#41 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 3:41:10 PM

kiriita wrote:
FancyFace wrote:
mkenyan wrote:
jguru wrote:
Msa Liti wrote:
faa wrote:
few months ago a similar advert run for 3 consecutive months...

it was fake,

I was a victim the first time in July. I saw the photo and sent contribution via M Pesa. That time there was no bank account.
Two weeks ago I got the shock of my life. I got the I tried calling u msg. I call back. When the phone is dialling Truecaller identifies the Caller as Ochieng CID Central. I almost disconnected but he picked before I could.
He told me how he was calling people randomly from her calllog provided by Safcom.
Apparently the case is in court that's why Safcom gave them the log.
In one day they were collecting almost an m. So many people fell for it and he told me to google what Mcreggae has quoted. I felt really stupid.
Then today I see the photo and am like these guys are not serious!!!!!
I think Safcom has blocked the line due to the court case. That time the name on MPesa was Ruth Pauline.

I digress a little...

Never heard of this TrueCaller App before today!

I went to the website and entered my number and it brought up my names!

How does this work?! Who gives them people's details?!

they most likely get it from i) those who register with them not knowing they're also giving their details and or ii) from those who don't protect their social media privacy - try getting someones's number then after saving in your address book update your facebook 'intergration' on the phone and you'll be surprised in most cases how kenyans are clueless (works funny on those chicks you meet and give you their phone numbers and fake names). i personally stay away from it and leave it for those who don't care about their privacy like some wazuans here.

The careless ones will also get you identified via truecaller boss!!!!

no wonder I found myself in that application even my place of work, nkt, can it be changed/removed?

True McR. Not being on Truecaller doesn't mean your number, name & most probably profession/work place aren't there - just takes one person who's saved your number to install the App...

FancyFace - found myself in your position. Strangely, the only solution I could think of was installing the App n updating my name sans the profession as appeared before. As someone's posted before, it does have its merits once you have it.

It asks one to 'Log In'.. Don't you reckon that is where it gets your details? From the email info

Rollins
#42 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 4:13:31 PM

CLK wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
jguru wrote:
Msa Liti wrote:
faa wrote:

it was fake,

I was a victim the first time in July. I saw the photo and sent contribution via M Pesa. That time there was no bank account.
Two weeks ago I got the shock of my life. I got the I tried calling u msg. I call back. When the phone is dialling Truecaller identifies the Caller as Ochieng CID Central. I almost disconnected but he picked before I could.
He told me how he was calling people randomly from her calllog provided by Safcom.
In one day they were collecting almost an m. So many people fell for it and he told me to google what Mcreggae has quoted. I felt really stupid.
I think Safcom has blocked the line due to the court case. That time the name on MPesa was Ruth Pauline.

I digress a little...

TrueCaller functions much like the directory of yore, albeit a digital one. When one instals it, they allow the app to access their contacts and thus inadvertently uploading the same data onto their servers. What this means then is that if any if your pals who has your contact in their phone instals it and does the do, your contacts will thus find their way there. On the plus side, it enables you identify those annoying 'private' callers as well as block known 'spam' callers.

I lost my smart phone a few weeks ago hence cannot block numbers with my mulika mwizi, please put a link for this, i need to block someone.

woiye @Impunity
Even a BrOKeN clock is right twice a day
#43 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 4:37:31 PM

kiriita wrote:
FancyFace wrote:
mkenyan wrote:
jguru wrote:
Msa Liti wrote:
faa wrote:

it was fake,

I digress a little...

they most likely get it from i) those who register with them not knowing they're also giving their details and or ii) from those who don't protect their social media privacy - try getting someones's number then after saving in your address book update your facebook 'intergration' on the phone and you'll be surprised in most cases how kenyans are clueless (works funny on those chicks you meet and give you their phone numbers and fake names). i personally stay away from it and leave it for those who don't care about their privacy like some wazuans here.

The careless ones will also get you identified via truecaller boss!!!!

no wonder I found myself in that application even my place of work, nkt, can it be changed/removed?

True McR. Not being on Truecaller doesn't mean your number, name & most probably profession/work place aren't there - just takes one person who's saved your number to install the App...

FancyFace - found myself in your position. Strangely, the only solution I could think of was installing the App n updating my name sans the profession as appeared before. As someone's posted before, it does have its merits once you have it.

It asks one to 'Log In'.. Don't you reckon that is where it gets your details? From the email info

These applications have terms and conditions. One being that you accept it to read your phone book without any restriction, even messages
#44 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 6:09:48 PM

the guys had minted a cool 1.7m already!

Waiganjo mwingine!
Sansa
#45 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 6:18:15 PM

If they opened bank accounts shouldn't they be easy to find? Ama you don't give your details when you open an account these days?
#46 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 6:38:16 PM

@masukush...hio ndio inaitwa jicho pevu waah!! we have stooped too low now
#47 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 6:41:31 PM

@masukush...hio ndio inaitwa jicho pevu waah!! we have stooped too low now

Then there's this one
and this one
#48 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 7:00:39 PM

enyewe Nairobi ni shamba la mawe! watu wanalima migongo ya wenzao!!
#49 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 8:01:29 PM

CLK wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
jguru wrote:
Msa Liti wrote:
faa wrote:

it was fake,

I digress a little...

TrueCaller functions much like the directory of yore, albeit a digital one. When one instals it, they allow the app to access their contacts and thus inadvertently uploading the same data onto their servers. What this means then is that if any if your pals who has your contact in their phone instals it and does the do, your contacts will thus find their way there. On the plus side, it enables you identify those annoying 'private' callers as well as block known 'spam' callers.

I lost my smart phone a few weeks ago hence cannot block numbers with my mulika mwizi, please put a link for this, i need to block someone.

Only works for smartphones. If on Android, get it from google play. If you're on iphone, get it from itunes.
Wakanyugi
#50 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 11:20:31 PM

madollar wrote:
How much does it cost to place such an AD in the paper?Given the circulation figures of DN and compassion of kenyans this was going to be a very rewarding day ....ROI

But what a daft kamba woman...she could not get another photo...kweli kiuiba kunahitaji akili...

Ouch!

Did you have to add this?

Kwani Wakamba tumekufanyia nini, mblo?

"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
9 Pages«<34567>»