wazua Fri, Feb 7, 2025

5 Pages123>»
KQ-11TH AUGUST 2009 STRIKE IS ON!
Pierce
#1 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2009 9:02:00 AM

Just heard on radio that KQ staff have disagreed with management (over pay issues) and that staff will down their tools on 11th of Aug 2009.........
#2 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2009 9:07:00 AM

Well,they should go ahead because the other airlines are letting staff go. I hope the Govt allows KQ to hire foreign pilots & staff. KQ's staff is among the best-paid in Kenya. It has lost billions. *** As an investor,I would not mind taking a hit in the short term for longer-term stability.

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
#3 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2009 9:10:00 AM

@Penny,
An industrial strike has a procedure......Am not doubting anything.Just that 11th August is too close for a formal notice........BTW,i hope they don't down their tools (read aircrafts).

Yombo dhier....!!
Pierce
#4 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2009 9:15:00 AM

Njung'e.............looks like a 14 day notice!
Djinn
#5 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2009 9:17:00 AM

haki yetu! will they 'ngoa' the runway?

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
#6 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2009 10:50:00 AM

It is time that KQ can advantage of the strike and fire the inefficient employees as well as the senior/expensive employees. Yes,it will hurt in the short-term but as an investor it will be better for the longer-term.

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
Mainat
#7 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2009 12:56:00 PM

How about loss of earnings? I don't think KQ needs this currently

www.mjengakenya.blogspot.com
Sehemu ndio nyumba
#8 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2009 3:25:00 PM

...those KQ staff are daring... How does one ask for a pay rise during times when businesses are making losses,ama KQ is raking huge profits,something that we do not know.. So ill timed!!! Wacha wajaribu...
#9 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2009 10:39:00 PM

HM,Ford & Chrysler gave into outrageous demands by UAW so as to keep the production lines rolling... and the effect is being felt now... same with KQ... better to lose money now (staff will come to their senses bila unga) for a few months then I pay for it later as a shareholder.

Mali
#10 Posted : Tuesday, July 28, 2009 4:57:00 AM

150% Increase! lol.. you should be in parliament!

Anyway,just noticed its only KQ shareholders who are making noise!!!!!

@20 will buy MORE!!!

if the incompetent and the reckless compete,the result is a disaster.. MN
mtaalam
#11 Posted : Tuesday, July 28, 2009 6:09:00 AM

Might just provide KQ the with best platform for restructuring. The service is still terrible and I don't think a pay hike can cure incompetence.

ili iwe funzo...
Sasha
#12 Posted : Tuesday, July 28, 2009 8:14:00 AM

hmmm!

150% hike demanded at the time the company has announced a freeze in recruitment! I think the employees and management have gripped each others balls here and none is willing to loosen the grip.

Restructuring? This is a good chance to get rid of the older, nonperforming and incompetent flight attendants and pursers, promote from within and then embark on a mini recruitment drive!

Immorality: The morality of those who are having a better time!
#13 Posted : Tuesday, July 28, 2009 10:26:00 AM

which airline will hire any of these employees if fired?Nothing to sweat as an investor.
#14 Posted : Tuesday, July 28, 2009 10:35:00 AM

I think KQ management should tell the striking employees to take a hike. Haraka. And find another airline that will hire staff. Even the mid-east carriers akina emirates are down-sizing.
*** You do not hear that emirates is firing coz they hire mostly non-emiratis so they just cancel the work visas. The employees can't show up for work & the downsizing is complete.

#15 Posted : Tuesday, July 28, 2009 10:42:00 AM

Are there any KQ employees who can shed more light on this matter?
*** 150% rise? It sounds silly to even ask for such a raise unless there are improvements in productivity.
**** Many airlines outsource the reservations & check-in. Perhaps KQ needs to do so immediately. There are many functions that KQ can get rid off without compromising quality.

Sasha
#16 Posted : Tuesday, July 28, 2009 10:53:00 AM

Firing them is not very easy especially since I understand they have a CBA! Plus these are unionised and highly trained (I use this phrase loosely) employees. Getting other people to do it will not be easy!

Industrial action needs a 21 day notice (unless my info is wrong and outdated). So if this issue goes to court, the employees' strike threat will be deemed illegal giving management the right to dismiss all striking employees summarily!

Immorality: The morality of those who are having a better time!
#17 Posted : Tuesday, July 28, 2009 11:12:00 AM

@Sasha,

I also thought so.......A strike can only be called if formal arbitration has failed.The notice should be 21 days.........but things might have changed.Afterall,this is the 21st century.

Yombo dhier....!!
Pierce
#18 Posted : Tuesday, July 28, 2009 11:19:00 AM

Management + pilots make up 18% of total employees and they take home 71% of the company wage bill. Unionisable guys are offcourse 82 % and take home 29%..................ur take??
#19 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 7:45:00 AM

Chief... kweli... that is NORMAL... kwani u expect a pilot (training,experience) to make only 10x a janitor? I am NOT supporting crazy pay for pilots & management lakini generally the more education/training means higher pay. KQ's baggage handlers can't expect to make as much as engineers. Even an 18 yr old can become a baggage handler.
*** That's my take.

#20 Posted : Wednesday, July 29, 2009 7:49:00 AM

I am not saying KQ can fire them without cause BUT if the guys walk off the job without the proper process... then that is cause... Also since times are bad... KQ might not re-hire them OR not even fill the positions... Maybe it is time to lie low like an envelope... LOL... Naikuni is a masai like the lie low jamaa...