/= per day
And Julie Gichuru has never featured me on "Who owns Kenya??"

#DEAD
MKWASI
#29 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 12:55:23 PM

FundamentAli wrote:

They need the money to implement the promises!!! commodity prices hazina tyranny of numbers

Irrespective whether you voted for the promises or not...you have to pay.

Developments are not funded from the air....they have to be financed!!smile and who else to finance it...

Where was the opposition when this VAT Act was passed ama walikuwa kortini!!
Ali Baba
#30 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 2:39:29 PM

I will not lie to you guys....the only solution to this is to evade more income taxes ....so as to finance this VAT increase ..
#31 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 2:44:38 PM

Ali Baba wrote:
I will not lie to you guys....the only solution to this is to evade more income taxes ....so as to finance this VAT increase ..

Actually for me, i view income tax as anti-development and discriminate especially the P.A.Y.E.

#32 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 6:57:54 PM

Kweli kweli this thing is real. Leo nimeingia super na 2k. Almost got embarrased at the counter na hata hakuna kitu muhimu nimenunua.
#33 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 7:41:09 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
the deal wrote:
They should introduce a Ksh2000 note then..heck Ksh1000 is nothing this days...

The most practical would be to re-denominate the currency by knocking off the zero in 1000 so that it becomes 100.

How many will agree for their employers to knock off some zeros from their payslip? SMH.
#34 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 9:20:46 PM

MKWASI wrote:
FundamentAli wrote:

Irrespective whether you voted for the promises or not...you have to pay.

Developments are not funded from the air....they have to be financed!!smile and who else to finance it...

Where was the opposition when this VAT Act was passed ama walikuwa kortini!!

Tyranny is also in the legislature, na ujue opposition have been told to "Shut up!"
GGK
#35 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 9:23:41 PM

this VAT thing will subside in due course. As usual, when something like this happens, shocks do occur but later sanity will prevail as things stabilizes.

my question, if Uchumi & CornerShop both buy milk from Brookside @40/= to sell @45/=. Uchumi will remit to GoK 16% of 5/= "value added" , CornerShop won't remit .... why would they sell the milk at the same price?
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
josimar
#36 Posted : Thursday, September 05, 2013 12:18:17 PM

How does or How can the mwananchi make the government account for all taxes collected in the country and ensure they are spent effectively? My fear is that taxation may be one of the easiest ways to steal from citizens if not well accounted for.
#37 Posted : Thursday, September 05, 2013 1:30:19 PM

GGK wrote:

my question, if Uchumi & CornerShop both buy milk from Brookside @40/= to sell @45/=. Uchumi will remit to GoK 16% of 5/= "value added" , CornerShop won't remit .... why would they sell the milk at the same price?

Brookside should also charge 16% VAT. Each business in the line will do a VAT analysis showing the input(purchases) versus output(sales). If output exceeds input, the difference is paid to KRA
#38 Posted : Thursday, September 05, 2013 2:19:19 PM

Na bado Kidero has unleashed his rates...i told u Nrb will be very expensive to live
#39 Posted : Thursday, September 05, 2013 4:06:19 PM

We accept and move on. Ama turudi machinani.
MKWASI
#40 Posted : Thursday, September 05, 2013 4:37:09 PM

Na bado Kidero has unleashed his rates...i told u Nrb will be very expensive to live

Everybody who wanted to increase but feared backlash from consumers has taken advantage of the VAT bill to increase their services...that is how inflation is fueled.