wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Help! She refuses to sleep in own bedroom
chepkel
#41 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 9:18:41 AM

Muheani wrote:
After The Period Of Him Dozzing Off In My Bed, Shipped To His, Wakes up Yelling in His Bed, Is Picked, Dozzes Off, Back To His Bed... That Was Very Trying (I Think Sometime I Used To Walk Around Eyes Closed Asleep)

The Next phase Was Him Waking Up Around 3.30am N shouting At The Top Of His Voice...dadiiiiii.... Off I Go N The Guy Says..nifunike..

I Then Noticed our Jogoo wud wika Just Before He Called Out...We Ate Him.

Thayu (Peace) Nayo After The Jogoo Was No More!

Moral Of The Story...no Noise When Baby Starts To Get The Hung Of It

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ...ili iwe funzo kwa jogoo wengine..

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
karqui
#42 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 10:43:04 AM

danas10 wrote:
Kratos wrote:
Kumbe we are many "suffering" in silence. Kratolet #2 has the same problem. He is slightly over 3 years old. Initially he used to sleep in his own cot after 6 months, then we moved him to another room. Then i got a job requiring travel and that was the start of it. I didn't mind it so much since he would keep the mum company.
He even wakes up at 2 or 3 am and comes knocking having walked all the way saying things like please nifungulie tuu......then if no response he starts crying....nothing breaks my heart like hearing him cry.
I think the advise for taking him to his bed after he sleeps again works but also is tiresome, imagine waiting for him to sleep again then taking him back!
We should form a chama!Sad

i was once asked 'kwani mumefunga mlango?' and we imagined the sulking face....

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
#43 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 10:45:20 AM

Rahatupu wrote:
Jameni saidia hapa!

My 2 and a half year old rahalet won't sleep in her own bedroom. She insists on sharing our bed. Tried all tricks over the last 1 year to get her to accept to sleep in her own bed and bedroom lakini wapi. We've tried to make her share her brother's (10 yrs old) bedroom but own bed without success.
Made her a fancy bed still no luck.

Advise on what tricks, means, whatever that we may not be doing right in this endeavor.

As my pastor wisely will tell you, "Do not negotiate with a 2yr old!"
Throw her out of the bedroom and show her who the parent is. Your home should not be a democracy is you want it to work. Only negotiate with your spouse but never with the kids, they'll leave one day anyway.

#44 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 11:42:06 AM

Throw her out of the bedroom and show her who the parent is. Your home should not be a democracy is you want it to work. Only negotiate with your spouse but never with the kids, they'll leave one day anyway.

Shame on you
Please,kids are 'small people' with needs/emotions as well.We are are just but big people in control.

Allow them to express themselves in whichever childish manner because they are human, but never ever disregard them no matter how silly they sound.
Seen kids who open up to strangers more than their own parents because they took time to 'just listen'
I don't believe in rewarding kids for good behavior either because as a parent, I must ensure that it becomes a norm through cultivating it and that it can never be bought.
Reward only if they do exceedingly better than expected.
The rest of the time, appreciate and commend them as often as you can.

We call it TOUGH LOVE and it really helps because it is we parents who refuse to let go not the kids.

The kanyau part deleted as it may traumatise baby as per Guru's advice.
#45 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 12:05:14 PM

Shame on you
Please,kids are 'small people' with needs/emotions as well.We are are just but big people in control.

Allow them to express themselves in whichever childish manner because they are human, but never ever disregard them no matter how silly they sound.

My friend, either you run your house or they run it. Kids are very cleaver, they'll push, manipulate and pit you against each other. With no clear boundaries, anything goes. Believe me, I have kids and I know. You can be their friend but you're their parent first and they don't have to like it.

#46 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 12:09:05 PM

Thanks all, been trying all the above but as observed here its not easy and patience is tested. She had a cot until she was 9 months, then she graduated to her bed in our bedroom. Some period of sick nights and she moved to our bed. Moving back to her own became a problem. We removed the bed and made her a bigger one in her brother's room akakataa (this is where we are).

