Culture
Why I fear / "hate" Going Home
Rank: Elder Joined: 5/21/2013 Posts: 2,841 Location: Here
Lolest! wrote:That @poundjinga is what true patriotism is all about. You fight with your wife. Some nil by mouth treatment even. Then you hear someone has beat your wife ati coz she's ugly. Si utachapa huyo jamaa ama umwitie mawinder? Only a fool cheers on when his loved on is being abused! Life is like playing a violin solo in public and learning the instrument as one goes on.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/2/2009 Posts: 2,458 Location: Nairobi
Lolest! wrote:That @poundjinga is what true patriotism is all about. You fight with your wife. Some nil by mouth treatment even. Then you hear someone has beat your wife ati coz she's ugly. Si utachapa huyo jamaa ama umwitie mawinder? Only a fool cheers on when his loved on is being abused! We differ on true patriotism... and how many. people will i get into fights with for calling my wife ugly... courtesy of my own blows on her? I'd rather stop beating her... alikuja akiwa mrembo.. ni mimi nimemlisha ugali, maji ya chumvi na mangumi...
Hmmm kwa hivyo wewe sasa ni msungu? Sasa hii panganga yoooooote inatusaidiaje? TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Iganamagana wrote:Your fear is genuine mate. Wee kaa majuu till retirement. I do not want to be judgemental but you seem to be the kind that comes back home and dies within two years due to depression. Sema ukweli, did you ever ride in a Taxi, had PayTV or even drive before you went to the so called majuu? You first got into an Airport on your way to majuu? Please stay north of the Mediterranean for your own safety. Wakenya wanjinga might mess up your precious life. The last time we had reliable Electricity was when you were here. Before I forget, all good doctors have been poached by John Hopkins and Presbyterian hospital of Dallas. Please come with your own doctor when you visit the African airspace.
It's Friday down here and Wakenya wajinga are drinking themselves silly while you work in a nursing home and I don't want to bore you with stories of how miserable life is down here. Umenena kwa niaba yangu na those feel that we are better off making change at home than barking from imagined majuu. Advice is like snow.The softer it lands the harder is sticks.
Rank: Elder Joined: 11/25/2011 Posts: 2,103 Location: Nrb
@poundfoolish,if you are frustrated,just say it,but please stop making it look like every Kenyan is frustrated and they would drop their current jobs/occupation to move to "the west" Btw,so many people on wazua have had the chance to live,work or travel to these so called developed countries,ask @ MC,@ Mpenzi,@nostopping(i think)@ Famooz @ ricdees, ,@ storyteller ( who came back after many years in USA),@ jaggaernaut,yours truly etal and can give you a list of why they prefer home, and ofcourse of list of the great things in the countries that they have lived or travelled.I find your list one sided and naive,and I think the reason why people are reacting this way is not because they do not have issues( they do,many of them) but at the end of the day,Kenya ni nyumbani. See the comments from @ Lolest and @masukuma- tell the African story-listen to Chimamanda's talk on the danger of single story' and the President's speech writer,the young Julie Wango'mbe Ask me my list of why I go back home and the list is endless.Here on wazzua,we have our red and orange goggles,but zako zimekuwa tofauti,the goggles that see home as a place not to back to ( lord help you)and goggles that make you see where you live as heaven on earth - and we know it not true! Toa goggles! I am happy
The guy may have a point but wrong packaging Doors of opportunity don't just open , they have to be unlocked & it's up to you to turn the knob.
Amores ....Kiash said he fears/ hates coming back home... and not that he will never come home.. same way you fear/hate going to Kayole or Gachie..
The reaction from Wazuans was outragious..No content, but pure insults. He spoke the plain truth.. and for your infor.. i know Wazuans who only came back to 'build home' once the recession in the west hit hard... and those who come back dont land in Kaloleni.. they struggle to live upmarket..
