wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

HB level
#21 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 6:34:23 PM

C&P
Your low iron level may be caused by a serious underlying problem, such as a bleeding ulcer or colon cancer. These other problems need different treatment than iron pills.

RINK

#22 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 6:37:43 PM

@ impunity am not God so let it pass.

jguru wrote:
Essie, you are not necessarily unwell.

If the thorough blood test means a blood Haemoglobin (Hb) test done from pricking a finger, then it cannot have been very thorough. Why not pick a big vein in your arm and draw blood for a complete blood count and a blood smear?
That's what happened,it was from vein.
The finger one was cz I heard a rumour about a funny 'cough causing virus' doing the rounds,so i insisted on doing it.
lol talk of panic,I am good.Laughing out loudly

Well, medical conclusions should be drawn from tests from reputable institutions.
I am covered.it was a reputable one.

Normal HB levels in our setting, in a lady, are between 8 and 14. Having a Hb of 7 does not portend the end of the world.
Aha am safe.

It will take you 3-4 months of 10mls Once-A-Day of Ranferon/Saferon (oral ferrous sulphate) to raise your Hb by 2 Units. You will need to take it for about 6 months to replenish your iron stores. I don't know why you got a ferrous sulphate prescription anyway. If there was no CBC test with MCV (Mean Corpuscular Volume) and MCHC (Mean Cell Hemoglobin Concentration) values, then how did they arrive at Iron Deficiency Anemia?
Gosh nini hii sasa?? layman's language?

Actually, the task at hand is to know 1. Where your body is losing blood from 2. What is destroying your blood cells 3. Is your bone marrow producing your blood cells as efficiently as it should.

I am so energetic you wouldn't believe.
nitakula fish mingi

#23 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 7:18:40 PM

I think @ impunity has apologised,so no need to go again about it.And i am sure he has noted the concerns of the people on this forum,that even if we see things,we do not have to say them.
So move on to advice @ essyke and ignore @ Impunity's comments.
#24 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 7:28:47 PM

@ Guru,
He applauds when a male MP hits a woman in parliament.
Proudly describes how AK's hubby pours hot water on her back.
I often wonder why a man would rejoice at evil metted out on females or worse why he attacks females all the time.

Me attacking females? All the time? You don't me.
Never ever have I done so.
My only weakness is that I see things the way they are.
Pole sana. I have since withdrawn, can a person be forgiven?
Not talking

A joke that failed to fly .........

Hope you have learnt something from this episode.

@essyk wewe hapana ngonjwa.Talk to a nutrishonist for the diet to increase hiyo damu naturally.Exercise and diet will be of great help in addition to the medical prescription.
#25 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 8:07:59 PM

Gal you will be fine. I am medically challenged so no comments.
#26 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 8:13:30 PM

Nice to see wazua sisto luv!!!
#27 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 8:16:57 PM

@ Guru,
He applauds when a male MP hits a woman in parliament.
Proudly describes how AK's hubby pours hot water on her back.
I often wonder why a man would rejoice at evil metted out on females or worse why he attacks females all the time.

Reading yours now.

Rankaz13 wrote:

@kysse, kwanza pole zangu. I presume you're a socket smile , right? A Hb level of 7 is recipe for disaster my dear especially for a female (what with the usual biological processes, you know what I mean smile ) and you're lucky your doc didn't admit you. Seriously, Hb of 7 and below us considered anemia and is recipe for admission and subsequent blood transfusion.
I have hit 5 before,felt ok

hehehe...lucky gal you must be. Either that or your lab was inaccurate.smile

Without dwelling too much on the signs to look out for, most common ones include general lethargy and a feeling of 'tiredness' on exertion, so that one will constantly feel breathless and tired after a shirt flight of stairs (going up, not downsmile ), after a brisk walk or light jogging.
Suprisingly,I am a road runner with excess energy. I run up and down stairs,walk like lightning,fast in everything I do,I don't get easily fatigued until after I am done with work.Where does this extra energy come from?

By the way, it could be very possible that the test was not very accurate. How about you repeat the same, perhaps at a different lab just to confirm?

There are a variety of causes of anemia which I'll not necessarily dwell on. In an otherwise healthy individual, most common causes may be due to poor diet as well as bleeding (e.g after an injury/accident, or a bleeding gastric/duodenal ulcer) as well as biological (sockets),- ok now it will drop to 6.

Usikubali hiyo!!

