Why dont Kenyans Speak out!!!!!
Wendz wrote:chepkel wrote:It is absolutly appalling how Kenyans never speak out!!!! Have you ever been in an over speeding Matatu and never spoken out, Have you ever witnessed someone being harrased and never spoken out???
I was walking yesterday and a matatu, in the process of trying to avoid the jam, came on the pedestrial walk side. I refused to move out of the way and the driver hit me!!!!
No one in that matau said anything at all!!!!!! I am sooo disgusted. I think so many such cases happen in Nairobi.
What is worng with us, seriously??? Pole. However, never put yourself in the line of fire just to prove you are right. You are only right as long as you are safe and alive. Even while driving, it is only your right of way if you are safe. otherwise, you are dead and not one will hear your story. I bet it is the culture and socialisation. Cant say it better. Tried that and was almost knocked off by a "starbus". Agreed @Chep. Disgusting and on behalf of all wazuans I apologize for not speaking out.
@leona, kudos for standing up for that lady, that is so like you!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
ZZE123 wrote:alma wrote:Pole sana.
Since I can see you are very strong willed. This is what I would advice. Next time someone hits you, make sure you fall down and feign serious injury. Don't laugh, such actions have been known to make a lot of money for some people and its also one of the reasons americans are richer than us.
When you get to the hospital always say your head is aching terribly and your back is tormenting you.....Don't forget to make the mandatory purity mwambia moans.
Trust me, someone will pay. Don't ask me how I know.
Don't just be hit and get up. Get hit and lie their still and moaning every 67 seconds. Google "how to fake an injury after an accident" I know a fake lawyer who is a specialists in chasing ambulances.. Needless to say the guy is very rich! hizo na ma running down zina pesa kweli kweli possunt quia posse videntur
kollabo wrote:Pole @Chepkel. I was in a similar situation a while ago when I declined to move for an extra passenger in a 14 seat matatu.
The other passengers asked me to "nunua personal". Been told that too plus "aisy wewe hi ni public..sio private"
I stopped one day because I wanted to give a ride to someone, 5 people end up fitting into the back sit which is suppose to fit 3 people and two people tried to get into the front sit, I was helpless since one dude took over and he was like, inatutosha inatutosha, kaa hivi, weka mguu pale, hii gari ni kubwa!
Rank: Elder Joined: 5/21/2013 Posts: 2,841 Location: Here
Rollout wrote:I stopped one day because I wanted to give a ride to someone, 5 people end up fitting into the back sit which is suppose to fit 3 people and two people tried to get into the front sit, I was helpless since one dude took over and he was like, inatutosha inatutosha, kaa hivi, weka mguu pale, hii gari ni kubwa! Life is like playing a violin solo in public and learning the instrument as one goes on.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
i_am_saved wrote:tycho wrote:Strategy, and costs are key. But people can speak out. I can speak out.
What has been your cost of speaking out? As a child and a young adult/youth, I lost trust in authority, I was isolated and 'punished' for being a 'rebel', I've been excommunicated . . . and generally, it hasn't been too difficult for me to find enemies and to 'fight' for 'my' turf. Now am a child of the wind, with no strong family and kinship ties, I lost even my name of birth. Lol. Today I've found myself in two cases. The first, my student was arrested by 'copyright guys' and their police 'accomplices'. He'll sleep at Kilimani. I'm thinking of paying bail and sweating it out with the 'crooks'. But what about the cost? The other one was 'easier'. I found two men quarreling. One was a mido class car owner and the other a grocer on wheelbarrow. The latter had done something to the 'mdosis' car and was trying to explain himself. But the 'mdosi' was demanding for respect, and when it wasn't forthcoming he stabbed the grocer on the cheek bone with his keys. 'We' only managed to make the assailant do first aid to his victim. No one dared to press further lest he found himself at war with a 'rich man'. By speaking out against injustice I've realized that justice has been used as a fiction to keep the timid in chains, and in the end, one may even lose his sanity.
Rank: Elder Joined: 5/21/2013 Posts: 2,841 Location: Here
tycho wrote:i_am_saved wrote:tycho wrote:Strategy, and costs are key. But people can speak out. I can speak out.
