wazua Fri, May 15, 2026

7 Pages«<23456>»
Roads Cabinet Secretary amepoteza mbao??
mnjoro
#31 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 2:10:43 PM

why don't we have hotlines where to report reckless drivers and also follow up status of the reports we make.?

This can only be effective if there mounted cameras on the highways.
#32 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 2:15:17 PM

why don't we have hotlines where to report reckless drivers and also follow up status of the reports we make.?

I reported some shuttle I travelled with a while gave the cops the licence plates...upto now nthn has been done that story iliishia hapo...
FancyFace
#33 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 2:25:20 PM

mnjoro wrote:

This can only be effective if there mounted cameras on the highways.

kabisa..we kenyans can be malicious, very malicious.....

Problems can get out of proportion, and not only in the wee small hours. Don't let the problems eclipse the Master. Let the Master eclipse the problems.
#34 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 2:59:38 PM

samsa wrote:
I concur. Both him and his boss are very wrong on this one.

You cant stop night business because some are breaking traffic rules. Inaamanisha mkono wa serikali ni mfupi na serikali imelala fofofo

....and in athe 195 recognized states......that's a decision that has never been made by any of them and Kenya would be the 1st!!!

I think in Tanzania buses don't travel past 9pm.

One of the reasons these pple are so backward n slow. A one day business will now be taking 3 days. 2 days travelling n 1 day business, unlike now where it takes just 36 hrs. Apeleke upuzi mbali.
samsa
#35 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 3:07:59 PM

samsa wrote:
I concur. Both him and his boss are very wrong on this one.

You cant stop night business because some are breaking traffic rules. Inaamanisha mkono wa serikali ni mfupi na serikali imelala fofofo

....and in athe 195 recognized states......that's a decision that has never been made by any of them and Kenya would be the 1st!!!

I think in Tanzania buses don't travel past 9pm.

Yeah...and where are these Tanzanians now? Dont you remember they always look up to us and it is expected of them not to do business at night. Once I was there and I found a street vendor selling mangoes. I suggested to buy all of them since I was on my way back and the lady shouted back at me " eti zote; utanunua zote wengine ni wauzie nini? Nunua zako za kutosha uniwaachie ya wengine"

I thought we are moving towards making a 24 hour economy? This cannot happen without transport.
#36 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 3:16:38 PM

Majority of buses travel at night. Just compare day n night time road trip to msa. ........during the day you may meet less than 40 buses one way, while night buses are in their 100's. This translates to lots of pax travelling, saving much precious time by utilizing the generally useless night time. Thousands are employed in the shifts. Kamau hapa hajui anafanya kitu gani.
#37 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 3:26:07 PM

Muriel wrote:
His is a step in the right direction. We blame authorities for not enforcing laws but when they do, we castigate them. Something has to be done asap ili liwe funzo kwa wengineo. Secondly, the public is to blame because we allow these things to happen and if a fatality occurs, we are quick to banish the cops. The bus wouldn't have been overcrowded had the passengers refused to board it, the driver wouldn't have been overspeeding had the passengers told him to slow down.

Yesterday I was having a conversation with a friend who told me he asked the driver to slow down coz he was overtaking recklessly and if he can't he should give his colleague the bus to drive. The guy refused. Luckily for him, a luxury many of us don't have, he called his cop friends who were ahead at some town along Msa road. The driver was arrested.

There are nice buses plying our roads that have high safety record, especially those that operate on schedules.

Now do you suppose his way if it materializes will be a boost, a better working environment for these buses or not?

His way, I am afraid, instead of creating better working environment for such companies, will stifle them with additional encumbrances they certainly do not need.

I think you got me wrong. I'm of the opinion of grounding buses in companies that are involved in reckless driving.
Muriel
#38 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 4:16:06 PM

Muriel wrote:
His is a step in the right direction. We blame authorities for not enforcing laws but when they do, we castigate them. Something has to be done asap ili liwe funzo kwa wengineo. Secondly, the public is to blame because we allow these things to happen and if a fatality occurs, we are quick to banish the cops. The bus wouldn't have been overcrowded had the passengers refused to board it, the driver wouldn't have been overspeeding had the passengers told him to slow down.

Yesterday I was having a conversation with a friend who told me he asked the driver to slow down coz he was overtaking recklessly and if he can't he should give his colleague the bus to drive. The guy refused. Luckily for him, a luxury many of us don't have, he called his cop friends who were ahead at some town along Msa road. The driver was arrested.

There are nice buses plying our roads that have high safety record, especially those that operate on schedules.

Now do you suppose his way if it materializes will be a boost, a better working environment for these buses or not?

His way, I am afraid, instead of creating better working environment for such companies, will stifle them with additional encumbrances they certainly do not need.

I think you got me wrong. I'm of the opinion of grounding buses in companies that are involved in reckless driving.

Oh!

Ah, right then.
#39 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 4:50:48 PM

Sasa watu wa Ronga watafanya nini? At what time does night start? Wengi huwa kwa jam even at 9pm...
#40 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 5:01:43 PM

Sasa watu wa Ronga watafanya nini? At what time does night start? Wengi huwa kwa jam even at 9pm...

Target ni highways, but kama ni all round, kuna lodgings Kenya, hapo downtown Nairobi.
7 Pages«<23456>»