wazua Thu, May 14, 2026

is our justice system beyond redemption?
Ngong
#11 Posted : Saturday, July 27, 2013 9:18:06 PM

Lawyers eh!
Ndio malaika?
#12 Posted : Saturday, July 27, 2013 9:34:59 PM

if the story in the paper is to be believed, this guy hit a group of people crossing the road at a zebra crossing, I am not a lawyer but I think that is manslaughter at the minimun.
anyway, its very painful loosing a loved one and its made worse if the individual accused of causing the death walks free.
nothing much can be done by the family, especially if money is an issue. The only thing they can do is to try and push the story hard in the media, at least the dude who caused that accident will always carry the label of killer.
#13 Posted : Saturday, July 27, 2013 10:10:51 PM

Ngong wrote:
Lawyers eh!
Ndio malaika?

Hahaha. Probably not malaikas but at least one has access to the needed 'formulae' of thought.
Ngong
#14 Posted : Saturday, July 27, 2013 10:11:10 PM

if the story in the paper is to be believed, this guy hit a group of people crossing the road at a zebra crossing, I am not a lawyer but I think that is manslaughter at the minimun.
anyway, its very painful loosing a loved one and its made worse if the individual accused of causing the death walks free.
nothing much can be done by the family, especially if money is an issue. The only thing they can do is to try and push the story hard in the media, at least the dude who caused that accident will always carry the label of killer.

Ahsante!
And those bribed if any are cursed
#15 Posted : Sunday, July 28, 2013 7:57:56 AM

Pole sana to the victims.

Which is this idiot of a magistrate that sells him/herself worst than the k-street prostitute?

For the police..... sorry there are very few good policemen in Kenya today who. can do a honest job without a bribe or having to. know you.
#16 Posted : Sunday, July 28, 2013 8:53:06 AM

Death caused to a pedestrian should be involuntary manslaughter, since the guy was overlapping then another charge should be dangerous driving. I thought we finally has tough laws, what happened?.
Muheani
#17 Posted : Sunday, July 28, 2013 8:58:11 AM

This is sad
#18 Posted : Sunday, July 28, 2013 9:40:15 AM

Death caused to a pedestrian should be involuntary manslaughter, since the guy was overlapping then another charge should be dangerous driving. I thought we finally has tough laws, what happened?.

Mblo, what happened is that the 'price' (value?) of the bribe simply went up. I was shocked to find a perplexing hit-and-run case the other day where when the fellow whose car was hit went to report, he was himself held for careless driving.

I think our criminal justice system seriously needs to embrace the idea of restitution. If somebody steals my cow for instance, this fellow is taken to court, found guilty and subsequently jailed for theft, but I'm still left without my cow (and the income from the same). This whole idea of then having to file a civil case for compensation is honestly just too cumbersome and expensive for a majority of our people.
#19 Posted : Sunday, July 28, 2013 10:22:09 AM

But even in civil cases you still need a lawyer. if you win the case the payment is made to the law firm & the ndrama starts all over again..........
#20 Posted : Sunday, July 28, 2013 10:37:07 AM

But even in civil cases you still need a lawyer. if you win the case the payment is made to the law firm & the ndrama starts all over again..........

And obviously, back in the 90s (I think), our lawyers blocked the well intentioned plan by AKI to be issuing two cheques in insurance claims, one to the lawyer for his legal fees and the other to the claimant as compensation. Hii system ni ya majambazi!!Sad Sad