Hard times ahead
butterflyke wrote:InnovateGuy wrote:Lolest! wrote:butterflyke wrote:some discussions on hard times here i was having a conversation with someone yesterday and he said that he feels that the current govt seems to be going for the middle class jugular....i don't know how analytical that statement is but hii mambo ya taxation mingi inaleta wasi wasi @innovateguy ako wapi? I don't prepare government budgets, but people should be happy when they pay taxes. There's a lot of untaxed wealth flowing around. it is a patriotic duty to pay tax, tax collected is supposed to be used to serve the nation so no qualms with paying. what seems to be unsettling some citizens is the fact that tax changes are mushrooming all around us and we cant help the feeling that it is 'too much'. on another point, if the same efforts being exerted to tax wananchi were being exerted to curb irresponsible expenditure, may be it wouldn't hurt so much. but if i pay income tax, import duty mara sijui levy, then 10-30% of rental income, VAT on essential goods, sijui excise duty, etc and then ga'ament spends it to buy silk curtains etc  sidhani Point taken. Lets pay first and ask the government to spend our taxes well. If they don't do a good job, you have the voters card (acknowledgement slip) to kick out the top leadership.
ION, in some Scandinavian countries you can pay up to 80 % of income in taxes. Food for thought. Live Full Die Empty - Les Brown.
wairegi wrote:It very clear that things are going to be hard and really hard.
Please take note; 1. 1.5% on all imports. Calling it railway development levy 2. VAT on essential goods that were zero rated before. 3. Just received a mail from my bank that there is going to be 10% excise duty.
Choices indeed have consequences.
Add to that the proposed up to 18,000/= PER MONTH to the NSSF thugs! This UhuRuto government will finish us! I don't know why some people are supporting some of the government proposals blindly! I keep saying, they should have sealed the loopholes first, eliminated wastage and provided services with the available resources before asking us for more! We are currently being asked to fund wastage and corruption!!! Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/19/2010 Posts: 1,308 Location: nairobi metropolitan
MaichBlack wrote:wairegi wrote:It very clear that things are going to be hard and really hard.
Please take note; 1. 1.5% on all imports. Calling it railway development levy 2. VAT on essential goods that were zero rated before. 3. Just received a mail from my bank that there is going to be 10% excise duty.
Add to that the proposed up to 18,000/= PER MONTH to the NSSF thugs! This UhuRuto government will finish us! I don't know why some people are supporting some of the government proposals blindly! I keep saying, they should have sealed the loopholes first, eliminated wastage and provided services with the available resources before asking us for more! We are currently being asked to fund wastage and corruption!!! Plus the 2k or so for nhif, at this rate, things can only be worse. Democracy does not belong to the dead
InnovateGuy wrote:butterflyke wrote:InnovateGuy wrote:Lolest! wrote:butterflyke wrote:some discussions on hard times here i was having a conversation with someone yesterday and he said that he feels that the current govt seems to be going for the middle class jugular....i don't know how analytical that statement is but hii mambo ya taxation mingi inaleta wasi wasi @innovateguy ako wapi? I don't prepare government budgets, but people should be happy when they pay taxes. There's a lot of untaxed wealth flowing around. it is a patriotic duty to pay tax, tax collected is supposed to be used to serve the nation so no qualms with paying. what seems to be unsettling some citizens is the fact that tax changes are mushrooming all around us and we cant help the feeling that it is 'too much'. on another point, if the same efforts being exerted to tax wananchi were being exerted to curb irresponsible expenditure, may be it wouldn't hurt so much. but if i pay income tax, import duty mara sijui levy, then 10-30% of rental income, VAT on essential goods, sijui excise duty, etc and then ga'ament spends it to buy silk curtains etc  sidhani Point taken. Lets pay first and ask the government to spend our taxes well. If they don't do a good job, you have the voters card (acknowledgement slip) to kick out the top leadership.
ION, in some Scandinavian countries you can pay up to 80 % of income in taxes. Food for thought. They pay but things work...i wouldnt mind paying even 50% but if i do things shud work like clockwork... possunt quia posse videntur
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/2/2009 Posts: 2,458 Location: Nairobi
Magigi wrote:newfarer wrote:wairegi wrote:It very clear that things are going to be hard and really hard.
Please take note; 1. 1.5% on all imports. Calling it railway development levy 2. VAT on essential goods that were zero rated before. 3. Just received a mail from my bank that there is going to be 10% excise duty. Same Choices indeed have consequences.