So far so good this week, she's coping lakini does not seem to respond to routine (or is it disruption?).
#47 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 1:34:00 PM

jguru wrote:

The paediatricians would massacre you for saying children are small adults. You would never hear the end of that discussion.

More advice:

1. Don't go to bed at the same time as the child. Let the child go to bed, say at 9pm, to his/her own room, with or without the househelp. Then you and your better half can retire, at say 10pm.

2. Make going to bed a daily routine. Stick to the schedule. Supper at 6pm or 7pm. Some milk at 8pm. 8.30pm, pyjamas/bed clothes and then to his/her bed. Also, a bath at say 8.30pm, oiling/massage (they love this!), then dressing up in pyjamas/bed clothes relaxes the baby and soothes them to sleep better with less resistance.

3. Don't let the baby take a nap between 4pm and 9pm. When they sleep they have more energy to cry and to emotionally solicit for nights in your bed "woishe mamie nifungulie...". And you'll have problems putting them to bed.

4. No TV or cartoons after 8pm. Cartoon Network, Nickelodeon etc just stimulate him/her and you'll have trouble putting him/her to bed.

5. Having your child sleep in your bed doesn't necessarily improve the bond between you and the child. So, you can safely chase him/her away. This is the same child who will, when older, sleep under your car, jump over the fence, smoke your cigarettes or sip that Triple Distilled that you keep in the cabinet for your visitors. These bonds are created when you and the child are both awake.

6. Don't scare your child. No stories of 'giants' or that there's a 'wolf inside your bed' or the boogeyman or cats that will pee on them. Children are easily traumatised by these stories. That's why they bed-wet or they have nightmares while alone in their beds.

Ni hayo tu.

As Maka said, parenting is hard work smile

Pray

#48 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 2:26:53 PM

The paediatricians would massacre you for saying children are small adults. You would never hear the end of that discussion.

More advice:

1. Don't go to bed at the same time as the child. Let the child go to bed, say at 9pm, to his/her own room, with or without the househelp. Then you and your better half can retire, at say 10pm.

2. Make going to bed a daily routine. Stick to the schedule. Supper at 6pm or 7pm. Some milk at 8pm. 8.30pm, pyjamas/bed clothes and then to his/her bed. Also, a bath at say 8.30pm, oiling/massage (they love this!), then dressing up in pyjamas/bed clothes relaxes the baby and soothes them to sleep better with less resistance.

3. Don't let the baby take a nap between 4pm and 9pm. When they sleep they have more energy to cry and to emotionally solicit for nights in your bed "woishe mamie nifungulie...". And you'll have problems putting them to bed.

4. No TV or cartoons after 8pm. Cartoon Network, Nickelodeon etc just stimulate him/her and you'll have trouble putting him/her to bed.

5. Having your child sleep in your bed doesn't necessarily improve the bond between you and the child. So, you can safely chase him/her away. This is the same child who will, when older, sleep under your car, jump over the fence, smoke your cigarettes or sip that Triple Distilled that you keep in the cabinet for your visitors. These bonds are created when you and the child are both awake.

6. Don't scare your child. No stories of 'giants' or that there's a 'wolf inside your bed' or the boogeyman or cats that will pee on them. Children are easily traumatised by these stories. That's why they bed-wet or they have nightmares while alone in their beds.

Ni hayo tu.

As Maka said, parenting is hard work smile
#49 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 2:41:34 PM

@dagitari, good one!!!
#50 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 2:42:43 PM

del.rpt.
#51 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 2:45:15 PM

Hehehe Guru,

That's why I love doctors.

#52 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 2:48:28 PM

@dagitari, good one!!!

Hehehe Guru,

I could be a clinical officer. Or a nurse. Or a quack. Or one of those random records officers who wear white lab coats.

#53 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 2:56:10 PM

Mimi pia iko ndani ya hii sida. naomba sirkal aingie kati. conjugals have to wait till he is deep asleep lakini si hoja. kungoja nayo! !