I'd advise you to go for Zeefee syrup, it's packaged in a red/white box with a bottle shaped 'kama ya mzinga'. A 200ml bottle should cost in the region of 320-360 bob and will give you faster results than some of the competing brands. Take 10mls thrice daily.
Thank you ,I am definately going for it.
Should I stop the saferon intake when I start on zeerup? I take 1 x 2 tabs of saferon daily and began today.Is there anything like excess iron intake? consequences?

If you opt for Zeefee, you'll have to stop Saferon. There indeed is something like too much of a good thing when it comes to iron supplementation especially over a long period of time. Link.

It's important to note that citric acid improves iron absorption, hence if you have access to your citrus fruits, the better. There are some other formulations that contain ferrous citrate for that very reason. Also note that most of these formulations, in addition to the ferrous component, may also contain folate/folic acid as well as vitamin B12/cyanocobalamin. Reason is all these molecules are synergistic in so far as hemoglobin synthesis is concerned so they therefore are beneficial. By the time your body begins to exhibit iron deficiency, chances are very high that there are varying levels of deficiency of the other two too.
jargon nayo but somehow I understand.

That said, supplements are not for the long term. We need to look at your diet for that purpose. Need I emphasize on the iron-rich foods? Off the too of my head, liver and kidney (hizi kama hujui kupika hata afadhali uitishe recipe, I'll gladly give it),
I hate liver, kidneys,whether fried dry,barbequed or anything.They have this nauseating taste.
Can they be be marinated in say vinegar to get rid of the'taste'?
I love fish and chicken.Pray

In this regard, I'm afraid fish may not be of much help smile I dunno if it's possible to marinate them in vinegar but I guess it's worth a try. For me, I spice with rosemary, garlic and coriander.
spinach, boiled lentils, chicken and beans.
Those I am okay with.

You probably require both heme and non-heme (don't let the jargon scare you) sources. One of the links I gave you has that.

Lastly, ensure you deworm regularly (every 3months). Those little guys can cause anemia, not by sucking your blood but by nibbling on your body reserves of folate.
lol. How can one tell if they have worms when they look all healthy? no extended tummy,stomach aches,constipation skin rashes etc?

Not all cases of worms are accompanied by those signs, lol. Often one may have non-specific signs such as loss of appetite, bloating, constipation, etc. Anyway, an adult dose of either Mebendazole or Albendazole is less than 50/=.

Oh, and the dark stool coloration is because of iron excreted, either because you took too much or and your body being unable to absorb it perhaps due to the formulation it is in,etc.
Thank you for that.I was once told that,I will check the stool for discolouration,should I stop the intake it its disc?

Changing formulation, I believe, should sort you out on this.

I should perhaps emphasize here that you should not take your iron supplements within 2-3hrs of taking milk or antacids. The cations in them (calcium, magnesium, aluminium, etc) will chelate with the ferrous/ferric ions and render it useless.
Thank God I don't take milk.

Lactose intolerance? Anza kunywa pole pole. a warm glass of milk/yogurt just before bedtime will do you good.

Take a look at these websites ujionee:

webMD

McKinley

Thank you.
Amazing the amount of energy I have in me.

#28 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 8:19:55 PM

@ MCR.
Wachia hapo please.

@essyk wewe hapana ngonjwa.Talk to a nutrishonist for the diet to increase hiyo damu naturally.Exercise and diet will be of great help in addition to the medical prescription.

I have ordered lots of fresh fis from the lake to fill freezer

Gal you will be fine. I am medically challenged so no comments.

Angelica, -lots of love sis. As long as your spirit is alive,the condition is nothing.
What keeps us humans going forth is a strong will and spirit not the physical.
I almost lost a friend to lupus.Girl is a fighter ever smiling and strong.
She puts we healthy fellows to shame.
#29 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 8:27:54 PM

Honourable medics from guru,rankaz kamundu to manundu.

I went for a thorough blood test and mine turned out 7.
The doc didn't go into deep details,but gave me a 'like seriously? look,leaving me to ask him if I should book space kwa OB.
The nurse pricked my finger severally but only a dot came out.Had to really squeeeze it instead of having to prick all my fingers for blood.
He gave me Ranferon,which I turned down cz it tastes like real iron and makes one downloads dark,-why ?
Gave me Saferon instead.
What does Saferon do?

And what's normal blood level for an average adult female cz my energy levels are high.

Edited due to public misunderstanding!

Maybe am daft...whats wrong with this...
#30 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 8:31:07 PM

Honourable medics from guru,rankaz kamundu to manundu.

