wazua Sat, Jan 11, 2025

Mobile Apps
seppuku
#21 Posted : Thursday, March 14, 2013 2:14:49 PM

@ChessMaster

I once wrote a Windows Mobile app in C#. However, it was a specialized application for a single client rather than general-purpose mass market software. Windows Mobile is still a small market though - although that might change going into the future. Until that happens, I am rather disinclined to invest in it.

On a different note, I have mulled over a couple of ideas on how Kenyan app developers can make money in the absence of accessible app payment mechanisms. One rather interesting way would be to adopt the so called Pay What You Want (PWYW) pricing system.

In PWYW, you let people download your app for free but ask them to pay you, by any method of their choice, whatever amount of money they think your application is worth. That amount includes KES 0.00. If your application is sufficiently useful, you might get a couple of people sending you some cash for it. However, some may say that knowing Kenyans, this is a rather far-fetched strategy.

You could enhance this strategy by adding a charity rider to the proposition. Say you promise that 30% of the money raised from the app goes to support some worthy cause of your choice. If you wisely choose the cause, get the right NGOs to support and you have a killer app, you might be able to generate sufficient publicity to attract the numbers you need to make some decent cash out of your creation. That and the fact that it is such an elegantly win-win situation. Just thinking...
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
ChessMaster
#22 Posted : Thursday, March 14, 2013 7:48:28 PM

I expect windows phone to have an influential role in the market but you have the skills so no worry.

Your strategy just might work but not on large scale.There is also the perception that free is not good.Sometimes you price things even if its cheap to change that perception.
Uncertainty is certain.Let go
g-mi
#23 Posted : Thursday, March 21, 2013 5:13:22 PM

seppuku wrote:
@ChessMaster

I once wrote a Windows Mobile app in C#. However, it was a specialized application for a single client rather than general-purpose mass market software. Windows Mobile is still a small market though - although that might change going into the future. Until that happens, I am rather disinclined to invest in it.

On a different note, I have mulled over a couple of ideas on how Kenyan app developers can make money in the absence of accessible app payment mechanisms. One rather interesting way would be to adopt the so called Pay What You Want (PWYW) pricing system.

In PWYW, you let people download your app for free but ask them to pay you, by any method of their choice, whatever amount of money they think your application is worth. That amount includes KES 0.00. If your application is sufficiently useful, you might get a couple of people sending you some cash for it. However, some may say that knowing Kenyans, this is a rather far-fetched strategy.

You could enhance this strategy by adding a charity rider to the proposition. Say you promise that 30% of the money raised from the app goes to support some worthy cause of your choice. If you wisely choose the cause, get the right NGOs to support and you have a killer app, you might be able to generate sufficient publicity to attract the numbers you need to make some decent cash out of your creation. That and the fact that it is such an elegantly win-win situation. Just thinking...

PWYW cannot work in kenya we are too addicted to freebies. ubuntu has tried it and clearly you can see the value, I mean it's ubuntu!!! I still download for free so do a lot of people.

The charity angle, loving it Applause but I think having a minimum starting price would work better since most people would still get it for free irrespective of the cause.
The opposite of love is not hate but apathy. So too, the opposite of courage is not fear but mediocrity
seppuku
#24 Posted : Friday, March 22, 2013 9:21:49 AM

@g-mi, I haven't come across any information suggesting that Ubuntu uses the PWYW model. To my knowledge it is just regular FOSS. The starting price idea is a good one. However, I was proposing PWYW because we don't have accessible payment mechanisms here in Kenya. But you make a good point. There's likely lots of people who will not want to pay anything for apps marketed like that. But massive (NGO) promotion and a couple of obnoxious nag screens worded to arouse the right emotions might help reduce those instances.
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
#25 Posted : Saturday, March 23, 2013 10:43:20 AM

g-mi wrote:
seppuku wrote:
@ChessMaster

PWYW cannot work in kenya we are too addicted to freebies. ubuntu has tried it and clearly you can see the value, I mean it's ubuntu!!! I still download for free so do a lot of people.

