Fire at JKIA
#241 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 5:24:51 PM

madollar wrote:
freiks wrote:
Mutahi Ngunyi rubbing it on the twitter

he seems to think someone is out to sabotage uhuru goverment can kenyans go to the extremes of burning down an international airport to settle political scores .... its either terrorism or an accident

I dont think he think its sabotage, but rather incompetence. And I agree with him...he has to get tough, this should not have happened at ALL

Our own @Tycho beats Mutahi Ngunyi pants down in what he tries to be doing best.....being anstract.

Hii ilikuja na upepo, pepo mbaya!
Sad Sad

#242 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 5:27:38 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
theman192000 wrote:
My understanding of how a fire starts is via a spark. So unless it was an explosion (which no one has reported) then it must have been a small fire before it became a big fire.

A credible source who were about to depart from the airport on an international flight confirmed to me that initially there was smoke and no one seemed worried and they continued to be processed. So the question is why at this stage airport personnel did not contain the fire.

In your own home if there is a fire, the first response would be to try and contain the fire yourself NOT call the fire brigade. So the question of why only one fire truck was sent is because the other 4 were on standby at the runway as per international air travel regulations.

My source did not fly out but reported that security officers were involved in looting and not trying to put out the fire. Further to this the sprinkler system did not release any water.

This is probably the case, the fact that there were no casualties implies that the fire spread leisurely through the building while the KAA and security personell ignored it thinking its not their responsibility or were napping to conserve their strength for their daytime side hassles.

If I were the president/CS I would fire most of KAA management and yesterdays entire night shift.

Might not work. Cord might catch wind of it and cry persecution.
#243 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 5:27:40 PM

madollar wrote:
freiks wrote:

he seems to think someone is out to sabotage uhuru goverment can kenyans go to the extremes of burning down an international airport to settle political scores .... its either terrorism or an accident

I dont think he think its sabotage, but rather incompetence. And I agree with him...he has to get tough, this should not have happened at ALL

Our own @Tycho beats Mutahi Ngunyi pants down in what he tries to be doing best.....being anstract.

Sad Sad

Chida ya predictive text.....meant 'ABSTRACT'
#244 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 5:34:48 PM

madollar wrote:
freiks wrote:

Sad Sad

Using predictive text would give you a set of known English words, hii yako hata google or urban dictionary haijui, so I dont think it was anything predictive...ni phombe au chida ya matamchi!
Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

#245 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 5:40:02 PM

Liberian Biggest Airport during the civil war times; today JKIA looks like this, there is a picture doing rounds in fb.

Sad Sad Sad Sad

Before:

#246 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 5:41:16 PM

madollar wrote:
freiks wrote:

Sad Sad

Using predictive text would give you a set of known English words, hii yako hata google or urban dictionary haijui, so I dont think it was anything predictive...ni phombe au chida ya matamchi!

Predictive text also suggests words used on the phone before that would include even my native language......or gujarati....or earlier wrong spellings.....jua smart phone yako (if you have.....hides)
#247 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 5:44:17 PM

madollar wrote:
freiks wrote:

Sad Sad

Ni kukimbia kupost...ni sawa pia...MC we get what you're saying, that is what is important
#248 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 5:45:17 PM

madollar wrote:
freiks wrote:

Sad Sad

Predictive text also suggests words used on the phone before that would include even my native language......or gujarati....or earlier wrong spellings.....jua smart phone yako (if you have.....hides)

You must be having a bright phone!

#249 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 6:41:57 PM

And the KQ losses will continueSad Sad Sad

There's a diff btn KQ and KAA Wazuans should be more educated on this Shame on you

I think majority know the difference, what they guy is implying here is that when KAA is affected like this, KQ is definitely affected..it might have a greater impact than when KQ is affected, KAA might not be as affected...

@murchr - Passengers being diverted means KQ pays for hotels etc. Flights not taking off means lost revenue for KQ. Remember KQ has the highest number of flights landing/ departing from JKIA. An yes I know the difference between KQ and KAAShame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you .
kiash
#250 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 6:48:36 PM

Time to get up on security. Funniest thing, any one ever noticed those officers on the entrance before getting the ticket kwa gate.The officers instead of telling you fungua boot , umebeba nini screening and all , this is the time they come looking for insurance, Driving licence and all unnecessary checks forgetting ukitoka airport, chances of getting thru road checks are not rare. Time they styled their game.
CLK
#251 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 6:54:44 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
theman192000 wrote:
My understanding of how a fire starts is via a spark. So unless it was an explosion (which no one has reported) then it must have been a small fire before it became a big fire.

