wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

6 Pages123>»
LOST MONEY THRO' MPESA
keraka
#1 Posted : Tuesday, September 03, 2013 3:03:14 PM

Just Lost a substantial amount of money through mpesa,which was meant to be School fees for kerakalet.
Yesterday, I Was meant to send to the School MPesa Number but missed two digits and the amount went to one Hiram Kiruiro of phone no.0722215845 who according to information i obtained from a friend in Safcom immediately transferred it to another number 0701152055.Hence according to Safcom I have no remedy at that point to reverse the transaction.
The first no.Went mteja since then but the 2nd number is on and off and the guy who seldom receives it confirms that he is a businessman in Holla and the amount sent to him was by a random customer among many who use his shop as an Mpesa withdrawal point(Note; its his number but not mpesa Agency)

Checking up the fisrt number in trucaller brings out the name Water Hilram
Any advice from the virtual republic of wazua on how to recover my money will be greatly appreciated.
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.
#2 Posted : Tuesday, September 03, 2013 3:14:17 PM

I feel sorry for kerakalet and hope you can raise money for the fees as your options are quite limited. Otherwise engage @Mawainder.
Litro
#3 Posted : Tuesday, September 03, 2013 3:17:06 PM

d'oh! Sad Pole Bro....it is tough getting your money back. Just pray that Water Hirlam has a good heart even though he sounds like a swindler..This brings to mind what the late Michuki said about Mpesa. I wonder how many people have lost money in this same way.

keraka wrote:
Just Lost a substantial amount of money through mpesa,which was meant to be School fees for kerakalet.
Yesterday, I Was meant to send to the School MPesa Number but missed two digits and the amount went to one Hiram Kiruiro of phone no.0722215845 who according to information i obtained from a friend in Safcom immediately transferred it to another number 0701152055.Hence according to Safcom I have no remedy at that point to reverse the transaction.
The first no.Went mteja since then but the 2nd number is on and off and the guy who seldom receives it confirms that he is a businessman in Holla and the amount sent to him was by a random customer among many who use his shop as an Mpesa withdrawal point(Note; its his number but not mpesa Agency)

Checking up the fisrt number in trucaller brings out the name Water Hilram
Any advice from the virtual republic of wazua on how to recover my money will be greatly appreciated.

#4 Posted : Tuesday, September 03, 2013 3:24:42 PM

#Ask@Mawinder. Surely you should have followed up with safcom immediately, not just a friend.
#5 Posted : Tuesday, September 03, 2013 3:25:38 PM

Safaricom can block the number and the number he forwarded the money to as a first step. I am not sure what they do after that.
#6 Posted : Tuesday, September 03, 2013 3:28:00 PM

Euge wrote:
Safaricom can block the number and the number he forwarded the money to as a first step. I am not sure what they do after that.

Shame on you Shame on you The last time I checked, they stopped doing this. They insist on due diligence. If you send to a wrong number, they can only help if the other person has not transferred yet.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, September 03, 2013 3:36:53 PM

Euge wrote:

No they cantShame on you Shame on you

If you send money to the wrong person and even 1 bob is transfered from that amount then hiyo kesi becomes elephant.. safcom will not block it as they have this policy ati the cash has to be intact....

Its a murky situation because utaambiwa report to the police then they take it from there and you now very well that unless ur Kethi hiyo kesi haitafika pahali...

U can engage @Mawinder lakini from the look of things (molestation by one Imp...) his credibility has been questioned... unless ujaribu @ Coolio... he looks like the new kid on the block!!!
#8 Posted : Tuesday, September 03, 2013 3:41:35 PM

Two options:-
1. Tracking department at CID can get him but they will demand chums.
2. Get your safcom insider to give you details of those he calls frequently (e.g wife), and use Mawinders private investigation firm to reach him if it is a lot of money.
These two systems work, but they cost, as you obviously now know, safcom won't help you.
A New Kenya
#9 Posted : Tuesday, September 03, 2013 3:47:31 PM

When sending large sums confirm and reconfirm. pole sana. What seems strange is how safaricom treats the clients in this case.
#10 Posted : Tuesday, September 03, 2013 3:48:48 PM

2. Get your safcom insider to give you details of those he calls frequently (e.g wife), and use Mawinders private investigation firm to reach him if it is a lot of money.
These two systems work, but they cost, as you obviously now know, safcom won't help you.

