Market
Pennywise
How did you make your first Kes million?
Wakanyugi wrote:mawinder wrote: Millionaire must have the money sio mashamba,camels,cows etc otherwise Turkanas and Maasais would be millionaires.
This is hate speech. Many Masai and Turkana wazees are millionaires. Wealth is about assets, not just cash. The fact that Mzee Ole Mali has his capital on the hoof and you have yours sunk in the ground makes no difference, risk and liquidity aside. In fact the cattle owner's assets are more liquid than your, 'bikapu or kapuloti.' But Ole Mali cant afford airtime worth 100 bob despite owning 60 acres of land while someone else can afford airtime worth 1k,drive an 850k premio,eat pizza while Olemali sleeps hungry despite owning the land.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/2/2009 Posts: 2,458 Location: Nairobi
murchr wrote:mawinder wrote:What about the Rolls Royce that was bought in 1937 for 610 bob and at Concours a buyer was offering 8m,what about an Isuzu lorry that was bought in 1971 for 13,000 and is now going for 1.2m? Its an asset either way because its bringing in money, a liability draws out money and dont forget to factor in the inflation over the years as well.. 13,000 in 1971 may be worth 2.4m today...
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/2/2009 Posts: 2,458 Location: Nairobi
murchr wrote:seppuku wrote:Nope. Clothes are technically (depreciating) assets. The reason we don't include them in the balance sheet is that we expense them immediately when we buy them because they cost relatively too little to stagger. Bigger (depreciating) assets are expended over time through depreciation. If you are running a big hotel and you buy a huge amount of bedding, you'd probably put that in your asset column. If you buy two pillow cases with hares drawn on them because you think it will tickle your wife, you expense them immediately. Disclaimer: I have never seen the inside of an accounting classroom. So would J. Orengo value his suit as an asset? We'll... to me yes when he decides to sell it for whatever amount the buyer will give, that's the value of that suit once out of the shop. The bedding in a hotel can be classified as an asset...customers check in. @mawinder, land and animals are assets...so yes there are millionaires in Turkana Actually a UN report puts the Maasai as the most wealthy of Kenyans.. that is because when you convert all their land and animals into cash... VOOOOOOMMMMM! league ya Pattni.. na si Kamlesh but the recent Gold exporter.. The problem with us is not how we measure wealth but how we live with our wealth.. hence a fella in Loresho in a 10M house a 3M car and 10M in the bank, 1M every month is a millionaire.. In a given year his/her net worth is 50M... One Maasai sold me a zilch of his land in Kajiado..Signed with his thumb, banked 10M, adjusted his shukas, and went back to herd his cattle.. He still has 100 such plots remaining (forgeting the livestock that ends up in Kiamaiko at 20000 a bull, 4000 goats and sheep). No car, no loans, no health issues, no beer on Fridays, no kids to take to expensive schools (they rush to nearby DEB when they feel like). I wonder what they do with all that money.. Some of us will dispose off that land to fellow Nairobians at twice/thrice the buying price and come here and post on how we made our first million.. ;-) Life indeed is all about perceptions and satisfaction...
murchr wrote:Impunity wrote:How do I put my two cars in the same calculation? Will their inclusion increase my net worth? Your cars are not assets unless you operate a car hire or a taxi business So how can I calculate my daily net-worth? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Personal cars and the house you live in (if you own it) are assets, but they are not investments. (A taxi/matatu/rental property is an investment and an asset). We need to differentiate the two. The fact that you spend money to maintain the personal car does not make it a liability, assets are expected to have maintenance/running costs. You can review your class 6 business education notes if you are still contesting this. "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Personal cars and the house you live in (if you own it) are assets, but they are not investments. (A taxi/matatu/rental property is an investment and an asset). We need to differentiate the two. The fact that you spend money to maintain the personal car does not make it a liability, assets are expected to have maintenance/running costs.
You can review your class 6 business education notes if you are still contesting this. Please define an asset? my definition: A resource with economic value that an individual, corporation or country owns or controls with the expectation that it will provide future benefit. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Member Joined: 7/17/2011 Posts: 627 Location: Mbui-Nzau, Kikumbulyu
didn't Kiyosaki file for bankruptcy just the other day
WANYEE:In USA you file for bankruptcy so as to avoid your fiscal responsibility,not that you can't afford to pay.I have filed for bankruptcy,too,but I wasn't broke.My portfolio has kept on growing.Kiyosaki is not broke,but hiding money possibly in cayman islands.....
Ali Baba wrote:WANYEE:In USA you file for bankruptcy so as to avoid your fiscal responsibility,not that you can't afford to pay.I have filed for bankruptcy,too,but I wasn't broke.My portfolio has kept on growing.Kiyosaki is not broke,but hiding money possibly in cayman islands..... Ali Baba, There is corperate bankruptcy and personal bankruptcy neither of them allow anyone to avoid significant fiscal responsibilities because either way you much prove to the courts that you cannot meet your obligations. Mr Kiyosaki must have file corporate bankruptcy, chapter 11. You can argue that Mr Kiyosaki and his business are two separate entities. No one who is able to service their debt can file for personal bankruptcy, it just doesn't happen, even if you manage to fool the courts, it is not even worth, the flag of bankruptcy cost more than how much it would cost to service the debt.
mawinder wrote: But Ole Mali cant afford airtime worth 100 bob despite owning 60 acres of land while someone else can afford airtime worth 1k,drive an 850k premio,eat pizza while Olemali sleeps hungry despite owning the land.
