wazua Thu, May 14, 2026

Church for Celebrities Opens in Nairobi
#21 Posted : Tuesday, July 16, 2013 7:57:45 AM

So what happens when I, an aspiring hasora shows up at the door?
kiriita
#22 Posted : Tuesday, July 16, 2013 9:04:16 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:
kollabo wrote:
They probably havent heard of what befell America's celebrity church - Pst Robert Schullers, The Crystal Cathedral in Garden Grove California.

What exactly befell it kwani? Rink?

yeah what? crystal was amazing.

It went bust - filed for bankruptcy, eventually sold to, I believe, some Catholic Diocese.
sky5
#23 Posted : Tuesday, July 16, 2013 10:16:17 AM

Wrong footing. And its days are numbered.
Mtu Biz
#24 Posted : Tuesday, July 16, 2013 10:28:21 AM

The other day people died in Nigeria in a mad scramble for 'anointing oil' in a church..

MPESA for miracles churches are thriving..

A German 'evangelist' was here the other day, pulled a mammoth crowd of paying followers then bounced.. after making 'year of jubilee proclamations' and doing 'miracles'...smh!

We have a plethora of less brazen congregations who treat the rich differently from the poor and not so rich..

Now we have a celebrities only church...

the church is for “high-end Christians who cannot go to River Road churches.”

In spite of such a statement from the Senior Pastor.. the place will pack with all manner of posers.

I wonder (in the words of Munishi RIP)

Wanapokutana kuabudu wanamuabudu nani ??

Sola Scriptura

Mtu Biz
#25 Posted : Tuesday, July 16, 2013 10:48:38 AM

James 2

2 My brothers and sisters, believers in our glorious Lord Jesus Christ must not show favoritism. 2 Suppose a man comes into your meeting wearing a gold ring and fine clothes, and a poor man in filthy old clothes also comes in. 3 If you show special attention to the man wearing fine clothes and say, “Here’s a good seat for you,” but say to the poor man, “You stand there” or “Sit on the floor by my feet,” 4 have you not discriminated among yourselves and become judges with evil thoughts?

5 Listen, my dear brothers and sisters: Has not God chosen those who are poor in the eyes of the world to be rich in faith and to inherit the kingdom he promised those who love him? 6 But you have dishonored the poor. Is it not the rich who are exploiting you? Are they not the ones who are dragging you into court? 7 Are they not the ones who are blaspheming the noble name of him to whom you belong?

8 If you really keep the royal law found in Scripture, “Love your neighbor as yourself,”[a] you are doing right. 9 But if you show favoritism, you sin and are convicted by the law as lawbreakers.

So what is to be concluded when an individual or group seeks to minister to a congregation made up of "those with gold rings and fine clothes only" ?

Wanapokutana kuabudu... wanamuabudu nani?
Sola Scriptura

kollabo
#26 Posted : Tuesday, July 16, 2013 11:13:14 AM

kiriita wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
kollabo wrote:
They probably havent heard of what befell America's celebrity church - Pst Robert Schullers, The Crystal Cathedral in Garden Grove California.

What exactly befell it kwani? Rink?

yeah what? crystal was amazing.

It went bust - filed for bankruptcy, eventually sold to, I believe, some Catholic Diocese.

"In a way it was a church built on stars. The church declined when those stars declined" (my paraphrase)
http://www.seeing-stars....s/crystalcathedral.shtml
Mtu Biz
#27 Posted : Tuesday, July 16, 2013 11:27:59 AM

Not to do with celebrity churches but this goes to show you the lengths wide eyed congregations will be taken in the name of following a "Man of god"

