wazua Fri, May 15, 2026

7 Pages«<34567>
Roads Cabinet Secretary amepoteza mbao??
#41 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 5:02:28 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
FancyFace wrote:
Kaigangio wrote:
...Roads Cabinet Secretary Michael Kamau Thursday ordered that buses belonging to the company whose vehicle was involved in Thursday’s accident which killed 41 people be grounded and the owners charged...

What is wrong with Kamau?? He has started off to the wrong direction...

To start with, he wants the company closed, because the company's core business is transportation...This is sabotage!!!!

Secondly, what if the buses belong to different owners doing business under this company...Are all these bus owners going to be charged because of one bus belonging to someone caused an accident?? pure nonsense!!!NKT!!!

On this one, Kamau is simply an inbred caveman who sits at home the whole day with a bowl of groundnuts throwing them up into the air one at a time and with his mouth wide open catches them as they come down!!!ABK!!!Sad Sad Sad

ok could you kindly give an opinion on the more appropriate action to take as all other seem to fail....while at it factor in star bus, moa embassava etc that have different owners but almost all have crazy drivers behind the wheel....impunity reloaded

If I were him I would press the government to come up with mechanisms of making sure that driving licences are not sold for ksh 6k...Laughing out loudly Sad

If I were him I would press for law allowing his ministry access to all annual safety/roadworthiness inspections and test records of all registered passenger vehicles using his ROADS from ministry of works and directorate of motor vehicle inspections...here the owner would be easy to prosecute...smile smile

If I were him i would set a training centre to train motor vehicle accident investigators whose accident findings would be used against an owner or a company in a suit..

If I were him I would press for a law to be made to ensure that whoever is liable for an accident, his or her driving license is either cancelled or confiscated for a period not less than 5 years...Sad Sad

If I were him i would think of many other intelligent things other than side show reactions...

Agree with Kaigangio, he needs to set the rules before making this emotional roadside outbursts.

There is a simple rule that should be implemented and which i don't understand why we ignore, forget speed governors, or traffic stops etc, all this are detective controls that have been proven to be pretty much useless in standard setting.

If I were him, i would tame the biggest contributor to our road carnage; "THE DRIVER" through licencing, i would go like this,
1. You are involved in an accident, you surrender your DL and are suspended for 3 months
2. The accident led to 3rd party damages, you get another 3 months and charged
3. The accident led to death of persons, your licence is suspended from driving for 5 years and charged with vehicular homicide.
4. For one to qualify to drive a PSV vehicle, I would require 3 years accident free record
5. If the PSV is a Matatu, i would require 5 years acident free record
6. if the PSV is a bus, i would require 10 years

For all the PSV licences, if you are involed in an accident, you would lose the right to drive other PSV vehicles and you would have to wait the 3, 5 or 10 years for your licence to allow you to drive again.
#42 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 5:09:34 PM

"respond... don't react" - my lecturer!
#43 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 5:12:14 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Kaigangio wrote:
FancyFace wrote:
Kaigangio wrote:
...Roads Cabinet Secretary Michael Kamau Thursday ordered that buses belonging to the company whose vehicle was involved in Thursday’s accident which killed 41 people be grounded and the owners charged...

To start with, he wants the company closed, because the company's core business is transportation...This is sabotage!!!!

Secondly, what if the buses belong to different owners doing business under this company...Are all these bus owners going to be charged because of one bus belonging to someone caused an accident?? pure nonsense!!!NKT!!!

On this one, Kamau is simply an inbred caveman who sits at home the whole day with a bowl of groundnuts throwing them up into the air one at a time and with his mouth wide open catches them as they come down!!!ABK!!!Sad Sad Sad

ok could you kindly give an opinion on the more appropriate action to take as all other seem to fail....while at it factor in star bus, moa embassava etc that have different owners but almost all have crazy drivers behind the wheel....impunity reloaded

If I were him I would press the government to come up with mechanisms of making sure that driving licences are not sold for ksh 6k...Laughing out loudly Sad

If I were him I would press for law allowing his ministry access to all annual safety/roadworthiness inspections and test records of all registered passenger vehicles using his ROADS from ministry of works and directorate of motor vehicle inspections...here the owner would be easy to prosecute...smile smile

If I were him i would set a training centre to train motor vehicle accident investigators whose accident findings would be used against an owner or a company in a suit..

