wazua Thu, May 14, 2026

Mother in-law mistreating father inlaw
commando
#1 Posted : Friday, July 19, 2013 10:40:27 AM

Jambo wazuas.

Nimejikaribisha mwenyewe na kuanza kupost. I have been a peeper for sometime and know abit about this forum.

I have one serious family issue, and being a jaduong, i cant keep quiet. I was recently told by my better half while in tears, that my real mum inlaw is mistreating my real father inlaw. They have been married for kidu 28 years. My father inlaw is a very cool man, in his early seventies now. He is seriously diabetic. He was a truck driver and took care of his family the best he could. He is a man who cannot harm an insect. Seemingly, when he was working, he was of value to the wife, but is useless now that he is old, sickly and diabetic. He sweats so much at night-the smelly sweat-till the pillow is drenched. He has to go to the gents severally at night. His health is failing fast.
For my mum -inlaw, this is the 3rd marriage. She is a very domineering lady and has caused some troubles in my house coz of her influence on her dota-my wife-but a jaduaong wouldn't be defeated. I managed to wade her off respectfully. Her daughter is not her type, she says its her mum, but she doesn't agree with her on many fronts. We would send money to her via mpesa, but our father-inlaw wouldnt be given anything. She is in her mid fifties, into county politics. Mzee is left at home, weak, not cooked for, neglected. Aunties, uncles somehow cant face her. Currently we are mpesaing the mzee directly.

what i would like to ask wazuans is
1. What do we do to get our mum inlaw understand that what she is doing is wrong and get her to treat mzee right.
2. Does this happen? Do old but stronger women neglect their much older/'useless' husbands at such a time of need?
3. Is this a character that can be 'seen' from a far as in, is it psb that my loving swty can possibly do the same to me?

Thanks wazuans again, indeed
“I believe that unarmed truth and unconditional love will have the final word in reality. That is why right, temporarily defeated, is stronger than evil triumphant.”
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
#2 Posted : Friday, July 19, 2013 10:55:34 AM

commando wrote:
Jambo wazuas. Yangu (Yetu) utaweza kweli?

I have been a peeper for sometime and know abit about this forum.

Could you be so very kind and go right back into the peeping hole from which you sprouted from.

Indeed.
#3 Posted : Friday, July 19, 2013 11:01:25 AM

You should first get him medicated...that may solve everything. Diabetics need to be treated.

Then secondly you should also pray hard, your wife doesn't treat you like that in 40 years time.

You know what they say, like mother like daughter, everytime!
commando
#4 Posted : Friday, July 19, 2013 12:16:19 PM

aemathenge wrote:
commando wrote:

Could you be so very kind and go right back into the peeping hole from which you sprouted from.

Indeed.

@aemathenge,

I believe a wazua member also peeps sometime, the time he is not logged in. But i really respect and appreciate the advice here, that is why am washing my dirty linen here!

So I will peep and post. Hope I wont offend you by posting!!
“I believe that unarmed truth and unconditional love will have the final word in reality. That is why right, temporarily defeated, is stronger than evil triumphant.”
commando
#5 Posted : Friday, July 19, 2013 12:21:44 PM

You should first get him medicated...that may solve everything. Diabetics need to be treated.

Then secondly you should also pray hard, your wife doesn't treat you like that in 40 years time.

You know what they say, like mother like daughter, everytime!

He is on medication, but picking up slowly. I know about the saying, i believe it wont happen in my marriage. Ok how we got married was another story. My half is well aware of her mothers past. We have had a candid discussion about it, and she says she will never be like her mum, and will disapprove the saying. Like in one of her aborted marriage, the hubby went to the US, nvr to return to her. She had no choice but to ... move on
#6 Posted : Friday, July 19, 2013 6:38:57 PM

commando wrote:
aemathenge wrote:
commando wrote:

Indeed.

@aemathenge,

I believe a wazua member also peeps sometime, the time he is not logged in. But i really respect and appreciate the advice here, that is why am washing my dirty linen here!

You believe. Geee.

I guess you believe that during the next chama meeting, you will post your wife's concerns about, well what-ever, as an agenda under any-other-business.