The charity angle, loving it Applause but I think having a minimum starting price would work better since most people would still get it for free irrespective of the cause.

Ditto. Take for instance music copyrights. Kenyans had to be hustled to pay, a couple of arrests and threats etc.

It is for this same reason that I think starting price won't work. They might opt to ignore the app if it's priced, the charity part not-withstanding. What you need is a share-ware. An app that offers the basics but if one wants the extras, they cough up something small. Meaning someone will have tried and tested the app and liked it, to want to cough up cash. You'll have to come up with something impressive.

2nd, interesting how people see challenges while others see opportunities. That there is no pay system should excite you alot (please send some cash my way because of this pointersmile ) Mpesa is revolutionizing the world, its roots are in Kenya. Come up with something that exploits it and we'll (you and Ismile ) be rich

symbols
#26 Posted : Saturday, March 23, 2013 1:26:21 PM

Once the social apps boom ends,then apps will change Kenya
symbols
#27 Posted : Monday, April 01, 2013 1:45:12 PM

symbols
#28 Posted : Wednesday, April 17, 2013 12:19:08 PM

symbols
#29 Posted : Wednesday, May 08, 2013 10:55:02 PM

g-mi
#30 Posted : Thursday, May 09, 2013 1:07:37 PM

seppuku wrote:
@g-mi, I haven't come across any information suggesting that Ubuntu uses the PWYW model. To my knowledge it is just regular FOSS. The starting price idea is a good one. However, I was proposing PWYW because we don't have accessible payment mechanisms here in Kenya. But you make a good point. There's likely lots of people who will not want to pay anything for apps marketed like that. But massive (NGO) promotion and a couple of obnoxious nag screens worded to arouse the right emotions might help reduce those instances.

oh yea ubuntu does use PWYW ubuntu
The opposite of love is not hate but apathy. So too, the opposite of courage is not fear but mediocrity
#31 Posted : Saturday, May 11, 2013 6:06:24 PM

Digital Farming: New App to help Horticulture

A new mobile phone based agricultural software has been launched to help the over 50,000 horticulture farmers in Kenya in data management.

The farmforce (FF) software seeks to replace the tedious and cumbersome paperwork that horticulture farmers dealing in green beans and peas export have had to go through. This is in order to comply with food safety standards stipulated by the European market which among other things has been time consuming and a big challenge.
symbols
#32 Posted : Friday, June 07, 2013 3:01:51 AM

Apps Scom is eying or should be which are based on renewable resources...music,travel,events and ticketing,tourism,ebooks and magazines, and deals.Any developer who beats them to the chase earns Amazon money.Once you get Kenya you get E.A,once you get E.A...you've got Africa! Implementation is the only catch.Needs Steve Jobs 'negotiation skills'.

Almost forgot,the app has to have a downloader to resume downloads and a way to integrate m-pesa transactions.Ticketing,events and deals should focus on the future and that is NFC or whatever contactless technology that emerges.
symbols
#33 Posted : Tuesday, June 11, 2013 1:44:49 AM

Google Is Said to Be Acquiring Waze for $1.1 Billion

I a fan of Mary Meeker and believe in location services but even I didn't expect this.Well she isn't called 'queen of the net' for nothing.
symbols
#34 Posted : Thursday, July 18, 2013 12:06:23 AM

Home-screen updates,the goose that lays golden eggs! Expect a new entrant in the platform wars.
symbols
#35 Posted : Tuesday, August 20, 2013 9:08:46 AM

richdad
#36 Posted : Tuesday, September 03, 2013 12:50:41 PM

Good thoughts here. What about these guys here. A Facebook App for Kenyan listings.

There has been many buy/sell groups in the social network and seems someone has taken the idea where it belongs.
Keep it simple