8 Pages<12345>»
Tighten your seat belts!!!!
#41 Posted : Friday, August 23, 2013 1:08:53 PM

butterflyke wrote:
radio wrote:
Wachana na maziwa! That price for fertilizer is way to high! Sad Sad Sad Sad Consider an acre with kabishi can take three bags!

No way anyone with a stomach is not going to feel the effects of these prices!d'oh!

Coming soon: Broken dreams episode one: A real threat to the 1 MILLION Kabishi dreamsmile

And then you throw them mombasani, maisha tuff muno!
#42 Posted : Friday, August 23, 2013 3:19:44 PM

Kibaki left the coffers exactly as he'd found them, after use...? Arsenaliish...empty
#43 Posted : Friday, August 23, 2013 3:29:14 PM

wololo....

My take. Price of some of the items above 5 years ago....

5 years ago now
500ML KCC Milk.... 35 45
6kg cooking gas....750 2000
Electricity .....220 80 (tbc)
50 kg fertilizer bag ... 2000 4,500

The prices kept spiking upwards yet the items were not subjected to VAT so i would rather they went up for some justifiable reasons.
#44 Posted : Friday, August 23, 2013 3:32:24 PM

willin2learn wrote:

wololo....

5 years ago now
500ML KCC Milk.... 35 45

The prices kept spiking upwards yet the items were not subjected to VAT so i would rather they went up for some justifiable reasons.

Toa goggles bana.....from now on the prices will go up (X+0.16X)......basic understanding of what this means!!!!!
#45 Posted : Friday, August 23, 2013 4:00:14 PM

kivairu wrote:
thuks wrote:
I sell raw milk to my neighbours. I bet my income will soon increase.

Do you pay VAT?

Raw milk is tax exempt lakini pasteurized hata ile ya Tuskys lazima ulipe 16% VAT!!!

Sasa how do you tax raw milk direct from the cows udder to the buyer?

Are you really reading what I have written......there is no tax on raw miok!!!

And did you understand my question? I am asking suppose raw miok was to be tax how would it have been done?
Taxing the cow drinking water perhaps!

#46 Posted : Friday, August 23, 2013 4:04:51 PM

willin2learn wrote:

wololo....

5 years ago now
500ML KCC Milk.... 35 45

Toa goggles bana.....from now on the prices will go up (X+0.16X)......basic understanding of what this means!!!!!

Like Impunity asked, did you really understand MY post? Prices have been moving up over the years without VAT....
#47 Posted : Friday, August 23, 2013 4:17:03 PM

willin2learn wrote:

wololo....

5 years ago now
500ML KCC Milk.... 35 45

Like Impunity asked, did you really understand MY post? Prices have been moving up over the years without VAT....

...and do you understand the increment X+0.16X?
#48 Posted : Friday, August 23, 2013 4:25:44 PM

kivairu wrote:
thuks wrote:
I sell raw milk to my neighbours. I bet my income will soon increase.

Do you pay VAT?

Raw milk is tax exempt lakini pasteurized hata ile ya Tuskys lazima ulipe 16% VAT!!!

Sasa how do you tax raw milk direct from the cows udder to the buyer?

Are you really reading what I have written......there is no tax on raw miok!!!

And did you understand my question? I am asking suppose raw miok was to be tax how would it have been done?
Taxing the cow drinking water perhaps!

So now you put across the question in a better way while you were expecting others to understand the ambigous one..lol.....hiyo swali Rotich can answer.
urstill
#49 Posted : Friday, August 23, 2013 4:34:39 PM

I thought solar related equipment are tax exempt? I imported a complete "solar system" but it seems KRA wants something. How now? Can some explain to me the logistics at the ports especially each of these:
VAT KES 12,142
MSLEVY KES 110
KRD LEVY KES 1,138
COC KES 11,384
SHIPPING LINE KES 31,781.00 =USD 345.44
MCT CHARGES LATER
AGENCY LATER
TRANSPORT LATER
IDF FEES 5,000.00
IDF PROCESSING 1,000.00
Man must live!
theman192000
#50 Posted : Friday, August 23, 2013 4:37:35 PM

The problem has always been that too few people are paying direct taxes in the form of income tax. A more radical move would be to lower direct taxes to stimulate consumption and then increase VAT to 18% like our neighbors.
#51 Posted : Friday, August 23, 2013 7:47:43 PM

SEMA Banglapesa
and bare radei

"๐Ÿ˜–๐Ÿ˜กKQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜ " overheard in Wazua
#52 Posted : Friday, August 23, 2013 8:37:17 PM

willin2learn wrote:

wololo....

5 years ago now
500ML KCC Milk.... 35 45

First case Inflation, 2nd case Cesar wants his dues.

If you are to have free maternity and free education, free use of roads (no tolls), free security then you have to pay Cesar or kaisari if you like, apart from that malipo ya deni ni lazima. Lipeni or you adjust your budgets. That 500ml pack of milk must be the tetrapak packed milk, iko cheaper.

And McR.... VAT = X*1.16
kivairu
#53 Posted : Friday, August 23, 2013 11:22:56 PM

theman192000 wrote:
The problem has always been that too few people are paying direct taxes in the form of income tax. A more radical move would be to lower direct taxes to stimulate consumption and then increase VAT to 18% like our neighbors.