I went for a thorough blood test and mine turned out 7.
The doc didn't go into deep details,but gave me a 'like seriously? look,leaving me to ask him if I should book space kwa OB.
The nurse pricked my finger severally but only a dot came out.Had to really squeeeze it instead of having to prick all my fingers for blood.
He gave me Ranferon,which I turned down cz it tastes like real iron and makes one downloads dark,-why ?
Gave me Saferon instead.
What does Saferon do?

And what's normal blood level for an average adult female cz my energy levels are high.

Edited due to public misunderstanding!

Maybe am daft...whats wrong with this...

Eti you are daft....Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ...you reading the edited version mblo!!!!
#31 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 8:45:58 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:

By the way, it could be very possible that the test was not very accurate. How about you repeat the same, perhaps at a different lab just to confirm?

It's a good hospital.I went for check up cz I was was having a terrible headache.

In this regard, I'm afraid fish may not be of much help smile I dunno if it's possible to marinate them in vinegar but I guess it's worth a try. For me, I spice with rosemary, garlic and coriander.

You probably require both heme and non-heme (don't let the jargon scare you) sources. One of the links I gave you has that.

Heme and Non-Heme waa.ok

Not all cases of worms are accompanied by those signs, lol. Often one may have non-specific signs such as loss of appetite, bloating, constipation, etc. Anyway, an adult dose of either Mebendazole or Albendazole is less than 50/=.

Lactose intolerance? Anza kunywa pole pole. a warm glass of milk/yogurt just before bedtime will do you good.

sasa umeharibu.can't stand the smell of boiling milk.
Does coffee drain blood?
Been an addict just trying hard to stop.
I can't get past a coffee brewing shop,lazima ninywe.

#32 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 9:16:51 PM

jguru wrote:
Essie, you are not necessarily unwell.

If the thorough blood test means a blood Haemoglobin (Hb) test done from pricking a finger, then it cannot have been very thorough. Why not pick a big vein in your arm and draw blood for a complete blood count and a blood smear?
That's what happened,it was from vein.
The finger one was cz I heard a rumour about a funny 'cough causing virus' doing the rounds,so i insisted on doing it.
lol talk of panic,I am good.Laughing out loudly

Well, medical conclusions should be drawn from tests from reputable institutions.
I am covered.it was a reputable one.

Normal HB levels in our setting, in a lady, are between 8 and 14. Having a Hb of 7 does not portend the end of the world.
Aha am safe.

It will take you 3-4 months of 10mls Once-A-Day of Ranferon/Saferon (oral ferrous sulphate) to raise your Hb by 2 Units. You will need to take it for about 6 months to replenish your iron stores. I don't know why you got a ferrous sulphate prescription anyway. If there was no CBC test with MCV (Mean Corpuscular Volume) and MCHC (Mean Cell Hemoglobin Concentration) values, then how did they arrive at Iron Deficiency Anemia?
Gosh nini hii sasa?? layman's language?

Actually, the task at hand is to know 1. Where your body is losing blood from 2. What is destroying your blood cells 3. Is your bone marrow producing your blood cells as efficiently as it should.

I am so energetic you wouldn't believe.
nitakula fish mingi

So, it seems that it's a routine you go through quite often.

But two separate instances of low Hb (5 and 8) should concern you. That's chronic anaemia and it needs to be evaluated for the 3 things I mentioned above: bleeding, hemolysis, problems with blood formation.

I'll also assume due to your small frame, your body has some nutritional constitutional problems smile What you eat determines how your body functions. Improve your diet. You cannot be constantly on iron supplements.

Get it sorted. Anaemia makes your heart work harder and increases the tendency to bleed after injury.

Once in a while, stop being energetic. Sit on the couch all day, watch movies, eat burgers, nibble on some nuts and sip a tall glass of cold yoghurt.

BTW, from those tests what's your cholesterol level? Must be very low.
#33 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 9:17:03 PM

@ essyke, ma- hugs. I think you will be fine,i see the docs in the house have advised you well.Is it @ jguru who told you to go see another doc? I would do that if i were you.In patient centred practice,the dr. provides as much info as possible to the user/client.If your doc had that,you would not be here seeking advice( nothing wrong with that)so,go see a doc and get information about what exactly is the problem.
Get well soon!
#34 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 9:26:54 PM

Remember those high school debates that ended with 'Naomba uvuke sakafu kwa mwendo wa aste aste, ili tupinge mjadala...'
Come to our fermented foods section. Start making your own Vinegar(Si umeskia daktari ametaja), Kefir, Kvass, Kombucha(you can use the hibiscus tea) and Sauerkraut.
Combine these with super foods Moringa, Camel milk, Coconut oil, garlic, Cayenne, ginger, Aloe vera, spirulina.
Snack on almonds, pumpkin seeds, chia seeds and flax seeds.
Cook with either coconut oil or ghee only!
Moisturize with coconut oil and shea butter.
Brush your teeth with coconut oil and charcoal(food grade).
De-worm using black wormwood.
Bask atleast an hour every day.
Boil and filter your water.
Exercise. Don't forget resistance training even though you are a lady.
Laughter yoga
Emotional Freedom technique for emotional issues such as @impunity
Marry a real man to tengeneza that your airport
Avoid junk, processed food, maize products, wheat products, milk products(other than camel milk).. and you'll be well.

