Culture
Bikozulu. . . and the very best of kenyan bloggers
Rank: Member Joined: 7/9/2011 Posts: 730 Location: Nairobi
muganda wrote:I read and reread BikoZulu's A power nap in the ditch...The style in that short story, quick paced, short sentences, describing the characters look, mind, biases - very unique. Okay there have been other narratives that follow the same flow, even a movie like Changing Lanes. But not many writers I've read tell a Kenyan story so effectively. I read somewhere Jackson Biko has some respect for Pala Oyunga (denizen of old relationships). But as with all students, he surpassed his master. He writes very well though their styles are slightly different. Pala mostly writes on relationships with a tinge of male chauvinism which makes him popular with men while Biko tells the contemporary Kenyan story with shock humour with a unique style. PS Is your first name Clay? If it is I think you are one of the most objective writers in NMG (With Muriithi Mutiga). Every other Kenyan columnist at NMG dons orange/red goggles from time to time IMO our goals are best achieved indirectly
My favorite Kenyan story teller.. Can't remember reading his pieces and not having a hearty laughter. Its like Chimamanda with a wicked sense of humor.
Reading a power nap in the ditch i couldnt help recall the Furahiday siku ya phombe thread, and the mchele one then i ask myself if i were to group wazuans into two groups the printers and the bankers, whp would fit into which group ? Very sobering and thought provoking especially the things we take for granted. Equally enjoyed the readers comments muganda wrote:I read and reread BikoZulu's A power nap in the ditch...The style in that short story, quick paced, short sentences, describing the characters look, mind, biases - very unique. Okay there have been other narratives that follow the same flow, even a movie like Changing Lanes. But not many writers I've read tell a Kenyan story so effectively. I read somewhere Jackson Biko has some respect for Pala Oyunga (denizen of old relationships). But as with all students, he surpassed his master. "😖😡KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/17/2013 Posts: 4,693 Location: Earth
Quote:Then there is another guy. Lives in Ongata Rongai. Lives in a house that is almost finished, his own unfinished house. He’s those guys who will build a house and move into it before it’s finished because they just can’t give someone else rent for another day. Of course he’s Kikuyu. He’s a silent guy. Keeps to himself. It’s said that he is born-again. He goes to NPC Karen. He’s 41, three kids. Two girls, one boy. A teetotaller. He finds Mike Rua unpalatable.
This guy is in printing business in downtown Nairobi, Kirinyanga Road. Five people work for him full-time and another four on part-time. He doesn’t wear suits, this guy. He wears shirts and pants and sometimes a jacket. He could be anybody. He has a picture of his family on his desk. When you call his phone, you will hear some playback song by Christina Shusho. He signs off his smses with “Be blessed.” He drives a Toyota Noah.
Mukiri came to mind while I was reading this part.He perfectly describes what I presume him to be, save for one part And then this; Quote:The Banker wearing his favourite suit, the Printer wearing his faith. They finally meet. They lived their lives as strangers but are finally joined by destiny on Langata Road. Unknown to them they were already joined by death at birth and all they did in life only brought closer their final meeting on Langata Road. But now they are together. Like it was written. very nice read and choice of words
kiterunner wrote:muganda wrote:I read and reread BikoZulu's A power nap in the ditch...The style in that short story, quick paced, short sentences, describing the characters look, mind, biases - very unique. Okay there have been other narratives that follow the same flow, even a movie like Changing Lanes. But not many writers I've read tell a Kenyan story so effectively. I read somewhere Jackson Biko has some respect for Pala Oyunga (denizen of old relationships). But as with all students, he surpassed his master. He writes very well though their styles are slightly different. Pala mostly writes on relationships with a tinge of male chauvinism which makes him popular with men while Biko tells the contemporary Kenyan story with shock humour with a unique style. PS Is your first name Clay? If it is I think you are one of the most objective writers in NMG (With Muriithi Mutiga). Every other Kenyan columnist at NMG dons orange/red goggles from time to time IMO Clay Muganda, Muriithi Mutiga, Mutuma Mathiu..... Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee. - Muhammad Ali🐝
Those with goggles Macharia Gaitho, Philip Ochieng (mildly), Barack Muluka
QD wrote:This was one good read and the discovery of Rusinga Lodge was so great. Rink : this is nyanza That was an excellent piece. The scene from 'STEND' in Oksum siti or is it othumo and the matatu ride was so vividly captured i felt i was right there and the hawkers. . . If you've been to Kisumu you must have met jamaa wa capssus, capssus na hiyo matatu ni kama hii donge?  "😖😡KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
Rank: Member Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 677 Location: Nairobi
This (Bikozulu) guy is hilarious. After a very boring Sunday waiting for the Spurs game, this is what I needed. Reading " This is Nyanza." Live Full Die Empty - Les Brown.
Oops missed some feedback: @bkismat howdy keeping well, distracted with investments... @kiterunner not the same person, and Muganda is just a handle, not my name  @Mukiri have you read Chimamanda's Americanah, it has become quite the social statement to lug the book around. @Siringi his readers are very loyal.
Siringi wrote:QD wrote:This was one good read and the discovery of Rusinga Lodge was so great. Rink : this is nyanza That was an excellent piece. The scene from 'STEND' in Oksum siti or is it othumo and the matatu ride was so vividly captured i felt i was right there and the hawkers. . . If you've been to Kisumu you must have met jamaa wa capssus, capssus na hiyo matatu ni kama hii donge? 
Siringi wrote:QD wrote:This was one good read and the discovery of Rusinga Lodge was so great. Rink : this is nyanza That was an excellent piece. The scene from 'STEND' in Oksum siti or is it othumo and the matatu ride was so vividly captured i felt i was right there and the hawkers. . . If you've been to Kisumu you must have met jamaa wa capssus, capssus na hiyo matatu ni kama hii donge?  The story is very well written, Biko narrates his stories with skillful selection of words. His use of the word "donge" reminds me of Unbwogable. And this place Rusinga Lodge is quite probably one of the best in the country...
Rank: Elder Joined: 8/1/2008 Posts: 1,432 Location: Marsabit
Always Loved Biko's writing.. He's brilliant! Other than his blog,I never miss his column in the Saturday & also in 'True Love'. It was sad to read his article which was a farewell to his Mum, never read a more eye opening yet deeper piece... Than man is super talented! Nevermind what haters say, ignore them til they fade away - Just live your life
Siringi wrote:Where is Taban Lo Liyong ' boy Kenyans can read and write we are not a literary desert Link : Kenyan blogs listing Taban Lo Liyong is teaching at Juba University. Believe it or not he has become a Real Estate Magnate. "The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
Obbo's blog has had me glued on my screen as i go through the conflict in Congo. Cant wait for the next series. http://nakedchiefs.com/2...-and-hell-breaks-loose/ He's Ugandan tho. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Culture
Bikozulu. . . and the very best of kenyan bloggers