If he/she happens to sleep in your bed, don't carry on with conjugals thinking the child is asleep.

A neighbour's girl (5 yrs) took a neighbour's boy (4 yrs) into their house. She removed her clothes, removed the boy's shorts and told the boy where to put it. The househelp rushed to check when the boy started crying.

Apparently, the girl 'chungulias' what the parents do in bed after they think she is asleep because she sleeps in the same room with the parents.

The parents to the boy had a lot to say to the parents to the girl. The girl's parents had to move to a house with more bedrooms.

BTW, how do families with children live in a ONE roomed house? The children must see and hear all that goes on between the mum and dad.
#54 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 3:01:30 PM

jguru wrote:
[quote=newfarer]BTW, how do families with children live in a ONE roomed house? The children must see and hear all that goes on between the mum and dad.

From the responses thus far I can safely say that wazuans with children live in 3 bedrooms and above....UMC!!!!
#55 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 3:08:29 PM

jguru wrote:
@dagitari, good one!!!

Hehehe Guru,

I could be a clinical officer. Or a nurse. Or a quack. Or one of those random records officers who wear white lab coats.

Or a Senga.. you seem to have vast info in 'other areas'smile

#56 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 3:16:10 PM

jguru wrote:
[quote=newfarer]BTW, how do families with children live in a ONE roomed house? The children must see and hear all that goes on between the mum and dad.

From the responses thus far I can safely say that wazuans with children live in 3 bedrooms and above....UMC!!!!

But were we all brought up that way?d'oh!

#57 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 3:21:25 PM

jguru wrote:
@dagitari, good one!!!

Hehehe Guru,

Pastor, what's a Senga?

I'm not from the xoxo generation so I don't understand some terminologies.
#58 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 3:26:40 PM

jguru wrote:
@dagitari, good one!!!

Hehehe Guru,

Pastor, what's a Senga?

I'm not from the xoxo generation so I don't understand some terminologies.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly The xoxo generation would even be more lost.
Senga is a teacher in the lines of K24'sGetrude Mungai or Citizen's Bi Mswafiri.
#59 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 3:35:59 PM

jguru wrote:
Mimi pia iko ndani ya hii sida. naomba sirkal aingie kati. conjugals have to wait till he is deep asleep lakini si hoja. kungoja nayo! !

If he/she happens to sleep in your bed, don't carry on with conjugals thinking the child is asleep.

A neighbour's girl (5 yrs) took a neighbour's boy (4 yrs) into their house. She removed her clothes, removed the boy's shorts and told the boy where to put it. The househelp rushed to check when the boy started crying.

Apparently, the girl 'chungulias' what the parents do in bed after they think she is asleep because she sleeps in the same room with the parents.

The parents to the boy had a lot to say to the parents to the girl. The girl's parents had to move to a house with more bedrooms.

BTW, how do families with children live in a ONE roomed house? The children must see and hear all that goes on between the mum and dad.

Maisha ni ngumu...the act must be delicately balanced...
Peppy
#60 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 4:33:37 PM

Hi, You can read about the gina ford method. It focuses very much on routine and predictability just as the good doctor above has mentioned. also http://www.babywinkz.com/. You could also register with babyzone and read other parents experiences.

Even as we discuss, my 4 year old has ensured that i sleep in her bed until she blacks out, that is when i sneak out. By any chance she wakes up at night which is very rare, she sneaks into my bed in the middle of the night. I guess the best is to take it with humour and not be so stressed about it. I have learnt that this things do not last, kids grow up eventually.

Lakini hiyo ya landing/gymnastics with the child in bed, strongly discouraged. Si you get him/her a baby cot or move her to the room as soon as she falls asleep. Immediately they fall asleep, the sleep is deep so by the time they realise that they are not in mum's bed, its almost 3am.
I can do everything through Christ who strengthens me: Phil 4: 13