10 Pages«<56789>»
Narok Accident....
#61 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 9:43:55 PM

cnn wrote:
Cabinet secretary Kamau now considers banning PSV vehicles from operating at night...link.KTN news at seven.

kotini kesho...wont stand/cant stand...

Strange, how we address issues, yet more accidents take place during the day than at night.
Problem is not light/darkness, but greedy bus owners,unqualified drivers and poorly maintained vehicles.
Can our roads accomodate such heavy traffic? cz that decision is retrogressive and inviting more accidents.I look at it as shifting the same problems from darkness to light.

City to Death.Sad
very very sad.Rip and God comfort the mourners.

what happens to people who travel at night coz of business...this will affect so many business people...
#62 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 9:51:40 PM

I have just learnt that a friend has lost his mum and a brother in that accident........very sad!!!!

Pole bro. Losing a brother is unbearable. Losing a mother is unthinkable. Losing both in one go... And because of something that is a result of bloody carelessness!!! Getting through that might be next to impossible! Pass our poles to the family. And try to be there for your friend. This is an extremely dark period.
#63 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 9:53:32 PM

I once happened on an accident scene one early morning and we were stopped so that the wreckage could be towed. Next to where I stopped was a police land cruiser with bodies stacked over each other with missing limbs and body parts strewn all over... I've never shaken that much. People who were alive a few hours earlier. People with families, friends etc. Killed a violent death because of a bloody driver who was overtaking on a blind corner like a total moron. Son of a b!tch didn't even brake or swerve. No marks on the road to show he did. And the people on the land cruiser could be any of us! Makes feel like shooting all careless drivers. It is human beings you are dealing with!! Respect human life. If you don't respect yours, go hang!!
#64 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 9:55:21 PM

cnn wrote:
Cabinet secretary Kamau now considers banning PSV vehicles from operating at night...link.KTN news at seven.

kotini kesho...wont stand/cant stand...

Strange, how we address issues, yet more accidents take place during the day than at night.
Problem is not light/darkness, but greedy bus owners,unqualified drivers and poorly maintained vehicles.
Can our roads accomodate such heavy traffic? cz that decision is retrogressive and inviting more accidents.I look at it as shifting the same problems from darkness to light.

City to Death.Sad
very very sad.Rip and God comfort the mourners.

what happens to people who travel at night coz of business...this will affect so many business people...

perishables get transported at night cz of cool temp even if the trucks are refrigerated.
mombasa soko supplies travel at night from mashambani.
i don't think he figured that out at the time of issuing statements.
On a personal level? I can't travel at night as a pax on psv esp to eld,mba or ksm cz I fear those big trailers that seem to knock one off the road.
#65 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 11:31:30 PM

Yenyewe hapa kuna mchezo mbaya. Mara, bus had no TLB, mara this clown chased one with a police car and was unable to 'reach' it, etc. At this rate I won't be surprised to hear it had no insurance. Just out of curiosity, what did the cop do about the speeding bus? Did he radio his colleagues ahead to stop it at a roadblock? And now we learn the accident had 41 fatalities and over 30 survivors. Wasn't that overloading? If it was, what were our police doing? Yaani kwa hiyo barabara yoote kutoka Nairobi, hakuna hata askari mmoja ambaye angenyosha mkono aulize kwa nini lile basi linabeba zaidi ya inavyokubaliwa? Seriously?
#66 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 11:39:45 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
Yenyewe hapa kuna mchezo mbaya. Mara, bus had no TLB, mara this clown chased one with a police car and was unable to 'reach' it, etc. At this rate I won't be surprised to hear it had no insurance. Just out of curiosity, what did the cop do about the speeding bus? Did he radio his colleagues ahead to stop it at a roadblock? And now we learn the accident had 41 fatalities and over 30 survivors. Wasn't that overloading? If it was, what were our police doing? Yaani kwa hiyo barabara yoote kutoka Nairobi, hakuna hata askari mmoja ambaye angenyosha mkono aulize kwa nini lile basi linabeba zaidi ya inavyokubaliwa? Seriously?

The cop was very excited narrating how overloaded the bus was.But he forgot to tell us how it passed police road blocks looking like a beetle carrying elephant dung.
#67 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 4:56:15 AM

My heartfelt condelences to the bereaved.
Some losses are just too painfulSad lakini we cant say hii ni ya mungu.

There is need to reaximine transport policy in kenya in totality. Not some knee-jerk ojinga like banning night travel. Looks like people have no idea that this is a twenty four hour economy! That is recipe for disaster right there. Eng Kamau is normally level headed, on this one I forgive him it must be the shock of the Ntulele horror sio phangi. The guy flies and has no idea how the rest of the economy runs

The Mahi Maiu Narok Bomet Road (except hiyo stretch/ bend ya tumonkey)is one of Kenyas finest roads. It rivals The Strabag Mugoya EU funded stretch along Mombasa Nrb highway.

I have been overtaken by PSVs and lorries on both stretches when cruising at 120kph + mungu tu is the one averting catastrophies on our roads.

Kenyans have short memories. There was a directive to remove roadblock which people celebrated - saying this was a big blow against the corrupt police Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you. I have dobe the crosscountry nrb to nyanza n nrb to coast severally and boy do I miss the boys in blue just to keep me awake and alert or even reinforce sense of security.

Tafadhali when we go to see off the dearly departed let us not have ile ojinga malifanya huko Kisii. Ni hayo tu naomba sirkal. . . Let us take care of the orphans

CLK
#68 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 7:48:28 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:

I think the survivors were 33 at the time of the accident, and 31 dead, out of the 33 survivors some died raising the number to 41, so the bus was not overloaded, a survivor says there were large stones left on the road probably by a stalled truck earlier, the driver tried to hepa them and ended up loosing control of the vehicle, this shows the guy must have been over-speeding because technically, a mechanically sound vehicle should stop instantly at 80-100km/h.
CLK
#69 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 7:52:06 AM

Sad that among the dead is a family of four sisters traveling for their mum's burial.
#70 Posted : Friday, August 30, 2013 8:07:39 AM

I dont think lack of TLB or Insurance can cause an accident.As for overloading,it also could not have caused the accident but increased the casualties.Remember the bus is built on a chassis equivalent to that of the truck counterparts which ferry 16 tonnes.Assuming the bus had 80 passengers with an average weight of 70kgs and a weight of 3 tonnes in the cargo holds and roof rack,the bus was only ferrying 9.9 tonnes.Remember even Stagecoach used to ferry standing passengers.
10 Pages«<56789>»