In 1977 Oral Roberts claimed to have a vision to build the City of Faith Medical and Research Center, which would be a successful hospital.[1][2] While City of Faith was under construction between 1979 and 1981 Roberts claimed to have more visions of Jesus who encouraged him to continue the project. This included his famous vision of a 900-foot (270 m) tall Jesus in 1980. In a letter, Roberts spoke of the vision: "when I opened my eyes, there He stood...some 900 feet tall, looking at me; His eyes...Oh! His eyes! He stood a full 300 feet taller than the 600 foot tall City of Faith."[3]
The hospital accepted its first patient in November 1981. By 1986 the City of Faith was losing over 10 million dollars per year.[4] In 1987, with costs spiraling out of control, the medical center went largely vacant.[4] Roberts told a television audience unless he raised $8 million by March, God would "call him home" (a euphemism for death).[5] The donations goal was reached but Roberts soon began looking for buyers or people to manage the facility.[4] In 1989, only eight years after it opened, the City of Faith was $25 million in debt and Roberts closed the hospital (the last patient left on 16 October)

More....
Sola Scriptura

#28 Posted : Tuesday, July 16, 2013 11:59:44 AM

Ngong wrote:
sherrif wrote:
“We are not looking for celebrities or hunting for them. But we are encouraging them to come as we are offering what is relevant.”

And what exactly is that if not the gospel of the cross?

Did we have rich people in days of old?
Were special churches set aside for them?
What leads people to God if not the HOLY SPIRIT?
So why are we replacing the Spirit with Laico to draw them to God?
Those who are led by the Spirit will attend church ANYWHERE as long as God is preached.
Those led by FLESH will want what pleases the soul,what is comforting,accomodating etc etc.
Did Jesus who was GOD himself not attend normal church with the lowly and poor-he even encouraged it.
If the rich go to church cz of class then that is a lost gospel.
If they wont accept Jesus anywhere else except at LAICO,We are only deceiving ourselves cz If laico goes,Jesus goes too.

Question: Will ordinary people be ALLOWED to enter and hear the gospel of loving Jesus?

Kuna massage na coffee pia au?

WEWE WAIT UTAPATWA NA @ALPHADOTIsmile

@Ngong I'm fasting smile Laughing out loudly
#29 Posted : Tuesday, July 16, 2013 12:08:32 PM

Ngong wrote:
sherrif wrote:
“We are not looking for celebrities or hunting for them. But we are encouraging them to come as we are offering what is relevant.”

And what exactly is that if not the gospel of the cross?

Did we have rich people in days of old?
Were special churches set aside for them?
What leads people to God if not the HOLY SPIRIT?
So why are we replacing the Spirit with Laico to draw them to God?
Those who are led by the Spirit will attend church ANYWHERE as long as God is preached.
Those led by FLESH will want what pleases the soul,what is comforting,accomodating etc etc.
Did Jesus who was GOD himself not attend normal church with the lowly and poor-he even encouraged it.
If the rich go to church cz of class then that is a lost gospel.
If they wont accept Jesus anywhere else except at LAICO,We are only deceiving ourselves cz If laico goes,Jesus goes too.

Question: Will ordinary people be ALLOWED to enter and hear the gospel of loving Jesus?

Kuna massage na coffee pia au?

WEWE WAIT UTAPATWA NA @ALPHADOTIsmile

@Ngong I'm fasting smile Laughing out loudly

People have been misled to believe that Jesus (peace be upon him) is God.

They think that since he was born without a father, then he must be God.
Even Adam was created from soil, and through God's Word "BE" he became Adam.

Even after Jesus Christ (pbuh) told them
Quran: "O Children of Israel! worship Allah, my Lord and your Lord."
Moses said Deut 6:4: "Hear, O Israel: The LORD our God, the LORD is one."
Jesus said Mark 12:29: "Hear, O Israel, the Lord our God, the Lord is one"
Luke 11:2 - Our Father in heaven, hallowed be thy name, may your will be done on earth as it is in heaven.

Whoever joins other gods with God
God will forbid him paradise, and the Fire will be his abode.

Paul was procecuting Christians
On he way, he saw a vision of risen Jesus (pbuh).
Paul began to preach a different kind of Jesus (pbuh).
xyzee
#30 Posted : Tuesday, July 16, 2013 3:01:42 PM

Euge wrote:
So what happens when I, an aspiring hasora shows up at the door?

He will be shown the "Hakuna Kazi" poster on the wall