10 Pages«<78910>
Narok Accident....
#81 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 10:57:49 AM

mdudu wrote:
CLK wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
Yenyewe hapa kuna mchezo mbaya. Mara, bus had no TLB, mara this clown chased one with a police car and was unable to 'reach' it, etc. At this rate I won't be surprised to hear it had no insurance. Just out of curiosity, what did the cop do about the speeding bus? Did he radio his colleagues ahead to stop it at a roadblock? And now we learn the accident had 41 fatalities and over 30 survivors. Wasn't that overloading? If it was, what were our police doing? Yaani kwa hiyo barabara yoote kutoka Nairobi, hakuna hata askari mmoja ambaye angenyosha mkono aulize kwa nini lile basi linabeba zaidi ya inavyokubaliwa? Seriously?

I think the survivors were 33 at the time of the accident, and 31 dead, out of the 33 survivors some died raising the number to 41, so the bus was not overloaded, a survivor says there were large stones left on the road probably by a stalled truck earlier, the driver tried to hepa them and ended up loosing control of the vehicle, this shows the guy must have been over-speeding because technically, a mechanically sound vehicle should stop instantly at 80-100km/h.

Last year in November I was traveling by Easy Coach to Ksm on the same road maybe about 10 km outside Narok. It was about 2 a.m. The driver noticed that huge stones had been arranged on half the road width. He slowed down so as to negotiate the barriers and that is when missiles started flying from the bushes besides the road. He hit the accelerator and sped off. I think the plan was to hit the drivers window and injure the diver so that he could loose control and the bus to roll so that they could rob us.
The driver escaped unhurt but the guy sitting on the 3rd seat from the front was not so lucky. The stone hit his window and he got a very bad cut on his head with his blood gushing out. Luckily we had some medics in the bus who gave him quick 1st aid before he was rushed to hospital. It scared me so much i decided that night travel is not for me.

Wakenya wana mambo kweli. Two friends have recently experienced the same. The first was in Othaya-Murang'a route. Found some stones at night piled on one half of the road, slowed down to drive around them, it 'rained' stones and he sped off unhurt but with a broken windscreen necessitating replacement.

The second was around Kabati area on Thika road at around 5a.m. Thugs purposely felled a tree onto the road totally blocking his lane and half of the other. With terrified passengers screaming, he managed to reverse, drive over the pavement onto the other lane and sped off. A stone aimed at him missed him narrowly, luckily there were no oncoming vehicles. For his troubles, broken tie rods and control arms necessitating replacement.

Conclusion: it's often a jungle out there.
#82 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 12:07:53 PM

Someone should go home in addition do unlicensing of that company.

Masaku makutano if you ever get a flat, drive-on. Afadhali rim ikwame, I've had a nasty experience with club-welding thugs.

vin
#83 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 3:27:45 PM

Am convinced that we will end this menace when someone with anger and hunger takes charge of the traffic issues.i will not blame government.the road was in excellent condition.We must take the blame where it belongs.Each driver on our roads has a responsibility to do all in order to avoid an accident.Do we? in fact we do all to cause them.Let us all in this Wazua republic commit to be responsible all the time and maybe or just maybe there will be one or two less accidents.
Advice is like snow.The softer it lands the harder is sticks.
#84 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 6:46:11 PM

immortal message from a young jimmy gathu

I'D RATHER BE ALIVE and LATE, THAN DEAD ON TIME
#85 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 7:50:24 PM

Did some digging and this is what I found out: Apparently, there were no sufficient vehicles for that western kenya/nyanza route. So when it was approaching evening with no hope for transport, the passengers organized themselves and went to Eastleigh from where they got a bus that apparently wasn't heading anywhere and they paid their fare na safari ikaanza. The driver was obviously new on that route and when cops say the bus had no TLB, they're not being entirely honest. The bus had TLB but for a different route, the Nbi-Thika-Mwingi-Garissa route.
#86 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 9:43:31 PM

If some of the stories doing rounds about stones being set on the road by thugs is anything to go by, I think its better to reserve any blame until the truth (if it will ever come out) is known.

condolences to the families who have been affected.
#87 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 9:45:41 PM

Gave someone a tongue lashing today for driving with an expired licence. He renewed it today. Let's all play our part however small
#88 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 9:52:39 PM

immortal message from a young jimmy gathu

I'D RATHER BE ALIVE and LATE, THAN DEAD ON TIME

sad thread but lol @ video.80's swag.
#89 Posted : Thursday, October 24, 2013 9:49:24 PM

Sad sad sad...