jguru wrote:
@dagitari, good one!!!

Hehehe Guru,

That's why I love doctors.

I could be a clinical officer. Or a nurse. Or a quack. Or one of those random records officers who wear white lab coats.

Or a Senga.. you seem to have vast info in 'other areas'smile

Pastor, what's a Senga?

I'm not from the xoxo generation so I don't understand some terminologies.

Mispeletion... He meant SENGE...
#62 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 4:44:17 PM

Peppy wrote:
Hi, You can read about the gina ford method. It focuses very much on routine and predictability just as the good doctor above has mentioned. also http://www.babywinkz.com/. You could also register with babyzone and read other parents experiences.

Even as we discuss, my 4 year old has ensured that i sleep in her bed until she blacks out, that is when i sneak out. By any chance she wakes up at night which is very rare, she sneaks into my bed in the middle of the night. I guess the best is to take it with humour and not be so stressed about it. I have learnt that this things do not last, kids grow up eventually.

Lakini hiyo ya landing/gymnastics with the child in bed, strongly discouraged. Si you get him/her a baby cot or move her to the room as soon as she falls asleep. Immediately they fall asleep, the sleep is deep so by the time they realise that they are not in mum's bed, its almost 3am.

Applause Like I'd said earlier, let her know its safe to sleep in her bed, by moving there. She'll follow suit. IMO its probably the only cry-free solution.

kiriita
#63 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 6:15:18 PM

Interesting discussion. I have nothing useful to add in terms of the 'help' sought but concur with those proposing routine. Our daughter moved from our bed to her cot in her room at 30 days - used a monitor after. She graduated to a bed at almost three and a half she's almost 5 yo today and fine. Has a fairly fixed time for sleeping etc
CLK
#64 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 6:16:24 PM

@Rahatupu, here are the joys of fatherhood..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KbznNv5YcWg
#65 Posted : Thursday, July 25, 2013 8:09:41 AM

Muheani wrote:
After The Period Of Him Dozzing Off In My Bed, Shipped To His, Wakes up Yelling in His Bed, Is Picked, Dozzes Off, Back To His Bed... That Was Very Trying (I Think Sometime I Used To Walk Around Eyes Closed Asleep)

The Next phase Was Him Waking Up Around 3.30am N shouting At The Top Of His Voice...dadiiiiii.... Off I Go N The Guy Says..nifunike..

I Then Noticed our Jogoo wud wika Just Before He Called Out...We Ate Him.

Thayu (Peace) Nayo After The Jogoo Was No More!

Moral Of The Story...no Noise When Baby Starts To Get The Hung Of It

@muehani, now that we are all peaceful, angalia keyboard.... iko shida hapo.
Meduza
#66 Posted : Thursday, July 25, 2013 12:05:24 PM

Rahatupu wrote:
Jameni saidia hapa!

My 2 and a half year old rahalet won't sleep in her own bedroom. She insists on sharing our bed. Tried all tricks over the last 1 year to get her to accept to sleep in her own bed and bedroom lakini wapi. We've tried to make her share her brother's (10 yrs old) bedroom but own bed without success.
Made her a fancy bed still no luck.

Advise on what tricks, means, whatever that we may not be doing right in this endeavor.

For the very first week that a child is born ensure he/she sleeps with the maid so that he/she will grow up knowing where to sleep!

Its too l ate now to change the kid, the only option left is to let the kid grow to the age he/she will know how to separate good from bad...age of 10!...no landing in that bedroom in the foreseeable future!

Waoh... @impunity, please say those words again, very very slooooowwwlllyyy.... with your eyes closed, assume you are looking at a week's old baby who looks like you and has your blood flowing through their little veins, then report back.

ati one week....Whaaat...no mother want to do that week one...lets say few months...but first have the crib in your bedroom...that way the kid sleeps in his/her own bed....but kids just love sleeping with their parents...I used to love that i remember
You cant win, unless you first begin....
faa
#67 Posted : Thursday, July 25, 2013 12:16:39 PM

funny