wazua Fri, Jan 31, 2025

23 Pages«<1314151617>»
Fire at JKIA
#281 Posted : Thursday, August 08, 2013 1:11:24 AM

@chaka that is public info available kwa website yao www.kaa.go.ke
You will find it complete with passport photos bios/profiles and CV tu ndio hakuna let your fingers do the walking

of more fundamental concern to me are the following questions:

1.Exactly how many operational staffers does KAA employ?
2.What qualifications and training including intelligence and paramilitary have they undergone? Are background checks done?
3.How is the shift system operate and handing over done?
4.Are there any cctv cameras at the airport and are they regularly manned and serviced?
5.After the power failure fiasco what alternative especially solar and generators are in place?
6. Is the new greenfield terminal having sufficient provisions for solar power and rainwater harvesting?
7. Does the airport have an integrated security and access control system whereby you can link logs to files and photos of who accessed where when?

I said elsewhere our airport is a joke security control-wise
As to whether our alternatives Eldoret, Kisumu, Mombasa Sad Pray . .. .Nyeri(washa kucheka hii ni brand newLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ) are up to scratch. . . Is the subject of a thread am starting shortly

Chaka wrote:
Can someone post the names and positions of the m
anagement and senior management at the KAA?

#282 Posted : Thursday, August 08, 2013 2:19:11 AM

Some comments in the international press regarding the fire :

Having had the misfortune to have flown in and out of the place a couple of years ago all I can say is HURRAH !...
- Sandgroper , Perth Western Australia, 07/8/2013 13:27

The best thing for it is being burned to the ground and rebuilt - and preferably staffed by more people who know what is required of people who work in an airport. Hardly any seats, no announcements or boards with flight info. A transfer desk that is absolute chaos. When I was there one of the women handling a passengers transfer just got up and walked off half way through without a word said. He stood there bemused for a while before asking someone when she would be back the answer he got was, "She has gone to lunch, she'll be back later"!
- red dove , Chattanooga, United States, 07/8/2013 16:01
Tokyo
#283 Posted : Thursday, August 08, 2013 3:43:14 AM

How we handle and deal with issues is what contributes to "world inequalities " as a soul in Wazua had started a post blaming White men for our misfortune and poverty.
If that fire was in Japan; transport minister could have committed suicide. Prime minister resigned and entire airport team sacked without pay regardless of who to blame or not.
If in china execution of several top guys.
But in our case speculating while enjoying merry go round of artificial disasters
work to prosper
#284 Posted : Thursday, August 08, 2013 5:23:06 AM

O.K makosa imefanyika what we do now?

Lest we forget VIP lounge at Moi International Airport Mombas was razed down last year Jan 2012 imediately after some expensive renovations-very fishy if you asked me.

Rink -

Somebody pass this memo to CS Eng Michael Kamau (this guy is another Michuki i tell you).: we need to hide this national shame. Loss adjusters and CID 48 hours to cart away debris and whatever samples they need for investigation
Give those Chinese constructing hapo kando site instructions (variation order) to start renovations immediately. The Wazua Republic shall send our own @a4architect with a team of professional consultants QS, Fundi Kawaya-yaani Electrical Eng. Structural Eng etc. . . to supervise. Their is no time for tendering in an emergence like this one. We shall review the estimates and negotiate with chinaman here but dont worry @a4 will do a good job as lead consultant.

Now what do we do to those dunderheads at KAA?

P.s. Itumbi will also put in a word to those that matter
CABINET MEMO NO MOT/INFR_ XX APPROVED AS REQUESTED

Gathige wrote:
CS Eng Kamau is a real serious guy. He seems to have grabbed his jacket immediately he got the news and left for the Airport. Other chaps seems to have taken time to dress, exercise and grab their ipads. Kudos Eng Kamau.

#285 Posted : Thursday, August 08, 2013 6:28:41 AM

okay so I was about to book a KQ flight to Msa or Entebbe but this incident happens so I decide to take the train or bus. So will KQ file a claim with insurance co. for the 'lost' business that I would have given them?

ai,where's proof of contract between you and kq? hapo hakuna kesi.lol

That's the point. I am trying to show @murchr how KQ is loosing coz of such incident but he insists that's insurable. If I had booked but KQ was unable to transport me and I claimed a refund, that's another story.

If I was KQ and in a normal day I operate 20 departures but because you couldnt facilitate that as per our earlier agreement then you should compensate me for the loss incurred. Its business hakuna kuongea mingi.