The rest who are around should heed one truth.. the same way we castigate Kiash is the same way villagers in shaggz and our teagirls n shamba boys from the slums view us.. Maringo mingi tu
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
Amores wrote:@poundfoolish,if you are frustrated,just say it,but please stop making it look like every Kenyan is frustrated and they would drop their current jobs/occupation to move to "the west" Btw,so many people on wazua have had the chance to live,work or travel to these so called developed countries,asl @ MC,@ Mpenzi,@nostopping(i think)@ Famooz @ ricdees, ,@ stroyteller ( who came back after many years in USA),@ jaggaernaut,yours truly etal and can give you a list of why they prefer home, and ofcourse of list of the gerat things in the countries that they have lived or travelled.I find you list one sided and naive,and I think the reason why people are reacting this way is not because they do not have issues( they do,many of them) but at the end of the day,Kenya ni nyumbani. See the comments from @ Lolest and @masukuma- tell the African story-listen to Chimamanda's talk on the danger of single story' and the President's speech writer,the young Julie Wango'mbe Ask me my list of why I go back home and the list is endless.Here on wazzua,we have our red and orange goggles,but zako zimekuwa tofauti,the goggles that see home as a place not to back to ( lord help you)and goggles that make you see where you live as heaven on earth - and we know it not true! Toa goggles! I personally love travelling to my shags - no power, no cars. I see what they do with what I consider small amounts of money and it makes me go back to my senses. It makes me question why I spend the amounts I spend in Nairobi. When I was around 23, I went through the phases akina @poundfoolish are going through and I accepted myself for who I am - I have one life to live, I was born where I was born to the parents I was born to- I accepted that. I cannot live my life being bitter coz we don't have hydrants that work or coz our country does not have a bullet train. I will live a full life 'inspite of the circumstances'. I was born here! this is my home! I travel outside the country often but love coming back home coz its my home. my identity! I know all the corners, cheap eating places e.t.c When travelling back I always tell my wife that I am going back to "Blackman's country" something I love - we may not have everything but hey its our home. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
poundfoolish wrote:Amores ....Kiash said he fears/ hates coming back home... and not that he will never come home.. same way you fear/hate going to Kayole or Gachie..
And that is why i have given him some links to stuff he can listen to- his attitude needs repairing. To me,it rings with what Julie and Chimamanda are talking about. I have never been to Gachie or Kayole- maybe will never go there,but i have a different story,and will not speak of my country the way he does,from the comfort or confines, and/or dellusions of perfect life in another country-just because we may not be at the same level. But then again,what do I know....about Keish and his expereinces.What do I know about the life he was living before he went to where is posting all this negativity-what do I know? I am happy
EVEN KANDAHARIANS SPEAK HERE??? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
On the blue corner we have the Summer bunnies team of @kiash, poundfoolish, punda mlia. . .Nani mwingine? Chris Wamalwa . , heck this team should change their name to :Ye know warram sayin meyn On the Red corner: Republic Wazua read some their antics here: Strange ways of diaspora returneesTim Kamuzu Banda penned some hilaroius anectodes for zuqka in 2009: see here: You know Warram Sayin' MaaaeenSiringi wrote:This nding'oing'o is not alone. Wako wengi huko majuu. They visit once in a while and end up embarrassing the whole village. They cant eat mum's food eti ni chafu. They hire huge cars for few hours visit and drive back to sleep in hotels here is an article penned for the standard by one Chris Wamalwa. Can you draw any parallels? DAY MOTHER BEGGED ME NOT TO VISIT HER IN THE VILLAGE DUE TO FEARS OF INSECURITY@kiash the car hire friend of yours from whom you borrowed the car you came ringaring with in the village has sent mum some repair bills if you don't send more money we shall sell your share of the shamba. . . This is the trouble of sending guys who scored D (plain) in KCSE huko majuu "😖😡KQ makes money for everyone except the shareholder 😏😏 " overheard in Wazua
