wazua Sat, Feb 1, 2025

A letter from Kenyans Abroad - by mkawasi mcharo-Hall
#41 Posted : Tuesday, August 27, 2013 10:32:22 PM

Rollout wrote:
Atleast we all agree, Kenyans in Kenya smell like goats!

people have different odours. somalis, kyuks, maasai, luos e.t.c. GET WITH THE PROGRAM!! For those who complain to us on garbage sijui matatu sijui loita street sijui tribalism. stop complaining to the wrong people - we will not help you....however, we can give you TWIRRRA handles that belong to the people who can assist you...anything to be spared from your condescending ATT.
CLK
#42 Posted : Wednesday, August 28, 2013 11:01:43 AM

Rollout wrote:

What?? I will assume you meant to say 'Some Kenyans in Kenya' otherwise that would be the most stupid statement anyone can make.
#43 Posted : Wednesday, August 28, 2013 11:05:21 AM

Rollout wrote:

people have different odours. somalis, kyuks, maasai, luos e.t.c. GET WITH THE PROGRAM!! For those who complain to us on garbage sijui matatu sijui loita street sijui tribalism. stop complaining to the wrong people - we will not help you....however, we can give you TWIRRRA handles that belong to the people who can assist you...anything to be spared from your condescending ATT.

I'm allergic to all those sprays and rollons because they make me sneeze like a goat.
#44 Posted : Wednesday, August 28, 2013 12:02:29 PM

A cake is made up of stuff that you cannot eat alone. you cannot eat raw eggs or flour or even fat but when mixed well and cooked the product that comes out is delicious. Chanel No. 5 was inspired by smells the chemist Ernest Beaux smelled during World war 1 in the arctic circle. the fellow got a contract and recreated these smells and created a perfume in 1920 that has been famous until today. Some fellow should be making his 'Rollout' 'cologne' inspired by smells of the tropics... a little garbage here, back street smells of urine, a variety of armpits, Somali aroma, smoky odour, cattle and goat droppings, urine from rabbits! Who knows it could be the next big thing!
Sansa
#45 Posted : Wednesday, August 28, 2013 6:31:54 PM

Why are people taking these "letters" so personally? Read, have a good laugh and make fun of your friends with the mentioned tabias coz both sides have all kinds of issues going on but we don't want to accept.

On the other hand for those who need it,here is some help choosing a deodorant --> http://www.hapakenya.com/choose-best-deodorant/

**runs and hides**

#46 Posted : Wednesday, August 28, 2013 6:58:37 PM

bkismat wrote:
Rollout wrote:

I'm allergic to all those sprays and rollons because they make me sneeze like a goat.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly either way Kenyans in Kenya end up being like goats. We smell like them or we sneeze like them
#47 Posted : Sunday, September 01, 2013 8:39:07 AM

d'oh! for what now? Chemical warfare! You boss irritates you you buy a nasty one and hide in a difficult corner in his office or car!smile

A cake is made up of stuff that you cannot eat alone. you cannot eat raw eggs or flour or even fat but when mixed well and cooked the product that comes out is delicious. Chanel No. 5 was inspired by smells the chemist Ernest Beaux smelled during World war 1 in the arctic circle. the fellow got a contract and recreated these smells and created a perfume in 1920 that has been famous until today. Some fellow should be making his 'Rollout' 'cologne' inspired by smells of the tropics... a little garbage here, back street smells of urine, a variety of armpits, Somali aroma, smoky odour, cattle and goat droppings, urine from rabbits! Who knows it could be the next big thing!

Tokyo
#48 Posted : Sunday, September 01, 2013 12:38:45 PM

Your smell needs to live in Harmony with that of colleagues and acquaintances.
work to prosper
#49 Posted : Sunday, September 01, 2013 6:39:20 PM

bkismat wrote:
Rollout wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly either way Kenyans in Kenya end up being like goats. We smell like them or we sneeze like them

and follow politicians blindly like goats smile
pariah
#50 Posted : Sunday, September 01, 2013 6:48:47 PM

bkismat wrote:
Rollout wrote:

tribalism and ethnic loyalties are very well and alive among kenyans abroad. So besides the new accent, new smell and more flying miles, DNA ya ukabila ni ile ile. ie among kiuks the prince is a genius and among jang'os pamba is a savious,it does not matter kama wako Somala, Congo, Moscow ama Minesota
#51 Posted : Monday, September 02, 2013 6:19:08 PM

Kumbe this ngel is madam prisident of Kenyans in the diasporaApplause Applause Applause

have read all the 75 comments to her response and must say quite ainteresting insights from both sides here:

http://mkawasi.blogspot.com Letter-from-kenyan-abroad # Comments

also like the 'comment deleted by author' usering of useless comments
#52 Posted : Monday, September 02, 2013 8:42:55 PM

