wazua Sun, May 10, 2026

10 Pages«<678910>
Narok Accident....
#71 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 8:18:53 AM

I dont think lack of TLB or Insurance can cause an accident.As for overloading,it also could not have caused the accident but increased the casualties.Remember the bus is built on a chassis equivalent to that of the truck counterparts which ferry 16 tonnes.Assuming the bus had 80 passengers with an average weight of 70kgs and a weight of 3 tonnes in the cargo holds and roof rack,the bus was only ferrying 9.9 tonnes.Remember even Stagecoach used to ferry standing passengers.

Gravity played a key part...negotiating a corner downhill at a high speed...
Tokyo
#72 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 8:21:49 AM

Sad considering high number of casualties.
Unnecessary deaths. Sympathy to the loved ones and friends.
But seriously those accidents issues needs to be addressed. Too many life lost
work to prosper
#73 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 8:23:32 AM

I dont think lack of TLB or Insurance can cause an accident.As for overloading,it also could not have caused the accident but increased the casualties.Remember the bus is built on a chassis equivalent to that of the truck counterparts which ferry 16 tonnes.Assuming the bus had 80 passengers with an average weight of 70kgs and a weight of 3 tonnes in the cargo holds and roof rack,the bus was only ferrying 9.9 tonnes.Remember even Stagecoach used to ferry standing passengers.

I like your argument. It is true lack of those docs cannot cause an accident.

The driver must have been doing crazy speed or started to doze along the way.

Back to Michuki days......He said once the rules were enforced passengers would comfortably dose to their destination. And it happenned.

Lets get back to those rules.All PSV must be fitted with a governor and a device that logs the speeds all through the journey and the same should be checked by an independent person after the trip.Buses that do long distances and at night must have two drivers with their eyes tested and certified every 3 months.

As for us passengers.........lets play our part...do not enter a full bus...how do you travel while standing from Narok to homabay???????

Wishing the bereaved strength to bear the loss.

#74 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 8:23:34 AM

Those stage coaches were definitely engineered differently from the way current buses are. People just buy cab chasis rush to labh singh or central farmers garage or 3m auto depending on budget the body is builtSad

my worry is the level of poverty and dependancy that has been visited on Nyanza.
Well the gaarment has pledged kuingilia but trust me this shall be limited to afew hospital bills and transporting bodies for burialSad

several breadwinners have perished and entire families left destitute. What can we in the Kenyan spirit do?
My 20 cents Safaricom/Airtel/Orange to start a paybill number corporates and Kenyans of goodwill tuchangishe and assist orphans and dependants left. Local chiefs and Red Cross can form vetting committees to identify genuine needy cases. At least we can alleviate the suffering

#75 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 9:12:08 AM

Rahatupu wrote:
I have just learnt that a friend has lost his mum and a brother in that accident........very sad!!!!

A sad day indeed. Pole sana McDobba.

Too much sorrow on this.....now the brother of this friend also lost a son in the accident, another friend also lost his younger bro........this is too much, so sad!!!!
Iganamagana
#76 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 9:29:26 AM

Siringi wrote:
Those stage coaches were definitely engineered differently from the way current buses are. People just buy cab chasis rush to labh singh or central farmers garage or 3m auto depending on budget the body is built:-(

my worry is the level of poverty and dependancy that has been visited on Nyanza.
Well the gaarment has pledged kuingilia but trust me this shall be limited to afew hospital bills and transporting bodies for burialSad

several breadwinners have perished and entire families left destitute. What can we in the Kenyan spirit do?
My 20 cents Safaricom/Airtel/Orange to start a paybill number corporates and Kenyans of goodwill tuchangishe and assist orphans and dependants left. Local chiefs and Red Cross can form vetting committees to identify genuine needy cases. At least we can alleviate the suffering

Does KEBS have a standard on bodies fabricated by these companies?
mdudu
#77 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 10:16:49 AM

CLK wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
Yenyewe hapa kuna mchezo mbaya. Mara, bus had no TLB, mara this clown chased one with a police car and was unable to 'reach' it, etc. At this rate I won't be surprised to hear it had no insurance. Just out of curiosity, what did the cop do about the speeding bus? Did he radio his colleagues ahead to stop it at a roadblock? And now we learn the accident had 41 fatalities and over 30 survivors. Wasn't that overloading? If it was, what were our police doing? Yaani kwa hiyo barabara yoote kutoka Nairobi, hakuna hata askari mmoja ambaye angenyosha mkono aulize kwa nini lile basi linabeba zaidi ya inavyokubaliwa? Seriously?

I think the survivors were 33 at the time of the accident, and 31 dead, out of the 33 survivors some died raising the number to 41, so the bus was not overloaded, a survivor says there were large stones left on the road probably by a stalled truck earlier, the driver tried to hepa them and ended up loosing control of the vehicle, this shows the guy must have been over-speeding because technically, a mechanically sound vehicle should stop instantly at 80-100km/h.

Last year in November I was traveling by Easy Coach to Ksm on the same road maybe about 10 km outside Narok. It was about 2 a.m. The driver noticed that huge stones had been arranged on half the road width. He slowed down so as to negotiate the barriers and that is when missiles started flying from the bushes besides the road. He hit the accelerator and sped off. I think the plan was to hit the drivers window and injure the diver so that he could loose control and the bus to roll so that they could rob us.
The driver escaped unhurt but the guy sitting on the 3rd seat from the front was not so lucky. The stone hit his window and he got a very bad cut on his head with his blood gushing out. Luckily we had some medics in the bus who gave him quick 1st aid before he was rushed to hospital. It scared me so much i decided that night travel is not for me.
#78 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 10:32:01 AM

CLK wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
Yenyewe hapa kuna mchezo mbaya. Mara, bus had no TLB, mara this clown chased one with a police car and was unable to 'reach' it, etc. At this rate I won't be surprised to hear it had no insurance. Just out of curiosity, what did the cop do about the speeding bus? Did he radio his colleagues ahead to stop it at a roadblock? And now we learn the accident had 41 fatalities and over 30 survivors. Wasn't that overloading? If it was, what were our police doing? Yaani kwa hiyo barabara yoote kutoka Nairobi, hakuna hata askari mmoja ambaye angenyosha mkono aulize kwa nini lile basi linabeba zaidi ya inavyokubaliwa? Seriously?

I think the survivors were 33 at the time of the accident, and 31 dead, out of the 33 survivors some died raising the number to 41, so the bus was not overloaded, a survivor says there were large stones left on the road probably by a stalled truck earlier, the driver tried to hepa them and ended up loosing control of the vehicle, this shows the guy must have been over-speeding because technically, a mechanically sound vehicle should stop instantly at 80-100km/h.

Noted. Thanks for the clarification.
#79 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 10:35:53 AM

Iganamagana wrote:
Siringi wrote:
Those stage coaches were definitely engineered differently from the way current buses are. People just buy cab chasis rush to labh singh or central farmers garage or 3m auto depending on budget the body is built:-(

Does KEBS have a standard on bodies fabricated by these companies?

Having standards is one thing and enforcing them, quite another. We all know the problems those putting up buildings have had in accessing good quality metal. Just recently I experienced the same first hand while fabricating some items. Niliuziwa chuma ingine haishiki moto, you attempt to weld it and it just melts but the joint doesn't hold.
#80 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 10:37:36 AM

Could innovations like these save out the situation?

Mercy Mwadime, 27, who is the brains behind the gadget that detects when a driver is about to sleep and raises the alarm, says her innovations could reduce accidents, save lives and cut losses for insurance companies.
10 Pages«<678910>