I was just thinking of the hard time ahead. politically.I'm afraid. ...went to Kenya Power today to apply for power ya rural...Was told connection fee is now ksh 70,000 from Ksh 34,000...Meter separation ksh 20,000 from ksh 6,000....Nitangoja ile power itakuja na laptops!!! Meanwhile i will negotiate with a neighbour 'nitupe wire' huko kwake...Absolute nonsense!!! Ha you underestimate the ego of the high nosed disillusioned middle class Kenyan. prepare to hear things like " so a guy me i borrowed some chumz from my bank. Finished stuffing the new digz..walked to Kenya Power lipad the 70k.. ongezead an'aa 40k for sijui what.. nini nini.. next day thet fikad and fixed my stimaz. You guy theaz no way i was gonna miss the 7'circuit coz of being in shagz... infact you jua its F1 Starting after the circuits.. then Ive started watching bungee jumping n it only shows on gotv.. so now i have to go pay for ma dstv and go az welll" Mblo...sota vile ulizaliwa.... SOLO. a
Lipeni ushuru, the number or rangerovers and bentleys in Nrb has risen so much so shh...you're rich "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
InnovateGuy wrote:
Point taken. Lets pay first and ask the government to spend our taxes well. If they don't do a good job, you have the voters card (acknowledgement slip) to kick out the top leadership.
ION, in some Scandinavian countries you can pay up to 80 % of income in taxes. Food for thought.
LAUGHABLE!!!I will repeat an analogy I gave some time back. If no matter how much pocket money you give your son it doesn't seem enough because he wastes it on drugs, alcohol, women, "heppy" etc., you don't break your back to get him more. The fellow has to reform!!! You might actually have to reduce the pocket money drastically!!! Here is another one. If you have an alcoholic relative and he wants you to give him some money so that he can "start a business", he has to totally clean up before you can part with your money. Better yet, he should use the little he has to start the business and then you can lend/give him money to expand. Even banks are more willing to lend to you if they can see what you did with the previous loan. BOTH the central goverment and county goverments are TOTALLY wasteful and corruption is still rife! Why should I get back into my pockets? The money lost to corruption and wastage is FAR MUCH MORE than the extra money they are seeking to raise through additional taxes. And even those additional taxes will go down the same drains!!! Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
githundi wrote:MaichBlack wrote:wairegi wrote:It very clear that things are going to be hard and really hard.
Add to that the proposed up to 18,000/= PER MONTH to the NSSF thugs! This UhuRuto government will finish us! I don't know why some people are supporting some of the government proposals blindly! I keep saying, they should have sealed the loopholes first, eliminated wastage and provided services with the available resources before asking us for more! We are currently being asked to fund wastage and corruption!!! Plus the 2k or so for nhif, at this rate, things can only be worse. Wapi Kefake??? Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/19/2010 Posts: 3,504 Location: Uganda
MaichBlack wrote:InnovateGuy wrote:
Point taken. Lets pay first and ask the government to spend our taxes well. If they don't do a good job, you have the voters card (acknowledgement slip) to kick out the top leadership.
ION, in some Scandinavian countries you can pay up to 80 % of income in taxes. Food for thought.
LAUGHABLE!!!I will repeat an analogy I gave some time back. If no matter how much pocket money you give your son it doesn't seem enough because he wastes it on drugs, alcohol, women, "heppy" etc., you don't break your back to get him more. The fellow has to reform!!! You might actually have to reduce the pocket money drastically!!! Here is another one. If you have an alcoholic relative and he wants you to give him some money so that he can "start a business", he has to totally clean up before you can part with your money. Better yet, he should use the little he has to start the business and then you can lend/give him money to expand. Even banks are more willing to lend to you if they can see what you did with the previous loan. BOTH the central goverment and county goverments are TOTALLY wasteful and corruption is still rife! Why should I get back into my pockets? The money lost to corruption and wastage is FAR MUCH MORE than the extra money they are seeking to raise through additional taxes. And even those additional taxes will go down the same drains!!! the political part of my fear is that what you are saying here could earn you a call from serious crime department for destabilizing the government and the willing middlecolass will happily clap for a job well done. never mind that catching the city Hopper carjackers is such a puzzle.yet kimaiyo claims to know they board the buses in the morning and evening atleast kibaki let us say what we wanted to say. punda amecheka
newfarer wrote:the political part of my fear is that what you are saying here could earn you a call from serious crime department for destabilizing the government and the willing middleclass will happily clap for a job well done. never mind that catching the city Hopper carjackers is such a puzzle.yet kimaiyo claims to know they board the buses in the morning and evening And even worse, he gives us a list of areas of Nairobi we should avoid because they are crime - prone!!! Bloody hell!!! I thought you are the top cop! If you know exactly where these thugs operate from, go get them! And you don't inform them in advance you already know where they operate from!!! Even if our police are so ill trained, they can just watch CI, CSI, Criminal Minds etc. Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
MaichBlack wrote:newfarer wrote:the political part of my fear is that what you are saying here could earn you a call from serious crime department for destabilizing the government and the willing middleclass will happily clap for a job well done. never mind that catching the city Hopper carjackers is such a puzzle.yet kimaiyo claims to know they board the buses in the morning and evening And even worse, he gives us a list of areas of Nairobi we should avoid because they are crime - prone!!! Bloody hell!!! I thought you are the top cop! If you know exactly where these thugs operate from, go get them! And you don't inform them in advance you already know where they operate from!!! Even if our police are so ill trained, they can just watch CI, CSI, Criminal Minds etc. Btw Kimayo for real is just a joke....a very big one. possunt quia posse videntur
All the excitement and hope for the rural electrification is now gone. I don't know how much they are now charging for 3 phase connections. They haven't fulfilled any single promise they had on but have started making life real hard for the citizenry. Crime rate is very high and people are hacking each day in day out. Nothing is happening in the county governments and we still have the PC dinosaurs and former PS still taking pay. poundfoolish wrote:Magigi wrote:newfarer wrote:wairegi wrote:It very clear that things are going to be hard and really hard.