Dude, don't ever ever think of increasing VAT to 18%. Ever done bizna? Frankly i think this gava (of suspects) is on the wrong footing. You will be forced to eat your words soon later rather th. Choices have.........................

Strive not to be a success, but rather to be of value. โ€“Albert Einstein.
theman192000
#54 Posted : Saturday, August 24, 2013 9:19:22 AM

kivairu wrote:
theman192000 wrote:

Dude, don't ever ever think of increasing VAT to 18%. Ever done bizna? Frankly i think this gava (of suspects) is on the wrong footing. You will be forced to eat your words soon later rather th. Choices have.........................

Yes I'm in bizna but not sure why VAT cannot be returned back to 18% Sad
perminusotieno
#55 Posted : Saturday, August 24, 2013 12:14:04 PM

theman192000 wrote:
kivairu wrote:
theman192000 wrote:

Yes I'm in bizna but not sure why VAT cannot be returned back to 18% Sad

I also favour the idea of increasing VAT to 18% rather than the approach the current government is using.
Drobos fly
#56 Posted : Saturday, August 24, 2013 2:07:43 PM

theman192000 wrote:

I agree with that because everywhere where money changes hands and positive development occurs, there has to be an agreed buy/seller situation. Kenyans are known to be very innovative when it comes to maneuvering out of sticky situations where the end justifies the means. I have seen it. It may look like the government is already collecting too much from us but because some feel hard pressed already, majority are taking shortcuts and evading taxes forcing the government to yank up already existing taxes in a broadcast approach.

So until we are easily convinced into spending more, the government may be playing cat and mouse with the mwananchi. Some guys are really good at tax evasion. Trouble is in order to execute such an undertaking, greed and corruption has to be stamped out first because even those in charge aren't as innocent as it appears.
CLK
#57 Posted : Tuesday, September 03, 2013 4:02:12 PM

willin2learn wrote:

wololo....

5 years ago now
500ML KCC Milk.... 35 45

First case Inflation, 2nd case Cesar wants his dues.

If you are to have free maternity and free education, free use of roads (no tolls), free security then you have to pay Cesar or kaisari if you like, apart from that malipo ya deni ni lazima. Lipeni or you adjust your budgets. That 500ml pack of milk must be the tetrapak packed milk, iko cheaper.

And McR.... VAT = X*1.16

McDoba is correct, what the business people are likely to do is add on 16% on the existing prices so your budgets for affected items should go up by 16%. Which makes me think this government is playing with our minds, tax books and provide sub-standard laptops for free to kids ?? Very suspect, just like that person who wants to ban hawking raw milk so that everyone can take it to the processing units and buy it back at more than three times the initial cost.
Yes choices have consequences, has anyone noticed how many times your salary is taxed? moving money from one account to the other is proofing difficult, and if the money has to be sent to many people many times, the excise duty bullcrap is eating all of it, then we will have the rich getting richer and the poorer getting poorer....
popat
#58 Posted : Tuesday, September 03, 2013 4:56:23 PM

Baks was very very smart. He went overdrive borrowing both domestically and internationally, postponed the payment of the retirement package through increasing the retirement age of civil servant from the 55 to 60,Increased the wage bill to unmanageable levels just to name but a few.Jubilee has to clear the maturing bonds and bills,pay the bloated wage bill,make the county gavanas happy,pay the retirement dues fourfold since all the 60 years old are retiring starting this year,while still sustaining the huge wage bill.Lazima wanjiku alipe kondi otherwise nikufiam.
Muriel
#59 Posted : Tuesday, September 03, 2013 5:01:12 PM

CLK wrote:

McDoba is correct, what the business people are likely to do is add on 16% on the existing prices so your budgets for affected items should go up by 16%. Which makes me think this government is playing with our minds, tax books and provide sub-standard laptops for free to kids ?? Very suspect, just like that person who wants to ban hawking raw milk so that everyone can take it to the processing units and buy it back at more than three times the initial cost.
Yes choices have consequences, has anyone noticed how many times your salary is taxed? moving money from one account to the other is proofing difficult, and if the money has to be sent to many people many times, the excise duty bullcrap is eating all of it, then we will have the rich getting richer and the poorer getting poorer....

Yes.

Keep transactions to the minimum and you just might save.

#60 Posted : Tuesday, September 03, 2013 5:18:10 PM

popat wrote:
Baks was very very smart. He went overdrive borrowing both domestically and internationally, postponed the payment of the retirement package through increasing the retirement age of civil servant from the 55 to 60,Increased the wage bill to unmanageable levels just to name but a few.Jubilee has to clear the maturing bonds and bills,pay the bloated wage bill,make the county gavanas happy,pay the retirement dues fourfold since all the 60 years old are retiring starting this year,while still sustaining the huge wage bill.Lazima wanjiku alipe kondi otherwise nikufiam.

Borrowed leveraging on long dated bonds he knew in the short term things will be crazy...it has come to pass itabidi tujikaze nothing more we can do...how much will be the cost of Nation newspaper again?