wazua Thu, Jan 16, 2025

13 Pages«<89101112>»
Kenol Kobil deal off!
hisah
#181 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 9:40:06 AM

the deal wrote:
@hisah Kenol will not go below 7bob even if H1 2013 earnings dissapoints...people are expecting the Company to collapse...the headlines have been too bearish...any good news going forward will send the stock surging...in the 2011 bear run if my portfolio wasnt heavily skewed to KK...I will have suffered heavy paper losses...let everything rally...I will exit my other positions and take a heavy position on KK in anticipation for a buy out...every market event is an opportunity...it depends on how you view it...and I fully support the board for delaying the sell....let them create or unlock value first...then invite the highest bidder...in the next 2-3 years there will be a bear run at the NSE....and if the takeover is sealed at that time...KK will have many groupies....

I agree with the management plans as well as the bear mood. But I don't agree kk will not go below 7. I'd rather wait for the trend to shift than catch a falling knife.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
the deal
#182 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 10:23:56 AM

hisah wrote:
the deal wrote:
@hisah Kenol will not go below 7bob even if H1 2013 earnings dissapoints...people are expecting the Company to collapse...the headlines have been too bearish...any good news going forward will send the stock surging...in the 2011 bear run if my portfolio wasnt heavily skewed to KK...I will have suffered heavy paper losses...let everything rally...I will exit my other positions and take a heavy position on KK in anticipation for a buy out...every market event is an opportunity...it depends on how you view it...and I fully support the board for delaying the sell....let them create or unlock value first...then invite the highest bidder...in the next 2-3 years there will be a bear run at the NSE....and if the takeover is sealed at that time...KK will have many groupies....

I agree with the management plans as well as the bear mood. But I don't agree kk will not go below 7. I'd rather wait for the trend to shift than catch a falling knife.

Well in this business one can not say never...who knows you might be lucky and get 5bob smile....

Btwn have you seen how foreigners are quick to sell ermeging and frontier markets with each slight improvement of the U.S economy...in June yields on African eurobonds spiked...stocks were sold...its obvious the eurozone or the U.S economy will eventually improve...so what happens to African assets when foreigners eventually go home?
mwekez@ji
#183 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 5:28:32 PM

FUNKY wrote:
http://www.theeastafrican.co.ke/news/KenolKobil-puts-assets-up-for-sale-to-settle-debt--/-/2558/1913706/-/clkhfiz/-/index.html

Rich on this matter wrote:
I still believe that KenolKobil was an incredibly neat Fit for Puma Energy. And furthermore, I thought The Owners would have happily exchanged their shares in KenolKobil for shares in the enlarged Puma Energy.

The Journey back is going to be bumpy and more stretched out, in my view.

omwansa
#184 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 6:54:56 PM

I lack the nerves to purchase shares in a company making billions of losses
#185 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 8:51:47 PM

omwansa wrote:
I lack the nerves to purchase shares in a company making billions of losses

Karibu boss. There is what is called risk averse, who fall squarely there.
musonw
#186 Posted : Thursday, July 18, 2013 11:16:29 AM

jmbada wrote:
musonw wrote:
[quote=Afroblk]KenolKobil now selling assets! This is not good at all. Kisumu depot is one of their important depots for that region.

http://www.theeastafrica...0/-/287gw7/-/index.html[/quote]

The Depots for sale are storage not fuel depots. Not essential for business. The Kisumu terminal in KPC will be retained, its vital for their export business.

Pardon my ignorance, but what does that mean? Is Kenol importing crude to store in these depots? If not, then they are storing refined crude, popularly known as fuel. Unless they are storing other commodities such as grain?

It means that it was a warehouse for storage of non-fuel products. Whether maize or beans, its still a non-core asset. The only fuel depot for sale is in Sagana, and that's because the Mt. Kenya region can sufficiently be supplied by the depot in Nairobi. The Sagana depot was fed by trucks anyway and is not connected to the KPC so selling it off will have insignificant effects. I don't think any depots connected to KPC will be affected. Haya mambo yamefikiriwa... story in East African implies its haphazard but I don't think so.
#187 Posted : Thursday, July 18, 2013 11:28:57 AM

musonw wrote:
jmbada wrote:
musonw wrote:
[quote=Afroblk]KenolKobil now selling assets! This is not good at all. Kisumu depot is one of their important depots for that region.

The Depots for sale are storage not fuel depots. Not essential for business. The Kisumu terminal in KPC will be retained, its vital for their export business.

Pardon my ignorance, but what does that mean? Is Kenol importing crude to store in these depots? If not, then they are storing refined crude, popularly known as fuel. Unless they are storing other commodities such as grain?

