Culture
Why I fear / "hate" Going Home
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/19/2010 Posts: 1,308 Location: nairobi metropolitan
@kiash,@poundfoolish, etal, i think that being negative about Africa is no solution. There are many Africans who work hard to make Africa a better place to live and deserve our respect. Unfortunately what the western media feeds the minds of those in the west are only our stories of failures. For the west to be fairly developed than Africa; is a story generations before them that worked tirelessly for them. Certainly, the west is no heaven and Africa is no hell. Looking down on us doesn't help, rather be part of the solution and join those working hard to make Africa a better place to live. Democracy does not belong to the dead
Rank: Veteran Joined: 1/25/2012 Posts: 1,624 Location: Langley
kiash wrote:This week’s airport fire confirmed my fears. Whenever I get to leave the comfort of majuu, this happens when I get to the plane and hover over Europe and then when you are done with the Mediterranean, the fear starts at least on the Italian side you might be a bit lucky in case of a plane crash on that side (check those who have been saved at Lampedusa). Once you get to African airspace start maombi coz in case of an accident, you will be ashes. Get home and Electricity -you do not know when there is rationing or when they will say it’s a generator problem. When you have electricity, the taps are probably dry no water Daktari - go out there and get some cold and then get to that hospital, chances of getting the right medication God help Airport fire/accident - Fire fighters and ambulances will take ages to get to the scene. In case you get to the emergency well the definition of emergency changes. Wezi - Go out and have some few drinks, take a taxi, you are not a 100% sure you will get home in case the taxi driver ni mwizi pia. Next day take your car or a mat and there you do not know if you will be carjacked. Police- get hijacked and get to the police station , ouf polisi nao, utumishi kwa wote you might think you are looking for help to go to heaven TV content - get home and there you switch on the TV, hoping to get some local content and there you go a nollywood film ama zile za kutoka South America. Politician - they will start telling lies for them to get elected so as to increase their salaries and show their power, petty issues how many cars, body guards blabla some retired ministers elsewhere ride bikes to work. Wakenya wajinga - who will always talk politics even when not necessary Raila hapa, Uhuruto hapa they cannot move on donge! Football fans - those who are in blue and red jerseys talking about our team, team yenu as if they hold shares in Man uni or Chelsea some stupid ones even commit suicide. Kwenda jogging ama support Rudisha. ![](https://fbcdn-sphotos-g-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/61284_656922714319802_2058357083_n.jpg) Some of those who share my fears just stay put in their countries of residence ulaya If you have built castles in the air, your work need not be lost; that is where they should be. Now put the foundations under them.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/2/2011 Posts: 4,818 Location: -1.2107, 36.8831
@Kiash, just see how Mr. Ogolla lost his life in the safest plcace on earth! Just last Saturday, 3rd August 2013! http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/102qqhs/-/index.html
http://www.mwakilishi.co...ber-in-dallas-texas.html Receive with simplicity everything that happens to you.” ― Rashi
Tokyo wrote:poundfoolish wrote:Kiash... strong
im with you on this one.. guys attacking you here have some sort of stockholm syndrom and middle class envy They wouldnt mind joining you if opportunity showed up.. but since they are comfy with their above aaverage lives in Nairobi...they will hurl insults at you.... but ask them to go spend a month in their shaggz uone zile excuse zitatolewa hapa.... no water, no elec.. tutaona Real housewives of ... aje? Wacha shaggz... tell them to go live a week in eastlands..and i mean eastlands where 80 % of Nairobians live..and you willl get moreo reactions no different to the shortcomings you have highlighted...
