Market
Pennywise
Got 120 K and lookin for a car
Guys I gat like 120 k and i'm lookin for anythin cheap to get me from Point A to B..home to town(workplace)..I heard there are Nissan sunny za kitambo unaweza pata.Anybody got such a car or any other model for that Price..(Wale mabwenyenye hapa..msinichekelee,mtu huanzia bahali banawe..hata wewe balianza bahali).So give me u'r offers pple
rather cry inside a lamborgini,than laugh inside a Startlet
Kama una roho,look for a run down moti and re-condition it. They are all over the place.
You will need a good mechanic and the time to tafuta spares tho. If you are a D-I-Y person,you'll enjoy it!
@waswa... i dont have a car to offer but just a little advise
Say,you could look for a car costing you 100k. the 18k on top,you enrol in a mechanic course coz you for sure for sure are gonna need it... 2k,look for a good mechanic,buy him a drink with 1k and give him 1k juuust.... coz you surely will co-own that car with him... and you need him to take good care of it while you are way... in any case,he will have it more times in a week than you will. while at it,enjoy every moment of it coz it will make a good laugh a few years from now when you finally buy a car. (all this on a very light note)....
dig out a previous thread on 'your first car' and read the experiences.... it will help.
Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.
@waswa,
Auctions or tenders might sort you out.KAA put an ad in DN( i think yesterday) for some jalopies that they are disposing.On the other hand why not buy a new motorcycle?(though you will need nerves of steel to evade matatus on the highways)
@ Wendz,that was very funny but it is the truth. I'm still getting tickled by the response you've written. @ Waswa,seriously speaking,why are you looking to spend that for a car? You will easily get one of those Old Nissans and Peugeots for even less than that,but you may end up spending even more than the purchase price on repairs etc. Another thing is that such a vehicle is likely to be a guzzler ( carburettor) and will cost you quite a bit. About three years ago,my old man bought a Peugeot 305 for Ksh 90000. I can tell you that he has spent much more than that on fixing things and purchasing very hard to find parts. Even if your car is only meant for moving from point A to point B,would you want the car breaking down in the traffic? Spend at least 220000 and you'll be sure to get a decent car
Reminds a friend of mine who bought a old ka-toyota for around 70k and he called guys in ucha that he has a car. Then he made this long journey to Mashinani. Halfway engine started heating up. He called mechanic and he slept at Mwea. I think he made a good date with Mike Murimi there. Next day he proceeded when he reached mashinani the car had a gearbox problem and he packed it near the ka-bus stop. Six years down the line i still see the car where it was packed. He tried even selling the tires nobody seemed interested. The guy stayed like 2 years before going back home i dont know why anyway.
Make a wise decision dude
life is an endless adventure
hahahaha...@feish,dude u almost killed me! LMAOest! Waswa,go 4the starlet ep71. That u can get in fairly gud cdn,cheap available spares n fairly economical. And easy to sell too wen u get more cash 4 a better one....4an old car,a wise dude doesnt just go 4any funny model. Can silence be misquoted? TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
@simonkabz Thnks for the info..know anywhere i can get that startlet ep71...or saw any somewea?
Try this dude,0722991920...bt neva invoke my name wen u become all greasy Can silence be misquoted? TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/31/2008 Posts: 7,081 Location: Kenya
@Wendz:
...apart from what you have listed,he will also need something like 1k in his pocket every time because such cars have a tendency of not wanting to complete climbing that Mbagathi hill....
@Magigi Buggerz like u find joy in being indifferent to other pple's predicament..If u are all comfy with your top-of -the range car,then Good luck to you.I asked pple if they got any offers,not to ridicule my position(or pocket capability).If you aint got any offer,pls dont comment(or ridicule).i take great offense..and Wendz..thot u were level headed...guezz u cudnt fight the urge to chongoa this lowlife wanting to spend 120k for a car?huh...
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/31/2008 Posts: 7,081 Location: Kenya
@Waswa
...Sorry. No riducule intended. All that you are being told is,you should not throw good money after bad... Besides,what is wrong with me sharing my experience? Dude,try to afford a smile...Wish you luck!
@waswa - if anyone is level headed here,its Wendz....do not take offence (and she has clearly indicated it is done in good faith but on a light note). READ her advice and every one else's. Its solid advice. Stop feeling lowly. We all started somewhere - some of us do not even own cars. For those that do,there have been tales of horror (some with great humour like Feish mentioned),on the road that led them to their current cars. Please look for a thread on this site 'your first car'....Don't get so hot under the collar.
The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
@waswa
My apologies if what i wrote pissed you off ... I did/do not intend to ridicule you at all,thats why i said at the end 'it was all on a light note'. Most of us have come from far and when we write such,it does not mean we have forgotten one bit where we come from.......
Lets say,search for a thread here on 'my first car ' or something like that. then you will understand the experiences that people have gone through... And i am not saying its a bad thing to start where you are starting,just letting you know what to expect because there have been many before you and they lay their experiences bare on that thread... it was the most hilarious thing re-living their experiences. Once again,my apologies but i must add that if you get that car,you must have a sense of humor..... It will keep you going.
Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.
You were offended by this???
Talk about sensitivity.....
Its called advice man/woman..
@waswa.. wewe ni bure kabisa..fundaaahhhh....ati umekashirika!! nyef nyef.....kwani you can select the advise to be given.???.........dont ask for advise here again @wendz,djinn,magigi,et all...........huyu jamaa ni fara tuu achaneni naye apotelee huko mbali!! If you have money that you expect to start using in five years,it now belongs in stocks. When I have money, I get rid of it quickly, lest it find a way into my heart.
@kingfisher So r u feelin good afta abusing me as farah(u cant even spell correctly)..u know,like i said,if u havent got anything to offer interms of a car for sale,dont waste pple's time..idiots like u are the reason Murder became an english word in the first place..
Man don't be discouraged by the wabwenyenyes. I tell you your thought of a Nissan Sunny was good as long as when you are purchasing one make sure you have your mechanic with you to check it out and advise you on its conditions. My experience; my first car was a Nissan Sunny I bought it for 160k that was 1500cc manual. I used it for 4 yrs without any major trouble and fixed the engine i.e. rings once. I later sold it for 170k hmm!! My second car a Toyota Carina 1800cc EFI this compared to the former was a drunkard. My third; a T. Raum 1500cc EFI auto fuel consumption same as the old Sunny!
jk
@kazi alias jobu.......waswa ndiye bwenyenye.........ati anachagua advice..!!!...again yeye ni bure kabisa... @waswa....this is not a kiswahili language class.....i have a friend selling a VW bettle KAP (old numbering series)....you interested i give you his number..??..iko juu ya mawe lakini inanguruma.......will need buy tyres though!! If you have money that you expect to start using in five years,it now belongs in stocks. When I have money, I get rid of it quickly, lest it find a way into my heart.
By the way Kingfisher,you give me an idea what if this guy buys the VW work on it polish and enters it into the Concourd d'Elegance?
jk
Market
Pennywise
Got 120 K and lookin for a car