I guess that you will suggest that as part of the group constitution, a member shall be made to state his/her marital status including mipango ya kando and progeny inside and outside wedlock.

Oh. And yes, I shall take great exception in the event that you post your bedroom dirty linen on groups section of the Virtual Republic of Wazua. In any event, you do know a bit about the Republic, don't you?

I believe, my foot.

Indeed.
#7 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 1:15:43 AM

aemathenge wrote:
commando wrote:
aemathenge wrote:
commando wrote:

Indeed.

@aemathenge,

You believe. Geee.

I guess you believe that during the next chama meeting, you will post your wife's concerns about, well what-ever, as an agenda under any-other-business.

I guess that you will suggest that as part of the group constitution, a member shall be made to state his/her marital status including mipango ya kando and progeny inside and outside wedlock.

Oh. And yes, I shall take great exception in the event that you post your bedroom dirty linen on groups section of the Virtual Republic of Wazua. In any event, you do know a bit about the Republic, don't you?

I believe, my foot.

Indeed.

I see the welcoming committee has given you the usual rousing welcome Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Question: Why don't you and your wife take in the mzee? Under the pretext of getting him specialized care in the city? Also as a form of practice for your wife, incase you fall under the same predicament. Or if you are 'afraid' of doing the dirty work, hire and directly pay a nurse/care-giver

#8 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 5:08:42 AM

commando wrote:
Jambo wazuas.

Nimejikaribisha mwenyewe na kuanza kupost. I have been a peeper for sometime and know abit about this forum.

I have one serious family issue, and being a jaduong, i cant keep quiet. I was recently told by my better half while in tears, that my real mum inlaw is mistreating my real father inlaw. They have been married for kidu 28 years. My father inlaw is a very cool man, in his early seventies now. He is seriously diabetic. He was a truck driver and took care of his family the best he could. He is a man who cannot harm an insect. Seemingly, when he was working, he was of value to the wife, but is useless now that he is old, sickly and diabetic. He sweats so much at night-the smelly sweat-till the pillow is drenched. He has to go to the gents severally at night. His health is failing fast.
For my mum -inlaw, this is the 3rd marriage. She is a very domineering lady and has caused some troubles in my house coz of her influence on her dota-my wife-but a jaduaong wouldn't be defeated. I managed to wade her off respectfully. Her daughter is not her type, she says its her mum, but she doesn't agree with her on many fronts. We would send money to her via mpesa, but our father-inlaw wouldnt be given anything. She is in her mid fifties, into county politics. Mzee is left at home, weak, not cooked for, neglected. Aunties, uncles somehow cant face her. Currently we are mpesaing the mzee directly.

what i would like to ask wazuans is
1. What do we do to get our mum inlaw understand that what she is doing is wrong and get her to treat mzee right.
2. Does this happen? Do old but stronger women neglect their much older/'useless' husbands at such a time of need?
3. Is this a character that can be 'seen' from a far as in, is it psb that my loving swty can possibly do the same to me?

Thanks wazuans again, indeed

I choose to address that. Ordinarily, those are some of the symptoms of undiagnosed diabetes. If you say he's on medication but the symptoms still persist, it could be that the diabetes is poorly controlled. Management of diabetes is more than just the medication, there also are issues to do with diet and lifestyle modification.

The way I see it, you have no option but to take him in in the immediate short-term at least until the illness is well managed and his health begins to pick up. Under your roof and constant care, you'll be able to monitor his drug-taking habits as well as his diet so as to gauge adherence to prescribed treatment. Please remember that poorly controlled diabetes may eventually result in several other medical complications, all of which will compound one another. A stitch in time...

At the same time, the apparent neglect by his spouse could be stressing him out which obviously doesn't augur well in so far as managing his condition is concerned. Mchukue, ishi naye kwa muda, let him have some peace of mind for a while also and hope that, as he recuperates, a solution for you will emerge. For this purpose, you may also wanna involve his other children besides your wife.
#9 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 8:16:46 AM

move this to club sk health/life/culture. you will get serious advice
Mpenzi
#10 Posted : Saturday, July 20, 2013 9:42:01 AM

Move this to Club SK and you will get ready and real advice.