What has been your cost of speaking out? As a child and a young adult/youth, I lost trust in authority, I was isolated and 'punished' for being a 'rebel', I've been excommunicated . . . and generally, it hasn't been too difficult for me to find enemies and to 'fight' for 'my' turf. Now am a child of the wind, with no strong family and kinship ties, I lost even my name of birth. Lol. Today I've found myself in two cases. The first, my student was arrested by 'copyright guys' and their police 'accomplices'. He'll sleep at Kilimani. I'm thinking of paying bail and sweating it out with the 'crooks'. But what about the cost? The other one was 'easier'. I found two men quarreling. One was a mido class car owner and the other a grocer on wheelbarrow. The latter had done something to the 'mdosis' car and was trying to explain himself. But the 'mdosi' was demanding for respect, and when it wasn't forthcoming he stabbed the grocer on the cheek bone with his keys. 'We' only managed to make the assailant do first aid to his victim. No one dared to press further lest he found himself at war with a 'rich man'. By speaking out against injustice I've realized that justice has been used as a fiction to keep the timid in chains, and in the end, one may even lose his sanity.  All very true. Several years back, for daring to stand up for myself, I found myself accosted at all corners, employees harassed and forced to make acquaintances with court rooms very regularly. Unfortunately,  I beat a hasty retreat for my peace of mind. @Chepkel, ugua pole dada. Life is like playing a violin solo in public and learning the instrument as one goes on.
 And you did nothing? In your own car? smh reminds me of a prior thread of the guy who drove off ignoring an unconscious man. @Chep.. The very nature of the replies here, signify how docile a people we are... and sadly that its the norm. Its been accepted. It might be the reason why Kenya has been a peaceful country despite all the corruption, wanton greed of our leaders(it even fuels it) and evil all around us eg underage sex tourism/pregnancies, witchdoctor ads etc. Even IDPs have accepted their fate! The question.. and important one at that, is WHY? I look at Kenyans abroad, most go out in search of jobs.. not to create businesses, why? It even happens here at home.. Sheep/slave mentality. I'm no psychiatrist/psychologist but I'm of the opinion that Kenyans have a low self-esteem.. and it has alot to do with the way we are brought up. Alot to do with our education system. How many times have you heard a mother telling her child 'Kula hiyo chakula ama nitakuchapa!' Why are children committing suicide when they fail exams? Why do they even fail exams? If one is weak in one thing, shouldn't the system seek to identify his/her strengths and develop those? I, for instance, only learnt cram! cram! cram! If you understand what you are cramming/memorizing then you are among the lucky few. Sad of all is people wasting their years slaving at their day jobs. Alot of us, its jobs we don't like  I had a look at @Penny-stockers thread, where at only 29 he's building apartments as part of his early retirement package. And just like clock-work, someone comment that 29 is too young to be thinking/doing that  I may not have had these thoughts imparted on me whilst younger, but I'll bring up my kids to be doers/thinkers/achievers not sheep. So help me God
tycho wrote:i_am_saved wrote:tycho wrote:Strategy, and costs are key. But people can speak out. I can speak out.
What has been your cost of speaking out? As a child and a young adult/youth, I lost trust in authority, I was isolated and 'punished' for being a 'rebel', I've been excommunicated . . . and generally, it hasn't been too difficult for me to find enemies and to 'fight' for 'my' turf. Now am a child of the wind, with no strong family and kinship ties, I lost even my name of birth. Lol. Today I've found myself in two cases. The first, my student was arrested by 'copyright guys' and their police 'accomplices'. He'll sleep at Kilimani. I'm thinking of paying bail and sweating it out with the 'crooks'. But what about the cost? The other one was 'easier'. I found two men quarreling. One was a mido class car owner and the other a grocer on wheelbarrow. The latter had done something to the 'mdosis' car and was trying to explain himself. But the 'mdosi' was demanding for respect, and when it wasn't forthcoming he stabbed the grocer on the cheek bone with his keys. 'We' only managed to make the assailant do first aid to his victim. No one dared to press further lest he found himself at war with a 'rich man'. By speaking out against injustice I've realized that justice has been used as a fiction to keep the timid in chains, and in the end, one may even lose his sanity. @Tycho.. Looks like its happening to you in Wazua too.. I noticed there's a user who's always out to work you up. And he's having a field day.  My advice, ignore. A weed that is not watered, withers.
Why dont Kenyans Speak out!!!!!