wazua Thu, Jan 16, 2025

10% levy on financial services
www.eastafricanized.com
#1 Posted : Thursday, July 25, 2013 10:27:01 PM

somebody shed some light here.
Does this levy include loans given by banks, dividends processed through banks are already taxed so will clearing the check be taxed again? d'oh!
mwekez@ji
#2 Posted : Thursday, July 25, 2013 10:36:38 PM

Got this from my bank recently

Dear Customer,

The Government of Kenya through an Act of Parliament, the Finance Act No. 57 of 2012, introduced a 10% excise duty on financial services effective 1 February 2013.

The law states as follows:

Amendment to 5th Schedule of Customs & Excise Act:
§ Excise duty on fees charged for money transfer services by cellular phone service providers, banks, money transfer agencies and other financial service providers shall be ten percent.
§ Excise duty on other fees charged by financial institutions shall be ten percent.

As a result of this legislation, a 10% excise duty will be imposed on all fees charged by banks

The interpretation by the Kenya Revenue Authority (KRA) is that the excise duty charge is applicable to the banking services that we currently provide to you. The Kenya Bankers Association (KBA), has referred the interpretation of this provision to the High Court of Kenya and the matter is yet to be determined. However, as a result of discussions between KBA and KRA, it has been agreed that in the interim, banks will collect the 10% excise duty effective 1st August 2013 and pay to the KRA.

Kindly note the above and If you have any queries on the above, please contact your branch or relationship manager.
www.eastafricanized.com
#3 Posted : Thursday, July 25, 2013 10:50:16 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:
Got this from my bank recently

Dear Customer,

The Government of Kenya through an Act of Parliament, the Finance Act No. 57 of 2012, introduced a 10% excise duty on financial services effective 1 February 2013.

The law states as follows:

Amendment to 5th Schedule of Customs & Excise Act:
§ Excise duty on fees charged for money transfer services by cellular phone service providers, banks, money transfer agencies and other financial service providers shall be ten percent.
§ Excise duty on other fees charged by financial institutions shall be ten percent.

As a result of this legislation, a 10% excise duty will be imposed on all fees charged by banks

The interpretation by the Kenya Revenue Authority (KRA) is that the excise duty charge is applicable to the banking services that we currently provide to you. The Kenya Bankers Association (KBA), has referred the interpretation of this provision to the High Court of Kenya and the matter is yet to be determined. However, as a result of discussions between KBA and KRA, it has been agreed that in the interim, banks will collect the 10% excise duty effective 1st August 2013 and pay to the KRA.

Kindly note the above and If you have any queries on the above, please contact your branch or relationship manager.

this is what is bothering me. "all fees charged by banks" does that include arrangement fee and insurance incase of loans?
mwekez@ji
#4 Posted : Thursday, July 25, 2013 10:53:53 PM

From the above, the emphasis is that the bank will will collect the 10% excise duty on fees.

Loan interest are not fees to the best of my knowledge but loan processing fees will be subject to this excise duty.

Clearing of dividend check is done by the bank for free so this will not be subject to the excise duty.

The key word here is fees. Fees charged by the bank will attract the 10% excise duty. *My understanding* *from 1st august will be checking my statements keenly on the impact of this tax**surely not a welcome tax in a country seeking financial inclusion*
mwekez@ji
#5 Posted : Friday, July 26, 2013 5:35:17 PM

@eastafricanized, reading,

AKI goes to court over financial service tax

Insurance companies say it is unclear on how they should implement the 10 per cent excise tax on all financial service transactions and want a court interpretation.

"We have no idea what it is they want us to levy the 10 per cent on," AKI executive director Tom Gichuhi told the Star.

"We are going to court tomorrow (Thursday, 25.07.13)...i have just signed an affidavit to that effect just now," Gichuhi said on Wednesday evening.

#6 Posted : Friday, July 26, 2013 7:34:23 PM

the levy is on transaction fees & commissions only - what the bank is charging you for processing things on your behalf. this will make loans slightly expensive.
#7 Posted : Friday, July 26, 2013 7:38:53 PM

This is nothing, our dumb Tanzanian brethren have levied 2% tax on the value of the transfer LOOOL...so if you're transferring 10M you pay 200k...and the way they love zeros!

those morons never cease to amaze me...they'll kill official banking and everyone will revert to cash!
#8 Posted : Friday, July 26, 2013 8:04:52 PM

This is nothing, our dumb Tanzanian brethren have levied 2% tax on the value of the transfer LOOOL...so if you're transferring 10M you pay 200k...and the way they love zeros!

those morons never cease to amaze me...they'll kill official banking and everyone will revert to cash!

Wao...they will do anything to kill any EAC deal that seems to benefit the rest.
#9 Posted : Friday, July 26, 2013 8:58:22 PM

I hope you are drunk, because that is next to impossible. But if true, TZ must enter the guiness book of record, for STUPIDITY!

mwekez@ji
#10 Posted : Friday, July 26, 2013 8:59:51 PM

Wao...they will do anything to kill any EAC deal that seems to benefit the rest.

They even have a withholding tax on loan interest. ABK!!!
#11 Posted : Saturday, July 27, 2013 7:07:24 PM

I hope you are drunk, because that is next to impossible. But if true, TZ must enter the guiness book of record, for STUPIDITY!

I wish I was drunk...this is a fact!
Ngong
#12 Posted : Saturday, July 27, 2013 10:39:39 PM

For those of us who are slow,I go withdraw cash at the ATM,the bank charges me Kshs. 30.
Now from Aug this will be Kshs. 33? ama?
#13 Posted : Saturday, July 27, 2013 11:36:15 PM

Ngong wrote:
For those of us who are slow,I go withdraw cash at the ATM,the bank charges me Kshs. 30.

Ditto and including Mpesa transactions!!!

#14 Posted : Sunday, July 28, 2013 4:26:20 AM

Ngong wrote:

But have we not being paying this on money transfer already?
#15 Posted : Sunday, July 28, 2013 9:27:14 AM

radio wrote:
Ngong wrote:

But have we not being paying this on money transfer already?

It had been suspended.
#16 Posted : Sunday, July 28, 2013 9:50:48 AM

I wish I was drunk...this is a fact!

Surely, if the state takes all that, then the bank/Dahabshil/western union takes another 2%, what will be remaining to send?

#17 Posted : Sunday, July 28, 2013 11:56:04 AM

Withdrawn
MatataMingi
#18 Posted : Sunday, July 28, 2013 3:59:15 PM

@ Magigi.

I can help explain. Give me the TBill / TBond issue number, how much you invested and what did you quote as an interest rate.
#19 Posted : Sunday, July 28, 2013 6:04:55 PM

MatataMingi wrote:
@ Magigi.

I can help explain. Give me the TBill / TBond issue number, how much you invested and what did you quote as an interest rate.

...Thanks mate...After some checking here and there, I have just discovered it is a certificate of what they retained on the start date...The problem is that they send the certificate when the due date is just next week...
...Lakini shida ya kutoelewa Economics kwangu ni kubwa...
...With the government out to tax everything, you kind of get scared when yo receive documents like these!
mwekez@ji
#20 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 12:54:36 AM