And most importantly, put God first in all that you do.. even this 'small' health issue.

PS: To the 'experts' will all these drugs you recommend increase her weight?

#35 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 9:28:13 PM

jguru wrote:

Once in a while, stop being energetic. Sit on the couch all day, watch movies, eat burgers. nibble on some nuts and sip a tall glass of cold yoghurt.
That life would kill me instead- no jokes.I am a workaholic.

BTW, from those tests what's your cholesterol level? Must be very low.

I didn't ask.
What are the physical signs to prove ones cholestrol levels?-high and low.
#36 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 9:33:24 PM

@Jguru... I am apologizing in advance for being a wet blanket, but you are second guessing your fellow doctor and yet you did not examine the patient or blood samples.....doesn't sit right with me. I am confident oou wouldn't want another fellow to do that to you.
#37 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 9:48:05 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
I'd advise you to go for Zeefee syrup, it's packaged in a red/white box with a bottle shaped 'kama ya mzinga'. A 200ml bottle should cost in the region of 320-360 bob and will give you faster results than some of the competing brands. Take 10mls thrice daily.
Thank you ,I am definately going for it.
Should I stop the saferon intake when I start on zeerup? I take 1 x 2 tabs of saferon daily and began today.Is there anything like excess iron intake? consequences?

If you opt for Zeefee, you'll have to stop Saferon. There indeed is something like too much of a good thing when it comes to iron supplementation especially over a long period of time.

Actually, if you take iron supplements for too long, or in large quantities, your Hb can go up to as much as 20.

Essie, to treat this polycythemia, you will be undressed and leeches placed on your body so that they can suck off the excess blood. This leech therapy is repeated until the Hb is back to normal. smile

Leeches!

#38 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 9:51:01 PM

Remember those high school debates that ended with 'Naomba uvuke sakafu kwa mwendo wa aste aste, ili tupinge mjadala...'
Come to our fermented foods section. Start making your own Vinegar(Si umeskia daktari ametaja), Kefir, Kvass, Kombucha(you can use the hibiscus tea) and Sauerkraut.
Combine these with super foods Moringa, Camel milk, Coconut oil, garlic, Cayenne, ginger, Aloe vera, spirulina.
Snack on almonds, pumpkin seeds, chia seeds and flax seeds.
Cook with either coconut oil or ghee only!

Moisturize with coconut oil and shea butter.
I use coconut.
Brush your teeth with coconut oil and charcoal(food grade).
charcoal food grade? which supermarket?
De-worm using black wormwood.
Bask at least an hour every day.
Boil and filter your water.
Exercise. Don't forget resistance training even though you are a lady.
Which one be this now?
Laughter yoga
That's natural God given,I laugh till I beg God to stop it.
Avoid junk, processed food, maize products, wheat products, milk products(other than camel milk).. and you'll be well.

And most importantly, put God first in all that you do.. even this 'small' health issue.

MUKIRI,Can you kindly mix Kefir, Kvass, Kombucha and Sauerkraut Moringa, Camel milk, Coconut oil, garlic, Cayenne, ginger, Aloe vera, spirulina. and quote the price?

I will gladly purchase 5 litres.
kombucha.smile
#39 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 9:53:25 PM

GURU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Pray Pray Pray Pray Pray Pray Pray Pray Pray

Why oh why have you decided to stress me with those pics?
Blood can be removed via vein or blood donation will do.
But Creepy crawling things sucking blood off one's body?
#40 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 9:53:26 PM

quicksand wrote:
@Jguru... I am apologizing in advance for being a wet blanket, but you are second guessing your fellow doctor and yet you did not examine the patient or blood samples.....doesn't sit right with me. I am confident oou wouldn't want another fellow to do that to you.

No need to apologise.

I wouldn't mind another professional second-guessing me. No harm at all in seeking a second opinion.

In life, and in most industries too, someone else will most often review the work and decisions of another person.