wazua Sat, Feb 1, 2025

23 Pages«<56789>»
Fire at JKIA
wanyuru
#121 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:40:13 AM

seppuku wrote:
Not seen anyone quoting eye witnesses. Ama wamekatazwa kuongelesha media?

There seems to be a ban of sorts...wamenyonga wire...

Trying to reach my mate who works there and pia yeye amenyonga....tangu 8!!
#122 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:41:16 AM

butterflyke wrote:
Tokyo wrote:
Heads must roll

Not even one incompetent guy will lose his job...you can take that to the bank with a fine tooth comb

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

and they will have their cake and eat it too Sad

My crystal ball is clear on the cause of this massive fire!!!

Sad Sad

Tafadhali sema...hii sio La Mujer!! We don't have to wait for your speculation...

Thats smoke was black and heavily sooty, it cant be from burning papers and wooden chairs...ni hayo tu!
Sad Sad

and yet they are using water to put it out..kama sio combustibles, they needed a different method...

Hiyo moshi ni ya ngata, the question is "...how did such a large volume of ngata find its way inside the most guarded facility in Kenya...?"

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

#123 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:42:05 AM

Perfect evacuation with no casualty!!!!
#124 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:43:03 AM

Tokyo wrote:
Los Angeles Times

Huge fire closes Nairobi's international airport

Cancellations begin. Sad

Impact-
Flowers/Fruits for export go back to their owners-No Kenyan flowers will be auctioned/sold in Europe today/tomorrow.-millions lost.
Other marketers will take advantage of the gap and Kenyan exporters will be in tears.
Booked Cargo is stuck.

And someone is smiling rich today.

What about the tourists coming in for the great migration? iko chida...

They can land at mombasa, eldoret or arusha. I have seen that flights are being diverted to Arusha which is the closest airport to Nairobi. Check link: http://www.flightradar24.com/2013-08-07/04:22/12x/0.96,35.2/5
iller
#125 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:43:22 AM

banyamulenge, Birthright, carygoh, FancyFace, Guest (65), holycow, iller, Impunity, InnovateGuy, jaggernaut, King G, maka, mawinder, McReggae, mukiha, nostoppingthis, Ondiek, sparkly, Tebes, wanyuru, wazuaguest, ZILLION, ZZE123

Finally Baba arrives on the scene
#126 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:44:43 AM

Tokyo wrote:
Los Angeles Times

Cancellations begin. Sad

Impact-
Flowers/Fruits for export go back to their owners-No Kenyan flowers will be auctioned/sold in Europe today/tomorrow.-millions lost.
Other marketers will take advantage of the gap and Kenyan exporters will be in tears.
Booked Cargo is stuck.

Hakuna chida. They'll simply land huko MSA or Eldi. Sijui kama Kisumu itatosha.
InnovateGuy
#127 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:45:23 AM

I'm looking at some of the posts and I'm SMH. Guys taking the conspiracy route while it's quite oblivious that COMPLACENCY played a huge role.
Live Full Die Empty - Les Brown.
#128 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:47:25 AM

Has any plane landed at eldoret or Mombasa?
#129 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:48:36 AM

Sober wrote:

Not yet.
FancyFace
#130 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:51:15 AM

InnovateGuy wrote:
I'm looking at some of the posts and I'm SMH. Guys taking the conspiracy route while it's quite oblivious that COMPLACENCY played a huge role.

Sad eh....apparently Alai tweeted at around 2.08am saying a small fire had been detected at JKIA and wanted anyone around there to confirm...well then guess he was right Sad

Problems can get out of proportion, and not only in the wee small hours. Don't let the problems eclipse the Master. Let the Master eclipse the problems.
#131 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:53:22 AM

How come none of the airport workers on duty is giving details about how it all started?
#132 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:53:26 AM

Sober wrote:

Not yet.

does that mean ni plane has been diverted, or are we using others nit mentioned
#133 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:55:38 AM

#134 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 10:59:58 AM

Sober wrote:

Not yet.

does that mean ni plane has been diverted, or are we using others nit mentioned

I'm wondering if there is anybody who has diverted to Eldy:

From KQ:
"Regarding the fire at Jomo Kenyatta International Airport (JKIA) we would like to inform all our customers and stakeholders that all our incoming and outgoing passengers are safe.

There will be certain disruptions on our operations and as soon as we get clarity on the extent of the damage we will advise everyone on what we intend to do.

Flights coming into JKIA have been diverted to Mombasa. Transiting passengers have been taken to hotels. Other flights from Nairobi have been temporarily suspended. Further updates on the situation and resumption of normal operations will be provided in an hour. Please bear with us as we understand the situation more clearly.

Dr Titus Naikuni
Group Managing Director and CEO
Kenya Airways
August 7, 2013
#135 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 11:00:10 AM

InnovateGuy wrote:

You are probably right but i think we should first be told how this fire started. I don't think i can accomodate kitu kama electrical fault ama that kind of nonsense.....
#136 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 11:00:54 AM

butterflyke wrote:
Tokyo wrote:
Heads must roll

Not even one incompetent guy will lose his job...you can take that to the bank with a fine tooth comb

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

and they will have their cake and eat it too Sad

My crystal ball is clear on the cause of this massive fire!!!

Sad Sad

Tafadhali sema...hii sio La Mujer!! We don't have to wait for your speculation...

Thats smoke was black and heavily sooty, it cant be from burning papers and wooden chairs...ni hayo tu!
Sad Sad

and yet they are using water to put it out..kama sio combustibles, they needed a different method...

Hiyo moshi ni ya ngata, the question is "...how did such a large volume of ngata find its way inside the most guarded facility in Kenya...?"

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

Most guarded facility.... I can sneak, Osama and all his tools of trade, in and out twice before any detection is done...

The policemen at the main entrance do nothing but ask for bribes.. i once gave a lift to a drunk officer with his AK..
#137 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 11:07:12 AM

Tokyo wrote:
Los Angeles Times

Cancellations begin. Sad

Impact-
Booked Cargo is stuck.

Hakuna chida. They'll simply land huko MSA or Eldi. Sijui kama Kisumu itatosha.

Some who were planning their trips to Kenya may cancel...this incident definitely has an impact...
Kriscalf
#138 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 11:07:29 AM

Fishy!!!!!!!!
The stars will never align, & the traffic lights of life will Never go green at the same time.
#139 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 11:08:24 AM

Larry Madowo reporting live from the scene....the guy is good with live broadcasting.
#140 Posted : Wednesday, August 07, 2013 11:08:25 AM

tweet,,,"@DeeKerubo: We're missing the bigger tragedy here.. Mwakazi has been reporting the news all morning. We're at risk of death by boredom from that voice.."