It means that it was a warehouse for storage of non-fuel products. Whether maize or beans, its still a non-core asset. The only fuel depot for sale is in Sagana, and that's because the Mt. Kenya region can sufficiently be supplied by the depot in Nairobi. The Sagana depot was fed by trucks anyway and is not connected to the KPC so selling it off will have insignificant effects. I don't think any depots connected to KPC will be affected. Haya mambo yamefikiriwa... story in East African implies its haphazard but I don't think so.

I think the selling of the depots is in line with KK latest strategy of inventory management.

There is a change in how they used to control inventory...if you look at their FY report you will see a considerable reduction in Inventory which means the business of storing fuel is over....It is also risky to store fuel due to the price control.Thats my layman understanding of the issue.smile
Jamani
#188 Posted : Friday, July 19, 2013 9:53:21 AM

selah wrote:
musonw wrote:
jmbada wrote:
musonw wrote:

I think the selling of the depots is in line with KK latest strategy of inventory management.

There is a change in how they used to control inventory...if you look at their FY report you will see a considerable reduction in Inventory which means the business of storing fuel is over....It is also risky to store fuel due to the price control.Thats my layman understanding of the issue.smile

It could also be that during the negotiations with Puma, the depots although valued highly by Kenol, Puma disregard them hence part of the fall out. Kenol could have learned that selling depots separately makes economic sense and this leads to the start of preparation for sale Kenol in 2 years Of course not forgetting their financial predicaments.
I look at events that affected Accesskenya though not similar to Kenol but there is a pattern.
mwekez@ji
#189 Posted : Friday, July 19, 2013 10:11:52 AM

Cde Monomotapa
#190 Posted : Friday, July 19, 2013 10:36:27 AM

1.7-1.2=500M working cap. perhaps?
mwekez@ji
#191 Posted : Friday, July 19, 2013 10:44:49 AM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:

Good/Bad News

>Good News: Battles with refinary come to an end smile smile smile

>Bad News: Paying this pains especially knowing that refinary owes much more to KK Sad &KK hawana pesa Sad Hata hiyo 1.7B watapata kweli with the recent downgrade of credit rating Sad
Cde Monomotapa
#192 Posted : Friday, July 19, 2013 12:41:06 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:

Good/Bad News

>Bad News: Paying this pains especially knowing that refinary owes much more to KK Sad &KK hawana pesa Sad Hata hiyo 1.7B watapata kweli with the recent downgrade of credit rating Sad

That's why it's a private placement smile The book's probably built already.
#193 Posted : Friday, July 19, 2013 12:48:13 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:

Good/Bad News

So all the ukichwa ngumu by Segman was for nothing? KK will move forward now...

mwekez@ji
#194 Posted : Friday, July 19, 2013 1:25:31 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:

Good/Bad News

That's why it's a private placement smile The book's probably built already.

I notice that as at 31.12.2012 KK had KES 1.7B outstanding liability in its BS as CP which could have been paid by now since the papers have a 1 year tenor. So, basically this issue is to reload that #existing WC gap. …sasa ni kuanza kutafuta pesa ya kulipa kprl …. and dent the current P&L with this figure coz Segman dint make the provision Sad #This guy Segman #Nkt!!!
mwekez@ji
#195 Posted : Friday, July 19, 2013 1:29:59 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:

Good/Bad News

So all the ukichwa ngumu by Segman was for nothing? KK will move forward now...

mwekez@ji
#196 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 1:26:24 PM

#197 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 1:44:46 PM

You cant fight africa gavas and get away with it. Well done Ohana!!!
#198 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 2:04:38 PM

Any right thinking businessman knows it well, you DONT fight a government anywhere in this world.

One thing you need to ask yourself, in what way does the gover benefit by an investor failure? NONE

Aguytrying
#199 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 2:47:39 PM

Any right thinking businessman knows it well, you DONT fight a government anywhere in this world.

One thing you need to ask yourself, in what way does the gover benefit by an investor failure? NONE

one can be forgiven for thinking they are reading the name of the company wrong. kk settled with who, amicably? and dropped all charges? kk??
I like this new guy.
Im reading between the lines here, iko kitu hapa.
kk is gava and all the concerned ministries and oil bodies friendly! go figure
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Meduza
#200 Posted : Monday, July 22, 2013 3:15:03 PM

Aguytrying wrote:

one can be forgiven for thinking they are reading the name of the company wrong. kk settled with who, amicably? and dropped all charges? kk??
I like this new guy.
Im reading between the lines here, iko kitu hapa.
kk is gava and all the concerned ministries and oil bodies friendly! go figure

yes was glad to read this...now they can participate in tenders
You cant win, unless you first begin....