wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Eat insects, scientists urge Africa!!
#1 Posted : Friday, July 19, 2013 9:34:15 AM

Think in terms of roasted beetles, fried cockroaches, boiled crickets or even steamed grasshoppers ....

Rink ..Daily Nation pg 30
#2 Posted : Friday, July 19, 2013 9:44:05 AM

Kwani what have we been eating all this while?

If people eat hyenas, what else isn't edible?

Insects are full of proteins,so let me smash this roach for Brunch.
#3 Posted : Friday, July 19, 2013 10:15:08 AM

vinii wrote:
Think in terms of roasted beetles, fried cockroaches, boiled crickets or even steamed grasshoppers ....

BS!!!!So is that what makes their foods have taste??
#4 Posted : Friday, July 19, 2013 10:32:56 AM

Kaigangio wrote:
vinii wrote:

BS!!!!So is that what makes their foods have taste??

This word 'BS'with !!! makes me shudder.
Anyway,I think,if they added royco/salt to their tasteless insect stew it will taste better.

They can also be stir -fried and salted for the crunchy/crispy taste and eaten as snack.

#5 Posted : Friday, July 19, 2013 10:43:24 AM

@vinii we've been eating insects even before these whites stepped in our continent. Nothing new here.
Sema termites, grasshoppers, weevils, roaches (how many roaches have you swallowed in your cockroaches invested house, which have died in your food?) etc

China eat anything moving, apart from veicles and aeroplanes...

NOTE: EAT ONLY GOOD FOOD

Quran 16:114
therefore eat of what allah has given you, lawful and good (things), and give thanks for allah's favor if him do you serve

Quran 5:96
lawful to you is the game of the sea and its food, a provision for you and for the travellers

Quran 5:3
forbidden to you is that which dies of itself,
and blood,
and flesh of swine (pork),
and that on which any other name than that of allah has been invoked,
and the strangled (animal)
and that beaten to death,
and that killed by a fall
and that killed by being smitten with the horn,
and that which wild beasts have eaten,
except what you slaughter,
and what is sacrificed on stones set up (for idols)
and that you divide by the arrows;
that is a transgression
streetwise
#6 Posted : Friday, July 19, 2013 11:52:53 AM

We know which insects are good..for food..mostly eaten by the poor..
The Mzugu is telling us guys even in Hilton and Nakumatt and other high class areas stock and eat..just like the poor.
#7 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 12:08:14 PM

so... instead of investing in science, instead of investing in irrigation. we are not to eat insects! ndio tujustify label ya "backwards".
Tuende full cycle kwanza!
#8 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 12:10:13 PM

And cockroaches are on the list of the insects that we should eat. They should lead by example
MADE
#9 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 12:18:47 PM

...Someone has to visit Luanda mkt in Emuhaya to realise that some insects (white ants)are already a local delicacy
Age is transforming me into an Elder;becoz Admin hasn't made me one.
#10 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 1:10:40 PM

This is not mzungu stuff. Across the border, the Ugandans love musenene(grasshoppers). A delicacy sold at expensive prices. They look bad but taste great.
#11 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 1:50:27 PM

who told them to look for solutions for us? hii ni kujituma tuma.
#12 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 2:12:01 PM

I am trying to find a way to sneak Raila into this thread... oops! I just did!
#13 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 3:16:16 PM

I am trying to find a way to sneak Raila into this thread... oops! I just did!

Did he pay several drums of termites as dowry for Ida (she's said to be from ingo)?
#14 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 3:23:37 PM

@vinii we've been eating insects even before these whites stepped in our continent. Nothing new here.
Sema termites, grasshoppers, weevils, roaches (how many roaches have you swallowed in your cockroaches invested house, which have died in your food?) etc

China eat anything moving, apart from veicles and aeroplanes...

#15 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 3:35:24 PM

MADE wrote:
...Someone has to visit Luanda mkt in Emuhaya to realise that some insects (white ants)are already a local delicacy

Drool Drool Drool passed there once and had my fill...

ION, I read somewhere, you are advised to eat insects without bright colours. Those with bright colours (red, yellow, blue, orange) are apparently very poisonous...the dul coloured are edible...Any reviews on this?
#16 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 6:48:12 PM

who told them to look for solutions for us? hii ni kujituma tuma.

they are already part of african diet!!