wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Safety in our Banking Halls
tassia
#1 Posted : Tuesday, July 23, 2013 6:39:28 PM

This happened to me this afternoon in Barclays Queensway House.

I step in to the bank carrying some money to bank and a cheque book in a non transparent envelope that I had used to make another transaction in another bank.

I place my money and my cheque book (still in the envelop) on the working area where customers fill in their banking details and pick the banking forms. I start counting the money because, I wanted to deposit some in Barclays and some money somewhere else.

The cheque book in an envelop is on my left, a bundle of notes at the centre and another to my left. An old man in a suit comes to my left and pretends to be picking the banking forms. I somehow raise my head may be by accident and he finally picks his forms and moves away.

A guy comes to my left and he starts filling in a form. I do not get suspicious at this time but I get naturally alert now that there is money to my right. He asks what details he needed to fill to order a bankers cheque and attempt to explain but having someone to my left, I somehow was not very keen. At the same time, another comes to my left and I guess with the intention of blocking the acts of the mzee on the left. He asks me a question. Although I was not suspicious at this point, I was not ready to here anyone else especially when I have money around me. I tell him that I do not know and at the same time, I notice the cheque book has moved a few inches. (I guess they thought the envelop had some money).

I look at the old mzee and he pretends he was picking a slip again. At this point, I suspect something is not right. I take my money and my cheque book as everyone now moves away from me. I watch their next action and I notice that people who are supposed to be filling forms are headed to the door. They keep on looking behind and the more they notice that my attention is on them, the more times they check on me and move faster to the door. At this point, I have no doubts they are thugs.

I approach the guard, I told him about it and I ask him if they have CCTV cameras in the banking hall but he does not answer me. I tell him about my experience and he confirms he had received some alert from Equity about some old man .....

From our discussions and his reactions, I am convinced that there no structures set to prevent or reduce incidences of theft in the banking halls or alerting customers about such dangers. Were it not for the third eye gained from experience in Nairobi, they could have carried my cheque book thinking it is money or even worse carried my cash.

#2 Posted : Tuesday, July 23, 2013 7:51:38 PM

My experience was where i had gone to deposit some cash. Some guy was peeping on the slip that i was filling.

Another guy on the right, was borrowing me my pen, and the other one on the left was just 'sliding' closer to me trying to see what i was writing. After i finished, i gave the pen to the one who was borrowing and told him to bring it to me on the queue.

Surprisingly, the guy just brought the pen back to me after a minute and left together with the other guy who was on the left.

After i left the bank is when i reasoned and suspected that they may be those thug who follow people after withdrawing good amount of money and rob you at gun point.
I don't know why they could have picked on me since i never dress like someone who can carry more than 10K. But perhaps i can blame my ka utambi.

I was lucky i was depositing and not withdrawing.

#3 Posted : Tuesday, July 23, 2013 9:09:21 PM

Did you see this thread? Maajabu!
#4 Posted : Tuesday, July 23, 2013 9:20:50 PM

This is quite common happened to my bro at NBK harambee avenue...he took his wallet to chuck his ATM so that he can write his account no. on those tu slips,with the wallet on the counter space him busy filling that deposit slip.ghafla bin vu...the wallet was gone kabisa...when he went to the head of security and requested them to check their cctv playbacks imagine they refused and that hall has dozens of cameras...weird...all he wanted to do is bring this to their attention and probably assist someone else one day coz its the same guys doing this thing...
#5 Posted : Tuesday, July 23, 2013 10:05:34 PM

Can someone carry blanks slips home/office?
Can someone deposit cash thru the ATM?
urstill
#6 Posted : Tuesday, July 23, 2013 10:39:00 PM

Yes you can carry slips home. I've done that severally!

Depositing in ATM I've done it once(cheque) with KCB, Kencom ATMS
Man must live!
#7 Posted : Tuesday, July 23, 2013 10:53:55 PM

urstill wrote:

slips evn me I carry cheque and cash deposit depends with bank I do that everytym with KCB rarely kanyaga the banking hall but i biliv thez a limit to cash deposit via ATM....
#8 Posted : Tuesday, July 23, 2013 10:59:23 PM

urstill wrote:

slips evn me I carry cheque and cash deposit depends with bank I do that everytym with KCB rarely kanyaga the banking hall but i biliv thez a limit to cash deposit via ATM....

Please @ Maka,i beg you,do not start this on wazua.Please
#9 Posted : Tuesday, July 23, 2013 11:12:03 PM

Amores wrote:
urstill wrote:

is he c'rias?Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly the xaxa generation!
#10 Posted : Tuesday, July 23, 2013 11:29:57 PM

urstill wrote:

Does depositing via ATM issue a duly stamped and signed receipt or slip for the landlord and headmasters?

Carrying of the slips home is also difficult if you are not a regular banking or depositing type i.e. atmost weekly.

#11 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 6:39:58 AM

Amores wrote:
urstill wrote:

aaargh it was late and I was tired and sleepy how many other times has anyone ever complained of my shortening of words...and I am the xaxa generation btw...xoxo.
#12 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 8:12:20 AM

Amores wrote:
urstill wrote:

aaargh it was late and I was tired and sleepy how many other times has anyone ever complained of my shortening of words...and I am the xaxa generation btw...xoxo.

smile When you are too tired,leave it and type the following day! xoxo then
#13 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 9:31:47 AM

Amores wrote:
urstill wrote:

Kwani what has cucu done??
gregory
#14 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 10:45:20 AM

My experience was where i had gone to deposit some cash. Some guy was peeping on the slip that i was filling.

Another guy on the right, was borrowing me my pen, and the other one on the left was just 'sliding' closer to me trying to see what i was writing. After i finished, i gave the pen to the one who was borrowing and told him to bring it to me on the queue.

Surprisingly, the guy just brought the pen back to me after a minute and left together with the other guy who was on the left.

After i left the bank is when i reasoned and suspected that they may be those thug who follow people after withdrawing good amount of money and rob you at gun point.
I don't know why they could have picked on me since i never dress like someone who can carry more than 10K. But perhaps i can blame my ka utambi.

I was lucky i was depositing and not withdrawing.

i have seen a very casually dressed muhindi deposit more than a million in cash!! and he was carrying the money in a pouch inside those green marikiti paperbags. things are not always what they seem
#15 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 10:54:52 AM

Amores wrote:
urstill wrote:

xoxo means hugs and kisses? Wazua ina mambo!
#16 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 10:58:28 AM

This theft is evil but not scary. The scary one is the collusion between bank employees and robbers. You withdraw OTC then are kidnapped, roughed up and robbed of your cash. Tough times
chepkel
#17 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 11:14:16 AM

Amores wrote:
urstill wrote:

xoxo means hugs and kisses? Wazua ina mambo!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

DIVERSION!!!!!!!
#18 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 11:32:33 AM

There is a day my wallet moved.....and I wondered how I moved without unconsiouly....kumbe!!!!
Outvestor
#19 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 11:44:23 AM

Does depositing via ATM issue a duly stamped and signed receipt or slip for the landlord and headmasters?

Are there banks that accept ATM deposits into 3rd party bank accounts?

For my bank (SCB) you can only do that into your own account since you need the account's ATM card.

Otherwise, agency banking also comes to our aid for those banks that have embraced this idea.
¡ʇɹoɟɟǝ ƃuıɟɟǝ ǝɥʇ ɹoɟ ɥɔnɯ os ؛uıɐʌ uı ɔıqɐɹɐ ƃuıuɹɐǝן pǝıɹʇ ı
#20 Posted : Wednesday, July 24, 2013 11:56:41 AM

Why am i reading Safety in LANDING halls!!!!