wazua Thu, May 14, 2026

5 Pages123>»
Nepotism at Kenya Pipeline
#1 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 9:31:06 AM

What Selest Kilinda and his managers did is nothing new.. show me any parastatal in Kenya where nepotism is not the order of the day.

It was wrong for Selest to recruit his sisters and brothers but it's important that this matter be viewed holistically...
majimaji
#2 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 10:38:41 AM

Question is: are they qualified? and did they get an unfair advantage over other job applicants?

But as a CEO,like Caesar's wife, you should be above reproach.
#3 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 10:49:33 AM

majimaji wrote:

Question is: are they qualified? and did they get an unfair advantage over other job applicants?

But as a CEO,like Caesar's wife, you should be above reproach.

He recruited his siblings as a plumber and a telephonist. Those to me do not look like specialized skills, its pure nepotism and impunity combined. Otherwise he would have used his networks to get them jobs elsewhere.
mosesotieno
#4 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 10:49:34 AM

So long as the people hired were qualified to hold the jobs and the vacancies existed, I see nothing 'wrong' with what the management did. There are many Kenyans without jobs and one's first duty is to look after your kin.

As Vinii has stated, this practice happens in most parastatals. If I may call it so, it is a lesser form of corruption.
#5 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 10:54:26 AM

mosesotieno wrote:
So long as the people hired were qualified to hold the jobs and the vacancies existed, I see nothing 'wrong' with what the management did. There are many Kenyans without jobs and one's first duty is to look after your kin.

As Vinii has stated, this practice happens in most parastatals. If I may call it so, it is a lesser form of corruption.

two wrongs dont make a right....and your statement is shameful to say the least...
rryyzz
#6 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 10:58:53 AM

vinii wrote:
What Selest Kilinda and his managers did is nothing new.. show me any parastatal in Kenya where nepotism is not the order of the day.

It was wrong for Selest to recruit his sisters and brothers but it's important that this matter be viewed holistically...

Agreed. Where I work we've even nicknamed the organisation Baba na mama coz you'll find a mgr, wife, children, even in-laws working for the organisation. Though they try to hide this by having them in different stations. Terrible.
Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.... Leo Buscaglia
mosesotieno
#7 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 11:18:34 AM

mosesotieno wrote:

two wrongs dont make a right....and your statement is shameful to say the least...

It's just my opinion, that's all.
#8 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 11:30:52 AM

mosesotieno wrote:

Ditto.These are the people who will bury you and yourchildren and they could have fundraised for your studies and when you seek an elective post they will back you so it is better to employ them so that they sustain themselves.
#9 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 11:41:42 AM

hehe. We can't seriously be discussing whether this was wrong or right, can we? The shameful thing is that most Kenyans don't see anything wrong with this if it is "helping" "their" people.

It that was Raila's cazins, ungeona hii thread. If that was Uhurus people's ungeona press conference.

So how wrong or right it is depends on who's doing it. Kweli Kenya ni nchi. Nchi ni wewe
sheri
#10 Posted : Wednesday, July 17, 2013 11:59:56 AM

It is so rampant even in the private sector nowadays. Sickening!
5 Pages123>»