December is around the corner...So guys out there, buy some gas masks and some oxygen as you come home...
#53 Posted : Monday, September 02, 2013 10:41:03 PM

pariah wrote:
bkismat wrote:
Rollout wrote:

tribalism and ethnic loyalties are very well and alive among kenyans abroad. So besides the new accent, new smell and more flying miles, DNA ya ukabila ni ile ile. ie among kiuks the prince is a genius and among jang'os pamba is a savious,it does not matter kama wako Somala, Congo, Moscow ama Minesota

kwani you can take the tree out of the monkey or the village from the tree?
ChumsQuest
#54 Posted : Monday, September 02, 2013 11:20:52 PM

Not wearing deodorant is a deal-breaker. No-one needs to smell like that, ever...
#55 Posted : Tuesday, September 03, 2013 5:55:18 AM

You need to excuse some of the antics by these diasporans for a number of reasons.

Picture this - back in the days it never used to be the sharpest whistles sorry chaps that were sent to school abroadShame on you Shame on you Shame on you Until James Mwangi and Member Bank started this scholarship thingy, the very creme de la creme of Kenyans went to The Uni locally.

Harambees were done for those characters that would have become chicken rustlers. . . (at least in my bundus/neighbourhood - dont know about your neck of the hoods/woods.

A few then got postgraduate scholarships. I wonder does somebody keep track of how Equity scholars abroad are fairing on?

Then there are those adults who moved after college cause maisha became ngumu locally. What with our unemployment and economy not doing very well add nepotism and tribalism! I know several that opted for majuu.

So it is a mixed bag. You have to excuse some comments or gauge them in the bigger perspective.

My point: can you imagine how badly off Kenya would have been without these diaspora immigrantsSad d'oh! Think Think Think Sickquot; Not talking

1. Compounding unemployment

2. Hizo dollars

3. The Barack Obamas sown out there

4. Think of how postively they have impacted your village

5.. . Ongezea even those that go to Saudi and Qatari-. . .Recall Filipinos are the worlds largest exporters of mboches! Shame on you e:- so we should be exporting the many jobless youth majuu

( the bad reports of Kenyans mistreated by Arabs are no different from how typical Kenyan midro crass (mis) treat housegals in Nairobi estates. Ongezea hizo tabia za mamboch halafu upelekee waarabu- there you have it -slavery mentality of Arabs notwithstanding our exports huko nazo?
kenyanbeef
#56 Posted : Tuesday, September 03, 2013 12:54:58 PM

If you don't have body odour, relax. Lakini if mwenzako has, please saidia yeye. This one I cannot defend. It may not be entirely a hygiene issue but we do have a genuine issue here.
#57 Posted : Tuesday, September 03, 2013 3:22:51 PM

Kenya are wiser- they are being cautious about those carcinogenic substances found in deodorants,especially the roll-ons. Very harmful esp for the ladies....breast cancer from rubbing that roll on on your armpit is real.
May be crushing a few jasmine flower petals and putting them in the inner garments or under the pillow like our coastal sisters would be better.
kiterunner
#58 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 1:03:14 AM

http://www.youtube.com/w...bkxxfdGjc7It61POuap8Bnnk
our goals are best achieved indirectly
Nabwire
#59 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 2:44:59 AM

Siringi wrote:
Kenya are wiser- they are being cautious about those carcinogenic substances found in deodorants,especially the roll-ons. Very harmful esp for the ladies....breast cancer from rubbing that roll on on your armpit is real.
May be crushing a few jasmine flower petals and putting them in the inner garments or under the pillow like our coastal sisters would be better.

Very true, there have been studies that show that some deodorants cause cancer. Its advised to not use the ones labelled anti perspirants, instead use more "green" products like Tom's deodrant.
#60 Posted : Wednesday, September 04, 2013 2:49:14 PM

ChumsQuest wrote:
Not wearing deodorant is a deal-breaker. No-one needs to smell like that, ever...
@ kenyanbeef

I have sampled two responses for you to think about :

GOOD RESPONSE 1

1. Rexina Wangare said...
After all is said and done, what have you done for Kenya as a whole!!

The mention of deodorant is way out of proportion as per me.

Mama Njeri wakes up every morning to walk to Gikomba which is almost 4 hours walk for the matatu fare is a luxury she cant afford, she goes to buy vegetables for selling in her neighbourhood so as her kids will have breakfast and lunch exclusion of supper (dinner). She takes the same route going home and when she nears her place she boards a matatu where by she pays 99% off the asked fare which by now its a luxury she can afford.

Next sited to her is "a Diaspora Kenyan" for a visit to their motherland. The to and fro walk made Mama Njeri sweat and mingling with other people in the market, she is sure is smelling awful and she knows it.

The money she gets from selling her wares will also be catering for water and soap for her n her family for maybe 3 days which i can guess will amount to Kshs 100/= and of course she will take a bath before she does of to sell her wares.

Should she sacrifice the money for the sake of smelling good so as not to offend anyone or should the diaspora Kenyan just buy a gas mask and come with it...