Please take note; 1. 1.5% on all imports. Calling it railway development levy 2. VAT on essential goods that were zero rated before. 3. Just received a mail from my bank that there is going to be 10% excise duty. Same Choices indeed have consequences.
I was just thinking of the hard time ahead. politically.I'm afraid. ...went to Kenya Power today to apply for power ya rural...Was told connection fee is now ksh 70,000 from Ksh 34,000...Meter separation ksh 20,000 from ksh 6,000....Nitangoja ile power itakuja na laptops!!! Meanwhile i will negotiate with a neighbour 'nitupe wire' huko kwake...Absolute nonsense!!! Ha you underestimate the ego of the high nosed disillusioned middle class Kenyan. prepare to hear things like " so a guy me i borrowed some chumz from my bank. Finished stuffing the new digz..walked to Kenya Power lipad the 70k.. ongezead an'aa 40k for sijui what.. nini nini.. next day thet fikad and fixed my stimaz. You guy theaz no way i was gonna miss the 7'circuit coz of being in shagz... infact you jua its F1 Starting after the circuits.. then Ive started watching bungee jumping n it only shows on gotv.. so now i have to go pay for ma dstv and go az welll" Mblo...sota vile ulizaliwa.... SOLO. a
wairegi wrote:
Please take note; 1. 1.5% on all imports. Calling it railway development levy
This %tage is from the value of goods @ port. Example: if you import a car worthy kshs 450,000.00 then you pay 6,750.00 together with taxes and other levies applicable. ukiona choo kwa ndoto usiingie, ni mtego!
When you choose to vote for the new constitution, increasing the MPigs, a top up with some women reps and senetors; you choose to pay for them.
When you choose to have county gabanas and reps and county cabinet without a clear mandate of their roles and those of the so called National Govt and unclear provincial administration; you choose to have your money wasted.
Stop Whinning and Say YES?!. You made the decision and any goverment had to increase taxes to "fund" the implemetation of the constitution you so overwhelmingly voted for.
Rank: Member Joined: 7/16/2010 Posts: 158 Location: world
InnovateGuy wrote:butterflyke wrote:InnovateGuy wrote:Lolest! wrote:butterflyke wrote:some discussions on hard times here i was having a conversation with someone yesterday and he said that he feels that the current govt seems to be going for the middle class jugular....i don't know how analytical that statement is but hii mambo ya taxation mingi inaleta wasi wasi @innovateguy ako wapi? I don't prepare government budgets, but people should be happy when they pay taxes. There's a lot of untaxed wealth flowing around. it is a patriotic duty to pay tax, tax collected is supposed to be used to serve the nation so no qualms with paying. what seems to be unsettling some citizens is the fact that tax changes are mushrooming all around us and we cant help the feeling that it is 'too much'. on another point, if the same efforts being exerted to tax wananchi were being exerted to curb irresponsible expenditure, may be it wouldn't hurt so much. but if i pay income tax, import duty mara sijui levy, then 10-30% of rental income, VAT on essential goods, sijui excise duty, etc and then ga'ament spends it to buy silk curtains etc  sidhani Point taken. Lets pay first and ask the government to spend our taxes well. If they don't do a good job, you have the voters card (acknowledgement slip) to kick out the top leadership.
ION, in some Scandinavian countries you can pay up to 80 % of income in taxes. Food for thought. They pay 80% but services provided are OK. Meanwhile I'm Having the second unscheduled power blackout in a fortnight and I'm sure there is some scheduled power interruptions in the pipeline. How can the country attain vision 2030 like this?