If I were him I would press for a law to be made to ensure that whoever is liable for an accident, his or her driving license is either cancelled or confiscated for a period not less than 5 years...Sad Sad

If I were him i would think of many other intelligent things other than side show reactions...

Agree with Kaigangio, he needs to set the rules before making this emotional roadside outbursts.

There is a simple rule that should be implemented and which i don't understand why we ignore, forget speed governors, or traffic stops etc, all this are detective controls that have been proven to be pretty much useless in standard setting.

If I were him, i would tame the biggest contributor to our road carnage; "THE DRIVER" through licencing, i would go like this,
1. You are involved in an accident, you surrender your DL and are suspended for 3 months
3. The accident led to death of persons, your licence is suspended from driving for 5 years and charged with vehicular homicide.
4. For one to qualify to drive a PSV vehicle, I would require 3 years accident free record

For all the PSV licences, if you are involed in an accident, you would lose the right to drive other PSV vehicles and you would have to wait the 3, 5 or 10 years for your licence to allow you to drive again.

Very good proposal if you flout your suspension jail time without an option of a fine....
We need the assistance of technology in this...some sort of biometric system with every drivers tiniest of details....we need to up our game
#44 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 5:38:36 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Kaigangio wrote:
FancyFace wrote:
Kaigangio wrote:

Very good proposal if you flout your suspension jail time without an option of a fine....
We need the assistance of technology in this...some sort of biometric system with every drivers tiniest of details....we need to up our game

Should be made traffic commandant!!!
#45 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 5:50:49 PM

@kaigangio and @obi, thumbs up for very practical solutions. Now if only @murchr can forward these suggestions to his colleagues in govt.

I particularly like the one on training accident investigators. I know if a plane crashes, the airport owners, the aircraft owners and the plane manufacturers will all have crossed their fingers as they wait for the accident report. Whoever is to blame pays dearly.
Prime
#46 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 5:52:20 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Kaigangio wrote:
FancyFace wrote:
Kaigangio wrote:

Should be made traffic commandant!!!

And what happens to those who get involved in accidents that may have little to do with driver error like tyre bursts or sometimes brake failure etc? or in those cases where someone elses error in judgement causes you to get an accident? eg. swerving to avoid a driver who was overtaking carelessly at a bend? or who changes lanes abruptly without consulting the rear/side view mirrors?
Prime
#47 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 6:01:41 PM

mnjoro wrote:
I support Bwana Kamau,owners should take the blame too.
There is a certain i really admire their discipline KENSILVER.

True...no speeding nikienda Meru next time this.is what il panda not some of those nissans almost peed on myself last time...

These guys have always had their share of the market. They have serious space between seats and the seating arrangement is 2X2 instead of 3X2 liken most others. And their KARs and KATs are still on the road. Never raise their fare no matter the demand. Kudos to those who do it right. Mololine shuttles have also always impressed me. Al long as everyone agrees to the 80kph, and adheres to it, then no operator would have an advantage over the other. Level ground. and we would all get used to it. Though in my opinion 100kph is more reasonable and more aggreable
Sansa
#48 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 6:06:04 PM

So what happens to the cops who were manning the roadblocks the bus passed through with the extra passengers?
#49 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 6:06:35 PM

Prime wrote:
mnjoro wrote:
I support Bwana Kamau,owners should take the blame too.
There is a certain i really admire their discipline KENSILVER.

True...no speeding nikienda Meru next time this.is what il panda not some of those nissans almost peed on myself last time...

These guys have always had their share of the market. They have serious space between seats and the seating arrangement is 2X2 instead of 3X2 liken most others. And their KARs and KATs are still on the road. Never raise their fare no matter the demand. Kudos to those who do it right. Mololine shuttles have also always impressed me. Al long as everyone agrees to the 80kph, and adheres to it, then no operator would have an advantage over the other. Level ground. and we would all get used to it. Though in my opinion 100kph is more reasonable and more aggreable

100 is ok...
#50 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 6:08:10 PM

Sansa wrote:
So what happens to the cops who were manning the roadblocks the bus passed through with the extra passengers?

Should cops stop all buses on all road blocks?
7 Pages«<34567>