wazua Wed, Sep 16, 2026

18 Pages«<7891011>»
Is UK's Government Blind and Deaf?
Alba
#81 Posted : Monday, July 29, 2013 4:24:12 PM

50m for a bronze statue of Kibaki ?
After he slept through 10 years of his presidency, barely lifting a finger ?

#82 Posted : Monday, July 29, 2013 4:29:51 PM

Sarrouniya wrote:
In a very short time, our leaders have managed to visit upon you and me the following. And for these, among others, you will have to dig deeper into your pockets:

1. MPs pay rise (Second highest paid worldwide)
2. Kibaki retirement home - Ksh.500m
3. Kibaki retirement office - Ksh.700m
4. Kibaki bronze statue - Ksh.50m
5. Laptops for kids who can barely use them - Ksh.53.2bn (in the face of schools with no desks, roofs,hungry kids)
6. Free maternity health - Ksh.34.7bn (in a country with a population crisis and hospitals without basic facilities)
7. Kenya's golden bash - Ksh.2.5bn
8. Renovation on new DP house - Ksh.100m
9. DP luxury jet - Ksh.100m+
10.Unemployed graduates - Ksh.15,000 each (to encourage unemployment now that the promised jobs are not forthcoming,ama?
11. Billboards for these same clowns - Ksh.20m

I don't get it. A goggleless person please explain.

Meanwhile,
>our kids stay home and teachers are threatened with the sack cos there is no money to pay teachers.
>You all know the situation of schools and hospitals in your resp villages. Which reminds me of governors' budgets. Take Bungoma for example; entertainment-Ksh.53m pa, vehicles-112m, speaker's regalia-Ksh.1m, pornography awareness-Ksh.20m (down from Ksh.50m).
And this was at the height of insecurity, poor state of schools and hospitals with no facilities.

....I ALSO NEED AN ANSWER HERE. ARE THEY BLIND AND DEAF? OR IS THIS JUST GREED AT ANOTHER LEVEL? WITH ABSOLUTELY NO REGARD FOR YOU AND ME.

I did not vote for them, and probably, i was right. May be my option wasn't the best, but clearly, this is a wrong number, so far! It is the problem of voting people who do not know what basic problems are.... they have no idea what getting sick or having someone sick and headed to a facility where your only hope lies and being turned back for lack of basic facilities.... Kenyatta will never understand that even if we wanted him to.... he has no idea what it is to have a loved one die in your hands..... May be none has died for any of us but we do live close enough to know, feel and appreciate.
kenyanbeef
#83 Posted : Monday, July 29, 2013 4:44:52 PM

wal6807 wrote:
Sarrouniya wrote:
In a very short time, our leaders have managed to visit upon you and me the following. And for these, among others, you will have to dig deeper into your pockets:

5. Laptops for kids who can barely use them - Ksh.53.2bn (in the face of schools with no desks, roofs,hungry kids)
6. Free maternity health - Ksh.34.7bn (in a country with a population crisis and hospitals without basic facilities)
10.Unemployed graduates - Ksh.15,000 each (to encourage unemployment now that the promised jobs are not forthcoming,ama?

Meanwhile,
>our kids stay home and teachers are threatened with the sack cos there is no money to pay teachers.
>You all know the situation of schools and hospitals in your resp villages. Which reminds me of governors' budgets. Take Bungoma for example; entertainment-Ksh.53m pa, vehicles-112m, speaker's regalia-Ksh.1m, pornography awareness-Ksh.20m (down from Ksh.50m).
And this was at the height of insecurity, poor state of schools and hospitals with no facilities.

....I ALSO NEED AN ANSWER HERE. ARE THEY BLIND AND DEAF? OR IS THIS JUST GREED AT ANOTHER LEVEL? WITH ABSOLUTELY NO REGARD FOR YOU AND ME.

A Nation gets the Leaders they DESERVE NOT NEED , are Kenyans as prudent with personal finances as we IMAGINE they should ... How much do they spend on for example mindless drinking , kumi kumi etc etc ,MPango's etc Not to mention how MUCH
they spend/and HOW they Spend in the political arena. Just asking...

The BIG ask here is whose money am I spending on the kumikumi n mpango? Don't be too simplistic. This is money from my pocket n yours entrusted to this pple for a very specific purpose. That's why we call them public servants. A good analogy is your domestic worker taking money you have planned for household expenditure from you to spend lavishly on things even you cannot afford! If they do that with their salary, you won't and shouldn't care.
Personal v public finances! Big difference.
#84 Posted : Monday, July 29, 2013 4:56:51 PM

I dont think UK is happy with all these. Million Dollar question, why MUST these leaders surround themselves with losers who do more damage than anything else? OK, make it a mystery question.
samsa
#85 Posted : Monday, July 29, 2013 5:01:36 PM

Alba wrote:
50m for a bronze statue of Kibaki ?
After he slept through 10 years of his presidency, barely lifting a finger ?