And is it true that it is the IMF that is really pushing hard for this VAT Bill? The GOK has been told that we shall give you so many $$$$$ if you collect so much from VAT?
mdudu wrote:InnovateGuy wrote:butterflyke wrote:InnovateGuy wrote:Lolest! wrote:butterflyke wrote:some discussions on hard times here i was having a conversation with someone yesterday and he said that he feels that the current govt seems to be going for the middle class jugular....i don't know how analytical that statement is but hii mambo ya taxation mingi inaleta wasi wasi @innovateguy ako wapi? I don't prepare government budgets, but people should be happy when they pay taxes. There's a lot of untaxed wealth flowing around. it is a patriotic duty to pay tax, tax collected is supposed to be used to serve the nation so no qualms with paying. what seems to be unsettling some citizens is the fact that tax changes are mushrooming all around us and we cant help the feeling that it is 'too much'. on another point, if the same efforts being exerted to tax wananchi were being exerted to curb irresponsible expenditure, may be it wouldn't hurt so much. but if i pay income tax, import duty mara sijui levy, then 10-30% of rental income, VAT on essential goods, sijui excise duty, etc and then ga'ament spends it to buy silk curtains etc  sidhani Point taken. Lets pay first and ask the government to spend our taxes well. If they don't do a good job, you have the voters card (acknowledgement slip) to kick out the top leadership.
ION, in some Scandinavian countries you can pay up to 80 % of income in taxes. Food for thought. They pay 80% but services provided are OK. Meanwhile I'm Having the second unscheduled power blackout in a fortnight and I'm sure there is some scheduled power interruptions in the pipeline. How can the country attain vision 2030 like this? Non pays 80%!!!.....otherwise support with facts!!! How much do we pay: 30% PAYE + 16% VAT + 10% Excise and now the new ones, kama sio 1.5%, ni 2.5%, mara NHIF mara more for NSSF, mara for Mpesea transaction, mara for bank withdrawals......jeeeez!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rank: Member Joined: 8/2/2010 Posts: 480 Location: chokoo
Jaina wrote:When you choose to vote for the new constitution, increasing the MPigs, a top up with some women reps and senetors; you choose to pay for them.
When you choose to have county gabanas and reps and county cabinet without a clear mandate of their roles and those of the so called National Govt and unclear provincial administration; you choose to have your money wasted.
Stop Whinning and Say YES?!. You made the decision and any goverment had to increase taxes to "fund" the implemetation of the constitution you so overwhelmingly voted for.
jaina  so well said. they all had to come with increased taxes as it is a 'bloated' government. the 'YES' movement didn't phantom this bit. well for now the shoe has to pinch.
McReggae wrote:mdudu wrote:InnovateGuy wrote:butterflyke wrote:InnovateGuy wrote:Lolest! wrote:butterflyke wrote:some discussions on hard times here i was having a conversation with someone yesterday and he said that he feels that the current govt seems to be going for the middle class jugular....i don't know how analytical that statement is but hii mambo ya taxation mingi inaleta wasi wasi @innovateguy ako wapi? I don't prepare government budgets, but people should be happy when they pay taxes. There's a lot of untaxed wealth flowing around. it is a patriotic duty to pay tax, tax collected is supposed to be used to serve the nation so no qualms with paying. what seems to be unsettling some citizens is the fact that tax changes are mushrooming all around us and we cant help the feeling that it is 'too much'. on another point, if the same efforts being exerted to tax wananchi were being exerted to curb irresponsible expenditure, may be it wouldn't hurt so much. but if i pay income tax, import duty mara sijui levy, then 10-30% of rental income, VAT on essential goods, sijui excise duty, etc and then ga'ament spends it to buy silk curtains etc  sidhani Point taken. Lets pay first and ask the government to spend our taxes well. If they don't do a good job, you have the voters card (acknowledgement slip) to kick out the top leadership.
ION, in some Scandinavian countries you can pay up to 80 % of income in taxes. Food for thought. They pay 80% but services provided are OK. Meanwhile I'm Having the second unscheduled power blackout in a fortnight and I'm sure there is some scheduled power interruptions in the pipeline. How can the country attain vision 2030 like this? Non pays 80%!!!.....otherwise support with facts!!! How much do we pay: 30% PAYE + 16% VAT + 10% Excise and now the new ones, kama sio 1.5%, ni 2.5%, mara NHIF mara more for NSSF, mara for Mpesea transaction, mara for bank withdrawals......jeeeez!!! Meant even if they pay. I know that the highest proposal for taxation was 75% on very high earners by French President Hollande but I doubt whether the proposal was implemented. But the Scandinavians generally have high tax rates with attendant high standards of living.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/17/2010 Posts: 1,163 Location: Sudan
One of the reasons why the French had the famous Revolution in 1789 was the taxation burden on the Third Estate, coupled with wastage by King Louis XVI and the clergy. If people dont learn from history, its gonna repeat itself relatively soon, instead of wasting time on Raila's aide the government should address the real issues affecting common man. Revolutions by the way are never political, they are mainly economic-class struggles that are expressed politically. And peasants and middle class are a very dangerous lot to play politics with, when they are hungry. "Peace is our profession, War is our business" ...Unknown
Hard times ahead