Use number 2 above.
#11 Posted : Tuesday, September 03, 2013 3:52:50 PM

@keraka....pole sana bro. I paid the fees for jag****lets yesterday and can't imagine what you are going through. Hope you get assistance.
#12 Posted : Tuesday, September 03, 2013 3:54:21 PM

About the lost money Sad Sad Sad i cant help.

But going forward, change your simcard to the new upgraded ones where you pick the number from your call list. Ni 50 bob tu and you will be safe bro.
#13 Posted : Tuesday, September 03, 2013 3:58:37 PM

But going forward, change your simcard to the new upgraded ones where you pick the number from your call list. Ni 50 bob tu and you will be safe bro.

If it's an android phone, numbers are saved huko kwa 'cloud' contacts list not on the sim.
#14 Posted : Tuesday, September 03, 2013 4:04:47 PM

Pole sana. Safaricom should not just sit back and say shauri yako. With all the billions together with the police, they can surely trace the bastards and shame them through courts. Don't they have a fraud and investigation dept???
CLK
#15 Posted : Tuesday, September 03, 2013 4:17:19 PM

If it's an android phone, numbers are saved huko kwa 'cloud' contacts list not on the sim.

Digressing, how do i recover my contacts from this cloud, they seem to have disappeared,Phone is in the Galaxy family, thanks.

@Keraka, if you have contacts of a CID person, they can help, most likely the person is still using the same handset with a different number and hence can be tracked, the boys will give him/her a call and hopefully with a few threats, you get back your cash.
#16 Posted : Tuesday, September 03, 2013 4:18:34 PM

chemos wrote:
Euge wrote:

No they cantShame on you Shame on you

If you send money to the wrong person and even 1 bob is transfered from that amount then hiyo kesi becomes elephant.. safcom will not block it as they have this policy ati the cash has to be intact....

Its a murky situation because utaambiwa report to the police then they take it from there and you now very well that unless ur Kethi hiyo kesi haitafika pahali...

U can engage @Mawinder lakini from the look of things (molestation by one Imp...) his credibility has been questioned... unless ujaribu @ Coolio... he looks like the new kid on the block!!!

Once sent 1000 bob, the idiot bought airtime immediately. Talked to Safcom they reversed the money minus the airtime and some 30/= charge. Were they doing a favour to me???
#17 Posted : Tuesday, September 03, 2013 4:40:04 PM

CLK wrote:

Digressing, how do i recover my contacts from this cloud, they seem to have disappeared,Phone is in the Galaxy family, thanks.

@Keraka, if you have contacts of a CID person, they can help, most likely the person is still using the same handset with a different number and hence can be tracked, the boys will give him/her a call and hopefully with a few threats, you get back your cash.

When i bought an android phone i had to input my gmail account during set up. And I think the phone copied all my contacts from the sim into my google account. So when i upgraded to a new android all I did was log in to my gmail and all my contacts appeared pap! The same should happen to your phone.
keraka
#18 Posted : Tuesday, September 03, 2013 4:50:18 PM

Use number 2 above.

Thanks all.But in the meanwhile am considering using two of these options proposed by Much Know.I have already contacted a CID tracking guy to locate for me the locations of the characters and will also try to engage the safcom insider.

Meanwhile on googling the above name it leads me to facebook pages of two individuals and both are friends on fb.One appears to be a student in KU with lots of photos and very active in facebook and another appears a mature guy rarely in facebook with an inactive timeline.
For now the search continues.
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.
kenyanbeef
#19 Posted : Tuesday, September 03, 2013 4:52:28 PM

My friend had a friend at the CID who tracked the idiot for her, threats kiasi and he refunded.

#20 Posted : Tuesday, September 03, 2013 5:11:02 PM

keraka wrote:

Use number 2 above.

Thanks all.But in the meanwhile am considering using two of these options proposed by Much Know.I have already contacted a CID tracking guy to locate for me the locations of the characters and will also try to engage the safcom insider.

Meanwhile on googling the above name it leads me to facebook pages of two individuals and both are friends on fb.One appears to be a student in KU with lots of photos and very active in facebook and another appears a mature guy rarely in facebook with an inactive timeline.
For now the search continues.

Just goes to show the complacency with our Police unless you know someone you can rarely be helped...