In that regard we are lucky otherwise a statue of him lifting a finger would have been more costly.
wal6807
#86 Posted : Monday, July 29, 2013 5:03:53 PM

kenyanbeef wrote:
wal6807 wrote:
Sarrouniya wrote:

Meanwhile,

A Nation gets the Leaders they DESERVE NOT NEED , are Kenyans as prudent with personal finances as we IMAGINE they should ... How much do they spend on for example mindless drinking , kumi kumi etc etc ,MPango's etc Not to mention how MUCH
they spend/and HOW they Spend in the political arena. Just asking...

The BIG ask here is whose money am I spending on the kumikumi n mpango? Don't be too simplistic. This is money from my pocket n yours entrusted to this pple for a very specific purpose. That's why we call them public servants. A good analogy is your domestic worker taking money you have planned for household expenditure from you to spend lavishly on things even you cannot afford! If they do that with their salary, you won't and shouldn't care.
Personal v public finances! Big difference.

what i meant was what we are in Private will eventually show up in the Workplace
"Children today are tyrants. They contradict their parents, gobble their food, and tyrannize their teachers."
•Socrates (470?-399 BC)
#87 Posted : Monday, July 29, 2013 5:04:41 PM

I dont think UK is happy with all these. Million Dollar question, why MUST these leaders surround themselves with losers who do more damage than anything else? OK, make it a mystery question.

Kwani he cant stand firm and say how he would want thingz to be done?Isnt that why he is the President of the Republic of Kenya.
samsa
#88 Posted : Monday, July 29, 2013 5:18:23 PM

samsa wrote:
CLK wrote:
I'm surprised that guys here are surprised or pretending to be shocked.

You elect people who are supposed to be in a courtroom and expect things to be rosy?

Na bado. There is nothing you will do about it and even if you do, there is nothing that is going to change. This is the Kenya you wanted and God is good, he gave it to you.

In other news.....Kenyatta National Hospital Heart surgery department has not had a facelift since 1978. All they need is 100 million to equip the facility.

But I guess a statue for Kibaki, a few billboards for Kenyattas father are our path to Konza and Vision 2030.

The story on this in the media last week was so heartbreaking....

When was this proposal taken to Uhuru and Ruto and they ignored it? I want to know then I can tell them to go to hell if they cant fix it!

Now that it was in public domain last week, how about the duo calling off this celebration and addressing what requires to be done. Have they ever visited any of the public hospitals? May be, just may be, the Governors are justified to increase the budget allocation... well, at least even if it is misused at the county level, there's someone to hold accountable and possibly run them out of town.

and are you trying to tell us that these two are so out of touch with the common mwananchi that they think the mwananchi's biggest problem is holding a 2.5b celebration? then do they really know what they really are doing at the helm then? They are now behaving like "celebrities"!

Elder Wendz, does calling it off the solution? Do we have to be cancelling off major national plans for some department's inefficiency? Seriously, we can argue on this matter 100 years but as long as the duo believes it should be done, let it be. Thats why they are our leaders. To apply leadership judgement on matters that attract opposing opinions.
The celebration will be there but I am sure, WSR will cut down that cost more than half if it has not gone to him already.
Our main focus nevertheless should be addressing the odds through fair means and analyzing the common good objectives of a national project. Personally, I believe the event will be very useful to the nation and especially from tourist attraction perspective.
Alba
#89 Posted : Monday, July 29, 2013 6:55:17 PM

Its not a mystery question. the answer is simple : Poor leadership from UK. A president should never allow this kind of lunacy.

While we are being told that Kenya has record deficits , roads are in bad shape, hospitals in bad shape, stadiums are dilapidated, Most urban dwellers live in slums.

And instead of resolving this issue , our priority is to build a statue for a president whose performance was sub par ?

Even if Kenya could afford it, statues are supposed to be for true statesmen who everyone agrees deserves a statue.
Justice League
#90 Posted : Monday, July 29, 2013 7:22:37 PM

It amazes me that some here on wazua are busy defending this nonsense from the Jubilee government.

I'm sure if a plan to build a 1km tall statue in the middle of the Indian Ocean was announced, some would still justify this expenditure.

The thing that this half-baked government needs to understand is this: priorities have to be set with the interest of the common citizen in mind.

Things such as food security, health, education and controlling runaway crime are absolute priorities. Citizens would be more inclined to support the government if Jubilee just focused on these things.

However, what we see is a monster that is intent on pushing through expensive projects that are of dubious benefit. Free laptops, DP's house, MPs pay and now the 50 year celebration easily come to mind.

As things stand, I don't see this administration lasting two years in power.
18 Pages«<7891011>»