wazua Thu, May 14, 2026

police collections - kimaiyo please explain
#1 Posted : Thursday, July 18, 2013 3:25:01 PM

kasarani police raids two pubs in ngumba estate (thika road) yesterday and arrests over 40 patrons and some bar tenders. patrons are released today morning at a min rate of 2k per person, bar tenders at a rate of 5k. this money is obviously not receipted but a collection after an operation. the collection works out to a minimum of 90-100k from this single operation. this i understand takes place every night but target bars are different (some kind of round robin in the division). there could be parallel operations as well. Whose money is this? to finance laptop project, budget dificit or the officers welfare? Can kimaiyo explain this kitendawili??
Iganamagana
#2 Posted : Thursday, July 18, 2013 4:37:08 PM

What do you expect? Its Kasarani police the Cathedral of impunity.
tnai9
#3 Posted : Thursday, July 18, 2013 4:49:56 PM

kingfisher wrote:
kasarani police raids two pubs in ngumba estate (thika road) yesterday and arrests over 40 patrons and some bar tenders. patrons are released today morning at a min rate of 2k per person, bar tenders at a rate of 5k. this money is obviously not receipted but a collection after an operation. the collection works out to a minimum of 90-100k from this single operation. this i understand takes place every night but target bars are different (some kind of round robin in the division). there could be parallel operations as well. Whose money is this? to finance laptop project, budget dificit or the officers welfare? Can kimaiyo explain this kitendawili??

I know this area quite well. The beer in ngumba is described as having boarded beer trucks for <10min. The same cops, when they are called when thugs raid the same bars take 2hrs to come, NKTEST!!!!. This explains why I was in some average furniture place and a cop(seemed a corporal) came and placed an order for a bed of 60k. I was dumbfounded!!!. This money is just shared. The OCS will take the most loot, and the kyms get lunch
"The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts, while the stupid ones are full of confidence." ― Charles Bukowski
#4 Posted : Thursday, July 18, 2013 4:55:28 PM

kingfisher wrote:

There is a day those cops raided tortillas hapo USIU...if I can rem well they netted around 100 revellers...
Kwanini
#5 Posted : Thursday, July 18, 2013 5:23:55 PM

ha ha ha! so the mboys are back! Kasarani has a NOTORIOUS OCPD who is SAVED and does not partake alcohol. But EXTREMELY KORRUPT. atleast they have listened to our complain coz im May they would raid your joint, at kindu 10.55 pm : 2 cops undercover would be in the club as you close the doors- patrons were being released at a fee of 4k ; bartenders at 10k. I hear the money goes directly to HQ and the station is left with a discount for a job well done. usipotoa unajikuta kortini monday morning with trumped charges, sio ulevi. They are active on Fridays and Satos. But they target clubs which dont pay protection fee ... something will give at some point.
"For i am the master and the captain of my fate"
Kwanini
#6 Posted : Thursday, July 18, 2013 5:29:28 PM

but wewe king, in jan weren't u arrested for same crime?

ref: Wazua » SME » Legal » Arrested after hours
"For i am the master and the captain of my fate"
chepkel
#7 Posted : Thursday, July 18, 2013 6:19:37 PM

Thought, irrespective of the time, the only ones to be arrested are the owners of the pub or their representatives e.g bartender etc. I have tried reading the Mututho Law in search of situations where a drinker is in the wrong and I can not see anything about drinking past hours. Could someone please shed some light on this one.
Ngong
#8 Posted : Thursday, July 18, 2013 8:10:21 PM

Kwanini wrote:
ha ha ha! so the mboys are back! Kasarani has a NOTORIOUS OCPD who is SAVED and does not partake alcohol. But EXTREMELY KORRUPT. atleast they have listened to our complain coz im May they would raid your joint, at kindu 10.55 pm : 2 cops undercover would be in the club as you close the doors- patrons were being released at a fee of 4k ; bartenders at 10k. I hear the money goes directly to HQ and the station is left with a discount for a job well done. usipotoa unajikuta kortini monday morning with trumped charges, sio ulevi. They are active on Fridays and Satos. But they target clubs which dont pay protection fee ... something will give at some point.

SAVED policeman! if there was any he should have come out to expose the rot that is Kenya police.
By the way having been in Nairobi for many years,65% of serious crime is committed or aided by this officers.
NO WAY OUT FOR KENYANS NO MATTER THE REFORMS
#9 Posted : Thursday, July 18, 2013 10:42:49 PM

Welcome to the wild wild west,oops sorry, Kenya. If you have a friend who runs a matatu business, ask him what an 'operation' is then come back and report.

Hint: Traffic cops!!