The agreement is btwn KQ and KAA and not you the pariah traveler. You the traveller with no contractual agreement with KQ can get yourself alternative arrangement.

But I think that for KQ to claim, they must have encountered losses arising from failure to provide a service as per the agreed contract with pax whose proof is a booking/ticket?
I doubt if previous travel statistics is valid to give weight to such a case-can you imagine how many airlines would randomly sue based on statistics?

If there is no evidence apart from bookings made by KQ to prove that they had prior travel arrangements on the day fire broke out then I see them hitting a wall.
Give allowance to the no-show pax who supposedly decide (all of them) not to travel on the day of fire, resulting in plane not taking off.
KQ must in this case prove that failure to take off was as a result of the fire and not pax who just had other biz to attend to.
This will be between pax and kq not KAA.

Unless there is a form of written contract btwn KAA and Airlines which stipulates that compensation as a result of negligence by KAA must be made to Airlines regardless of whether bookings were made or not on the day disaster broke out and that failure to fly was not as a result of no-shows or other technical faults on their side, I am not so sure abt the case.

..just thinking-say my engine fails,I let down pax by failing to fly,fire breaks out, but because there's room for compensation ,I claim from KAA because I operate 3 flights daily out of jkia..?

Could be wrong.

I know that those who lost baggage will be compensated by airlines and the airlines will sue the 3rd party? -KAA?? My guess because a ticket is proof enough.

SHAME ON KAA STAFF.Is there no thermostart to detect heat in an International Apt?

Where are we ranked now by IATA? Pray Pray .

#286 Posted : Thursday, August 08, 2013 6:58:01 AM

Is Moi finally vindicated? The Eldoret Airport which the opposistion fought against in the 90s became the fallback!
#287 Posted : Thursday, August 08, 2013 7:12:46 AM

kysse no plane can land on JKIA or any other gov controlled airport without authorization so there's a contractual agreement that they sign for use of facility. For a plane to take off or land, it pays KAA an amount which i believe is upfront, KAA is incharge of who lands at what time etc...if for whatever reason KAA doesnt facilitate their part of the bargain then they should pay the other party for loss of business due to the inconvinience. It doesnt matter if that plane was fully booked or half, loss of business is loss of business...

Now, those who landed at 4:00 could smell smoke and some saw a fire but there was no panic or action, what is really wrong with our institutions?
#288 Posted : Thursday, August 08, 2013 7:20:54 AM

Sansa wrote:
So since there were no sprinklers, or smoke alarms or watchful askaris, should we assume that they also won't have any security footage to look at?

As for security the 2 PTZ CCTV cameras at the arrivals were not affected.Only the trunking was affected and also note that the cameras are infrared IP cameras with a range of 5 kms so definitely we have footage.
CLK
#289 Posted : Thursday, August 08, 2013 7:26:30 AM

Sansa wrote:
So since there were no sprinklers, or smoke alarms or watchful askaris, should we assume that they also won't have any security footage to look at?

Dont be surprised, security footage ilichomeka, me thinks kuna kitu imekuwa smuggled in the process..
CLK
#290 Posted : Thursday, August 08, 2013 7:35:39 AM

kysse no plane can land on JKIA or any other gov controlled airport without authorization so there's a contractual agreement that they sign for use of facility. For a plane to take off or land, it pays KAA an amount which i believe is upfront, KAA is incharge of who lands at what time etc...if for whatever reason KAA doesnt facilitate their part of the bargain then they should pay the other party for loss of business due to the inconvinience. It doesnt matter if that plane was fully booked or half, loss of business is loss of business...

Now, those who landed at 4:00 could smell smoke and some saw a fire but there was no panic or action, what is really wrong with our institutions?

True, and also KQ and any other airline operating at JKIA pays KAA adn this is the reason they will have to compensate the airlines, remember each and every passenger pays for airport taxes and charges that go to KRA and KAA
#291 Posted : Thursday, August 08, 2013 8:08:28 AM

The way insurance companies behave, will they pay this damage really?
They may start quoting the fine prints and claim that they exonorate them from responsibility if, for example, the installed emergency devices like heat and smoke detectors or sprinklers are not working!

#292 Posted : Thursday, August 08, 2013 8:09:04 AM

And now

...........President Obama.......has called PRESIDENT UHURU KENYATTA to say pole and offer support in reconstruction of the airport.