Maybe he does not need airtime. Otherwise if he sold a goat, he could buy enough airtime to last him a whole year. "The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
Rollout wrote:
No one who is able to service their debt can file for personal bankruptcy, it just doesn't happen, even if you manage to fool the courts, it is not even worth, the flag of bankruptcy cost more than how much it would cost to service the debt.
This is true, but not the full story. Ali Baba has a point. Many American corporations exploit the bankruptcy route, not because they are broke but to avoid difficult choices. Two examples: 1. Obama's rescue of the car industry required GM to declare bankruptcy, largely to avoid paying legacy costs. 2. American airline companies have been filing for bankruptcy for a similar reason. To shed such costs in order to compete with newer or European carears that do not have the same challenges. In each case the tax payer picks up the bill. Capitalism is a very unfair system. "The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
ROLLOUT:I'm not talking from a hypothetical situation like you are doing.I'm saying of something which I did,and I'm proud of it,and I would do that again---if the need arises.
ROLLOUT:the flag of bankruptcy never had an effect on me.It did not cost me an extra dime,like you are trying to say.You know,you are trying to explore a topic you have never lived through....I have.
Kwanini wrote:Woyeee poor me... when shall i join the elite club of wazuwazi millis? Quite informative on how we value/view money! i learn something every day including that i could sell my kidney somewhere in mumbai and be an instant millionaire! @kwanini. hang on there dude and you will. Do not Just work hard, Play smart. And Pray hard.Believe. A Combination of all bring about success. But remember that satisfaction and happiness is the Most crucial thing. It is Paramount.Some of the Millionaires you see around have heavy Burdens you wud rather not carry yourself. Why be a millionaire and have Poor health? Why be a Millionaire and have ountless court cases? Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God..
Wakanyugi wrote:mawinder wrote: But Ole Mali cant afford airtime worth 100 bob despite owning 60 acres of land while someone else can afford airtime worth 1k,drive an 850k premio,eat pizza while Olemali sleeps hungry despite owning the land.
Maybe he does not need airtime. Otherwise if he sold a goat, he could buy enough airtime to last him a whole year. Very true. I have a Maasai friend with about 100 acres in Kiserian near the town. He has never sold an inch and he tells me his joy is to see his cows and goats graze on his land, once in a while he sells a bull at the local market and buys a small calf to replenish his stock. He keeps no money in the bank but is all tied in his stock. When diseases and drought strikes a number dies but the remaining regenerate the stock and life continues. "Things that matter most must never be at the mercy of things that matter least." Goethe
murchr wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Personal cars and the house you live in (if you own it) are assets, but they are not investments. (A taxi/matatu/rental property is an investment and an asset). We need to differentiate the two. The fact that you spend money to maintain the personal car does not make it a liability, assets are expected to have maintenance/running costs.
You can review your class 6 business education notes if you are still contesting this. Please define an asset? my definition: A resource with economic value that an individual, corporation or country owns or controls with the expectation that it will provide future benefit. Like many here, you ar econfusing an asset with an investment. And I tried to distinguish the two. A house you live in must have some economic value; right? otherwise you pay rent, the forgone rent is the economic value. Using one's car eliminates Mat/taxi fare, plus other intrinsic gains like convinience and comfort. There's your economic value "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
Assets=capital+liabilities.If one takes a 1m loan he is a millionaire.
mawinder wrote:Assets=capital+liabilities.If one takes a 1m loan he is a millionaire. millionaire is about networth, assets minus liabilities. So, if one takes a 1m loan he is NOT a millionaire.
mwekez@ji wrote:mawinder wrote:Assets=capital+liabilities.If one takes a 1m loan he is a millionaire. millionaire is about networth, assets minus liabilities. So, if one takes a 1m loan he is NOT a millionaire. ditto! The issue should be what constitutes your asset list and liabilities. Also, how to value your assets.
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:murchr wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Personal cars and the house you live in (if you own it) are assets, but they are not investments. (A taxi/matatu/rental property is an investment and an asset). We need to differentiate the two. The fact that you spend money to maintain the personal car does not make it a liability, assets are expected to have maintenance/running costs.
You can review your class 6 business education notes if you are still contesting this. Please define an asset? my definition: A resource with economic value that an individual, corporation or country owns or controls with the expectation that it will provide future benefit. Like many here, you ar econfusing an asset with an investment. And I tried to distinguish the two. A house you live in must have some economic value; right? otherwise you pay rent, the forgone rent is the economic value. Using one's car eliminates Mat/taxi fare, plus other intrinsic gains like convinience and comfort. There's your economic value An Asset can be an investment. When I build a flat in kiambu, that investment is an asset as long as i dont have a loan on it. If I have a loan...the asset belongs to the bank up until when I complete my payments and get my title. My hse in runda is an investment which is also an asset..it will always gain value because land is one thing they dont produce anymore. And as you said the peace of mind it gives is immense. A car on the other hand doesnt pass the test of being an asset because at the end of it all it loses value...If its a taxi, cab, that will be another story because it gives...but if u use it for comfort, then its no different with your cloths. However if its the antique like the one @mawinder mentioned earlier, it an asset. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Market
Pennywise
How did you make your first Kes million?