I have lived in Nanyuki, Muranga, Kakamega, Mombasa towns n several others and been to almost every single township in Kenya. Kenya is heavenly man. Naturally beautiful even. Forget nairobi, coz I suspect its the source of all this SINGLE STORY bile. I suspect you are a slopian. Just visit your village in Kirinyaga {now a flourishing thriving township with piped water, paved roads n electricity} n see for yourself, feel the ambience, enjoy the well paved scenic roads, the lush greenery, the good hearted people. Then tour Mt Kenya areas, RV, Nyanza n Western. Malizia coast, ignore Nairobi. I can bet hiyo ujinga umejaza kwa kishwa itaicha. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/27/2010 Posts: 951 Location: Nyumbani
Amores wrote:@poundfoolish,if you are frustrated,just say it,but please stop making it look like every Kenyan is frustrated and they would drop their current jobs/occupation to move to "the west" Btw,so many people on wazua have had the chance to live,work or travel to these so called developed countries,ask @ MC,@ Mpenzi,@nostopping(i think)@ Famooz @ ricdees, ,@ storyteller ( who came back after many years in USA),@ jaggaernaut,yours truly etal and can give you a list of why they prefer home, and ofcourse of list of the great things in the countries that they have lived or travelled.I find your list one sided and naive,and I think the reason why people are reacting this way is not because they do not have issues( they do,many of them) but at the end of the day,Kenya ni nyumbani. See the comments from @ Lolest and @masukuma- tell the African story-listen to Chimamanda's talk on the danger of single story' and the President's speech writer,the young Julie Wango'mbe Ask me my list of why I go back home and the list is endless.Here on wazzua,we have our red and orange goggles,but zako zimekuwa tofauti,the goggles that see home as a place not to back to ( lord help you)and goggles that make you see where you live as heaven on earth - and we know it not true! Toa goggles! Well I should have put it fear and not hate (you can see its in quotes) actually people think ati nimelemea majuu, I have been here for the past 12 yrs and have been coming home every year. Ill be coming hivi karibuni to check on what I have struggled hard to acquire. I know even where I live there are certain fears that still persist.Others have been worked on. I would have expected a sensible person to say We also have fears on this and that and that’s why we work to solve them. Wenye wanafathom matusi hapa are the same who have watchies on their closed neighbourhoods to keep thiefs off.Getting in if you do not live there or if you look like a maskini wa mungu they ask for an ID.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/27/2010 Posts: 951 Location: Nyumbani
simonkabz wrote:I have lived in Nanyuki, Muranga, Kakamega, Mombasa towns n several others and been to almost every single township in Kenya. Kenya is heavenly man. Naturally beautiful even. Forget nairobi, coz I suspect its the source of all this SINGLE STORY bile. I suspect you are a slopian. Just visit your village in Kirinyaga {now a flourishing thriving township with piped water, paved roads n electricity} n see for yourself, feel the ambience, enjoy the well paved scenic roads, the lush greenery, the good hearted people. Then tour Mt Kenya areas, RV, Nyanza n Western. Malizia coast, ignore Nairobi. I can bet hiyo ujinga umejaza kwa kishwa itaicha. Where did you live in all these places you are claiming to have lived?like poundfoolish said, these are the middle class nairobians who feel comfortable locked in those closed neighbourhoods. I guess if you live in Nairobi you do not live in Eastlands.So wacha matusi.
Why on Jupiter's moons are all the Siringis(real or pseudonamed) i know, bigoted,rabid dog reaction , insulting, Stereotype know it alls... ? Siringi wrote:On the blue corner we have the Summer bunnies team of @kiash, poundfoolish, punda mlia. . .Nani mwingine? Chris Wamalwa . , heck this team should change their name to :Ye know warram sayin meyn On the Red corner: Republic Wazua read some their antics here: Strange ways of diaspora returneesTim Kamuzu Banda penned some hilaroius anectodes for zuqka in 2009: see here: You know Warram Sayin' MaaaeenSiringi wrote:This nding'oing'o is not alone. Wako wengi huko majuu. They visit once in a while and end up embarrassing the whole village. They cant eat mum's food eti ni chafu. They hire huge cars for few hours visit and drive back to sleep in hotels here is an article penned for the standard by one Chris Wamalwa. Can you draw any parallels? DAY MOTHER BEGGED ME NOT TO VISIT HER IN THE VILLAGE DUE TO FEARS OF INSECURITY@kiash the car hire friend of yours from whom you borrowed the car you came ringaring with in the village has sent mum some repair bills if you don't send more money we shall sell your share of the shamba. . . This is the trouble of sending guys who scored D (plain) in KCSE huko majuu