Hypocrates!!! He he getting real inside here. Anybody to respond to above concern? Bred in Eastlands for over 20 years. Some people talk out of ignorance, others its pure stupidity. Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
Aha....the thread continues....at least the dude has achieved something ....more than 100 responses. ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
@kiash and @poundveryjinga need to listen to some reggae music. The time they get deported, hakuna mambo na fear. They'll land hapa haraka sana and we won't be holding their ndege hostage. Seriously, leave my projects to go wipe an old man's ass? Geez!!! Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/27/2010 Posts: 951 Location: Nyumbani
McReggae wrote:Aha....the thread continues....at least the dude has achieved something ....more than 100 responses. You too fela rou are now @ 14,290 just coz of kutapika ovyo voyo . Nyani haoni ***
kiash wrote:McReggae wrote:Aha....the thread continues....at least the dude has achieved something ....more than 100 responses. You too fela rou are now @ 14,290 just coz of kutapika ovyo voyo . Nyani haoni *** Yaani you even missing sleep just for some attention from wazua.......idler majuu. ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
@poundfoolish, this thread has really made me appreciate your screen name. ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
McReggae wrote:@poundfoolish, this thread has really made me appreciate your screen name. ![Laughing out loudly](/Images/Emoticons/msp_lol.gif) Me too. When he responded, I was like, okay, there goes kiash's minion. Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
[quote=dunkang]@Kiash, just see how Mr. Ogolla lost his life in the safest plcace on earth! Just last Saturday, 3rd August 2013! http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/102qqhs/-/index.html
http://www.mwakilishi.co...er-in-dallas-texas.html[/quote] you beat me to it. And many children are massacred every so often in their schools.
Hawa ni ma-sufferer. Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
Even if things are so bad at home, I wonder who, or what is to blame; or even if 'blame' is the way to go.
Some of us blame the 'white man', some say we are accursed or bewitched, which of these is true?
Or is it because 'they' killed all our Warriors, and took the few remaining men and women as slaves?
But, the president of the U.S. is a Kenyan son.
I think then, the problem is we as Africans are not awake to the currents of history, in all the aspects of our lives.
Alas, we are poor in symbols that reflect on our Spirituality. The Cross came and knocked down our philosophical roots. Then came the Crescent, and the forces came more and more, for as is now evident we have globalization with us. These historical forces have always been.
Our Prophets warned us about 'Iron snakes' how did we respond? Look at how our railway systems are.
We were uprooted by the strong currents of globalization, and the voices of our fathers were lost. Our language and metaphor, our symbols, were crushed.
And now, even as we trudge along, we see even the Spiritual symbols that seemed to win, being crushed by Man, whose consciousness is growing in leaps and bounds.
Our panic and fear, our 'bewitchment', is we have no symbols to think and live with. Hence the symptoms we all see around us.
Home reminds us/me of our/my illness. Alas, I am so stuck now! I'm shaking, I just want to cover my nakedness. My shame. The reason why I hate and fear home. The secret of my 'Vampirism'. For I'm now in the world of Vampires. I'm looking at the Vampire me.
But here we go. One day a witch/mganga came to our home, she was a thin old witch. Among her tools was a single stringed instrument with which she encircled us, chanting.
The matter was very puzzling to me. Ah! Now I remember, I had been briefed by my mother, plus I had observed a few 'irregularities'. And I was suffering too. So I agreed to behave well. Everyone was home (or so my memory says). So we all knew.
I had wondered if all would attend, and naturally, what would happen.
It was dark, but none of us slept. We all sat on a line. Straight backs. And then the 'twang', 'twang', I think it was an 'alto' lol. And there she was, chanting. No one showed any restlessness. But I was wondering when it would end.
I thought little of it, but now I can see clearly what really happened. Our Spirituality was corrupt. There was a conflict of symbols. Christianity was a veil of conventionality, deep inside we were confused. I remember asking myself in my adolescence why the Gospel wasn't transforming me. Perhaps I was in the wrong 'school of thought'? I embarked on a journey.
And now here it is; we aren't in possession of authentic Spiritual symbols. We can't heal ourselves, our states are crumbling and we have no homes.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
The id. The essence of Man in conflict, as kingdoms shake and tremble.
Now I get it. I feel kiash. It might be better to be an idler in the US than in Kenya. Yes or no? TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/2/2011 Posts: 4,818 Location: -1.2107, 36.8831
simonkabz wrote:Now I get it. I feel kiash. It might be better to be an idler in the US than in Kenya. Yes or no? In the US/Europe, there is free government money AKA welfare! Receive with simplicity everything that happens to you.” ― Rashi
dunkang wrote:simonkabz wrote:Now I get it. I feel kiash. It might be better to be an idler in the US than in Kenya. Yes or no? In the US/Europe, there is free government money AKA welfare! Yeah.... ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Culture
Why I fear / "hate" Going Home