wazua Wed, May 13, 2026

10 Pages<12345>»
Narok Accident....
#21 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 9:32:17 AM

This time between midnight and 6am is a nightmare for upcountry buses....this bus could have been coming from Mombasa with the same driver all the way, you can imagine the fatigue....so sad!!!!

Yes...I once talked to a driver who told me one driver of the company he works for drives singlehandedly all the way from msa to Nairobi...
luttz
#22 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 9:52:01 AM

The government has to bring some sanity to the transport industry. How can drivers be allowed to drive for more than 10 hrs without resting in between? Drivers of public vehicles and good trucks should take 15 minutes rest every 2-3 hrs, this is recorded and can be verified by random checks. Vehicle inspection is a mess; allowing vehicles that are not roadworthy on the road. Over- speeding is another cause and off course our corrupt traffic officers. Na pombe nayo? Traveling on our highways at night is a no-go as you increase your chances of not getting to the destination. I personally don not drive on the major highways beyond 7pm. The government has to act
"You've never lived until you've almost died; for those who have fought for it, life has a flavour the protected will never know."
matata
#23 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 10:05:08 AM

Those nyamira buses are no different from the Moh buses to ngong. What will be done to this drivers to caution safety on the roads. It is a sad morning.
But it must start with us. even if the michuki rules r implemented and the gvt keeps tough rules, at the end of the day it starts with us. Those drivers overtake ata kwa corner at very high speeds. The Matatu saccos should stop drivers frm doing long distances without 1 day rest. God please. bless our dear country.
#24 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 10:07:39 AM

This time between midnight and 6am is a nightmare for upcountry buses....this bus could have been coming from Mombasa with the same driver all the way, you can imagine the fatigue....so sad!!!!

Once had a near-death experience on one of our highways a while back. Turned out that the driver had driven that bus from Msa to Migori that morning and on arrival at Migori, rested for only an hour or two and then was expected to drive the same bus, fully packed with passengers, back to Msa yet all the while he was complaining to the management that he was fatigued and the bus brakes were faulty. Suffice it to say, hatukufika Msa. And then the nightmares began...wacha tu.Sad Sad
webish
#25 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 10:22:35 AM

Very very sad. Last few days of August.

Life is joy, death is peace, but the transition is very difficult.
sky5
#26 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 10:32:29 AM

Yes...I once talked to a driver who told me one driver of the company he works for drives singlehandedly all the way from msa to Nairobi...

VERY VERY SAD !!!

Aside from the issue of drivers, that portion of the road is VERY dangerous. The slope is very steep and there is a 45 degree right-turn down the stream. All guard rails have been knocked down and you can expect more accidents unless bumps are erected TODAY!!!
keraka
#27 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 11:02:31 AM

sky5 wrote:

VERY VERY SAD !!!

Aside from the issue of drivers, that portion of the road is VERY dangerous. The slope is very steep and there is a 45 degree right-turn down the stream. All guard rails have been knocked down and you can expect more accidents unless bumps are erected TODAY!!!

Yea that section is a black spot.Being a frequent motorist on that road I have witnessed quite a number of accidents.That gradient coupled with the sharp bend is every Drivers nightmare but the the carefree way with which Bus drivers negotiate it is too scary.
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.
#28 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 11:11:13 AM

Unfortunately, we shall mourn for a few days, politicians will attend burials to make political statements, some hired n drunk goons will heckle, the following day media will get political news to report n we shall go back n wait for the next one to happen. One of the dark sides of our beautiful country.
#29 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 11:14:06 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:
[quote=maka][quote=McReggae][quote=Euge]
Reminds me of the hullabaloo that greeted Hino's decision to assemble buses for the local market in South Africa. Says a lot about our standards if you ask me.

@Rankaz13,

True that.Looking at the pictures above,the top canopy came off thereby exposing the pax.Time to look at safety standards (I doubt there are any) of locally built bodies and seat securing systems (if you can call tack-welding a contraption on the floor of passenger cars a system)
CLK
#30 Posted : Thursday, August 29, 2013 11:20:50 AM

I thought this is doable? however Mombasa to Homabay is crazy...
10 Pages<12345>»