LINK....nationmedia 20667 service.

Am not sure what to think or comment about that.
captain kirk
#293 Posted : Thursday, August 08, 2013 8:14:52 AM

Is Moi finally vindicated? The Eldoret Airport which the opposistion fought against in the 90s became the fallback!

Oh really? Moi built the Airport in LD because he had envisioned a disaster like this. That is the most ridiculous thing I have read in a long time.
#294 Posted : Thursday, August 08, 2013 8:17:07 AM

quote=murchr]kysse no plane can land on JKIA or any other gov controlled airport without authorization so there's a contractual agreement that they sign for use of facility. For a plane to take off or land, it pays KAA an amount which i believe is upfront, KAA is incharge of who lands at what time etc...if for whatever reason KAA doesnt facilitate their part of the bargain then they should pay the other party for loss of business due to the inconvinience. It doesnt matter if that plane was fully booked or half, loss of business is loss of business...

Now, those who landed at 4:00 could smell smoke and some saw a fire but there was no panic or action, what is really wrong with our institutions?[/quote]

Yep.
Then that is a mountain of compensation they have to deal with.But sina huruma kwa KAA cz it was sheer negligence on their part.

But I have a swali..

Barclays Bank,the ATM,Safcom place,Forex Bureaus,Equity ATM and the other financial facilities at the arrivals,.What could have happened the moment fire was detected? Were people busy looting instead of helping put out fire? reason it spread?
I do not trust people.

#295 Posted : Thursday, August 08, 2013 8:28:09 AM

....17 hours later, there is still some fire at JKIA!!!

WTH now this is suspicious

Willis Raburu has just been reporting live......and some fire is still being fought, they are hoping that by kesho all the smoke would have gone!!!!

Apparently the fire is still on and spreading...What is going on?

I could see smoke on live NTV reporting, what the heol is happening?
d'oh! d'oh!

#296 Posted : Thursday, August 08, 2013 8:30:37 AM

In 2010 there were rumours of a 2nd Airport to be done somewhere in Thika.Some land was to be hived off kwa mananas karibu na jeshi Garrisa Road.The idea being floated then was that in the event of a disaster like the one of jana flights could be diverted to Thika then use Shuttle via the Superhighway to Nbi.

Anybody in the know?

Maybe its time to implement the plan.
#297 Posted : Thursday, August 08, 2013 8:35:20 AM

In 2010 there were rumours of a 2nd Airport to be done somewhere in Thika.Some land was to be hived off kwa mananas karibu na jeshi Garrisa Road.The idea being floated then was that in the event of a disaster like the one of jana flights could be diverted to Thika then use Shuttle via the Superhighway to Nbi.

Anybody in the know?

Maybe its time to implement the plan.

Are you implying that the fire was started by Freedom so that he can sell part of his land to the government and also develop Kiambu county?
#298 Posted : Thursday, August 08, 2013 8:36:44 AM

quote=murchr]kysse no plane can land on JKIA or any other gov controlled airport without authorization so there's a contractual agreement that they sign for use of facility. For a plane to take off or land, it pays KAA an amount which i believe is upfront, KAA is incharge of who lands at what time etc...if for whatever reason KAA doesnt facilitate their part of the bargain then they should pay the other party for loss of business due to the inconvinience. It doesnt matter if that plane was fully booked or half, loss of business is loss of business...

Now, those who landed at 4:00 could smell smoke and some saw a fire but there was no panic or action, what is really wrong with our institutions?[/quote]

Yep.
Then that is a mountain of compensation they have to deal with.But sina huruma kwa KAA cz it was sheer negligence on their part.

But I have a swali..

Barclays Bank,the ATM,Safcom place,Forex Bureaus,Equity ATM and the other financial facilities at the arrivals,.What could have happened the moment fire was detected? Were people busy looting instead of helping put out fire? reason it spread?
I do not trust people.

The fisrt thing they did was to smash those cctv camera then open the floodgate of looting!
Sad Sad

#299 Posted : Thursday, August 08, 2013 8:38:37 AM

Yep.

But I have a swali..

I do not trust people.

The fisrt thing they did was to smash those cctv camera then open the floodgate of looting!
Sad Sad

I thought most of the people around there are Kaos who are renowned honest people.If they were tyres,yes.
#300 Posted : Thursday, August 08, 2013 8:38:39 AM