kiash wrote:Amores wrote:@poundfoolish,if you are frustrated,just say it,but please stop making it look like every Kenyan is frustrated and they would drop their current jobs/occupation to move to "the west" Btw,so many people on wazua have had the chance to live,work or travel to these so called developed countries,ask @ MC,@ Mpenzi,@nostopping(i think)@ Famooz @ ricdees, ,@ storyteller ( who came back after many years in USA),@ jaggaernaut,yours truly etal and can give you a list of why they prefer home, and ofcourse of list of the great things in the countries that they have lived or travelled.I find your list one sided and naive,and I think the reason why people are reacting this way is not because they do not have issues( they do,many of them) but at the end of the day,Kenya ni nyumbani. See the comments from @ Lolest and @masukuma- tell the African story-listen to Chimamanda's talk on the danger of single story' and the President's speech writer,the young Julie Wango'mbe Ask me my list of why I go back home and the list is endless.Here on wazzua,we have our red and orange goggles,but zako zimekuwa tofauti,the goggles that see home as a place not to back to ( lord help you)and goggles that make you see where you live as heaven on earth - and we know it not true! Toa goggles! Well I should have put it fear and not hate (you can see its in quotes) actually people think ati nimelemea majuu, I have been here for the past 12 yrs and have been coming home every year. Ill be coming hivi karibuni to check on what I have struggled hard to acquire. I know even where I live there are certain fears that still persist.Others have been worked on. I would have expected a sensible person to say We also have fears on this and that and that’s why we work to solve them. Wenye wanafathom matusi hapa are the same who have watchies on their closed neighbourhoods to keep thiefs off.Getting in if you do not live there or if you look like a maskini wa mungu they ask for an ID. Are you sure u have been in Kenya in the last 30 years? You don't sound like so. You sound lost n unattached. Nairobi may have confused u a bit. Its a city for the tough, not cowards. Try other areas next time. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/17/2009 Posts: 2,038 Location: GA
@kiash when prince william the future king of england popped the question to kate he did it in kenya with so many locations including his own native country nobody knows why he chose kenya with all the problems we have most commoners who spend most of their time talking ill of africa were humbled .if royalty could travel all the way to africa to propose to the future queen given that he used the same airport ,roads, hotels(he stayed at olesereni while he waited for his flight back home to go and break the news) we use na wewe kiash most likely raia wa kawa ati you are scared of coming back home ....
kiash wrote:simonkabz wrote:I have lived in Nanyuki, Muranga, Kakamega, Mombasa towns n several others and been to almost every single township in Kenya. Kenya is heavenly man. Naturally beautiful even. Forget nairobi, coz I suspect its the source of all this SINGLE STORY bile. I suspect you are a slopian. Just visit your village in Kirinyaga {now a flourishing thriving township with piped water, paved roads n electricity} n see for yourself, feel the ambience, enjoy the well paved scenic roads, the lush greenery, the good hearted people. Then tour Mt Kenya areas, RV, Nyanza n Western. Malizia coast, ignore Nairobi. I can bet hiyo ujinga umejaza kwa kishwa itaicha. Where did you live in all these places you are claiming to have lived?like poundfoolish said, these are the middle class nairobians who feel comfortable locked in those closed neighbourhoods. I guess if you live in Nairobi you do not live in Eastlands.So wacha matusi. Bro, this post says it all, your condescending attitude. Who told u middle class don't live in eastlands? Wewe unajua Kenya kweli? I doubt you can be helped. Usikuje kwetu, kaa huko kwenu. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
@kiash is talking of frustration of those 80%+ Kenyans who are struggling to make the ends meet. Maybe many here can't identify with them as they haven't nor will they ever experience hardship of life. work to prosper
Kiash,have you listened to those clips i have posted for you? You are the one who is insulting people and you are saying you are being insulted? This is wazua,sometimes we exchange friendly fires.Now you are are an ally who has misidentified a target, and now,we are trying to reduce the number of casualties here! - if you know what i mean. At this point,i am hitting the "ignore button",then will come back when you are mahututi,to tell you "i told you so" I am happy
Culture
Why I fear / "hate" Going Home