A credible source who were about to depart from the airport on an international flight confirmed to me that initially there was smoke and no one seemed worried and they continued to be processed. So the question is why at this stage airport personnel did not contain the fire.

In your own home if there is a fire, the first response would be to try and contain the fire yourself NOT call the fire brigade. So the question of why only one fire truck was sent is because the other 4 were on standby at the runway as per international air travel regulations.

My source did not fly out but reported that security officers were involved in looting and not trying to put out the fire. Further to this the sprinkler system did not release any water.

This is probably the case, the fact that there were no casualties implies that the fire spread leisurely through the building while the KAA and security personell ignored it thinking its not their responsibility or were napping to conserve their strength for their daytime side hassles.

If I were the president/CS I would fire most of KAA management and yesterdays entire night shift.

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

Fire marshals are normally volunteers in any organization, you therefore cant fire them if they thought better to save their own lives instead of containing the fire. The KAA management needs to go, someone is definately sleeping on the job, disaster preparedness and recovery, ati the fire system wasn't working apparently pipes hazikuwa na maji, periodically someone is supposed to check this and that's why fire drills are carried out, so whoever declared the airport well prepared in case of a fire the last time it was checked will also be on the spot.

Those security people do nothing, i keep saying ni mungu hutulinda, they will let you pass through those checks with more than 100ml of whatever if you part with USD 10, i see this happening so many times, and we need to separate the police force from all other segments, lets have security people trained specifically on airports and their security, get qualified and sharp guys and above all, pay them well!!!
CLK
#252 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 7:05:53 PM

There's a diff btn KQ and KAA Wazuans should be more educated on this Shame on you

You do not think, diverting flights to other destinations will mean, extra fuel, more allowances for the crew, and mother of all, dealing with passengers, placing them in hotels etc?? who will take care of these costs?

I hear though that KAA will have to compensate the airlines for losses arising, kwanza those loads of luggage locked hapo kando ya hizo belt? will KRA compensate the owners, me thinks hizo ziliungua...
#253 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 7:19:46 PM

The shops and whatever it is at the arrivals upstairs were nothing short of description to those stalls in luthuli avenue... pathetic..!!!
#254 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 7:21:55 PM

CLK wrote:

You do not think, diverting flights to other destinations will mean, extra fuel, more allowances for the crew, and mother of all, dealing with passengers, placing them in hotels etc?? who will take care of these costs?

I hear though that KAA will have to compensate the airlines for losses arising, kwanza those loads of luggage locked hapo kando ya hizo belt? will KRA compensate the owners, me thinks hizo ziliungua...

Iko kitu naitwa insurance
#255 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 7:26:27 PM

CLK wrote:

@ poor Murchr, you need the education smile I wonder does KQ & other airlines have any service agreements with KAA where they would be compensated if KAA services are down or under such events?

and reading this piece, i smell a fat rat. That was so fast!!
#256 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 7:39:40 PM

CLK wrote:

@ poor Murchr, you need the education smile I wonder does KQ & other airlines have any service agreements with KAA where they would be compensated if KAA services are down or under such events?

Are you assuming that there are no service agreements? You post a link which clearly you seem not to have read. Are you also of the assumption that KQ has no insurance against an event like this? SMH
#257 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 7:45:51 PM

Well this was coming ...

The short-term disruption is massive. From an African perspective, this is like Heathrow shutting down - but without the back-up that other airports provide.

in the coming days the international media will eat JKIA alive

Why Kenya airport blaze will raise questions over Nairobi's future as an African hub

#258 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 7:51:33 PM

CLK wrote:

Are you assuming that there are no service agreements? You post a link which clearly you seem not to have read. Are you also of the assumption that KQ has no insurance against an event like this? SMH

English ni ngumu kweli. go back read, understand and digest what I just posted.
#259 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 8:06:31 PM

CLK wrote:

Soma mara kathaa.
#260 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 8:25:41 PM

CLK wrote:

Soma mara kathaa.

For the last time and as someone else has said it here, KQ is not KAA!!! jameni