5 Pages<1234>»
Whats happening at Equity???
#21 Posted : Tuesday, July 09, 2013 6:36:28 PM

I think you guys are jocking. A week?

Yes a week this is just unacceptable some fellow I know has filed a suit against them....

still can't believe that. 1 week is unacceptable....Mara hii serekali inafaa kuingilia kati.

So what happens to people with businesses who don't have ATM's?

webish
#22 Posted : Tuesday, July 09, 2013 7:02:39 PM

Thanks I usually withdraw my salo in one whole batch, hii mambo ya sijui toa 20K leo, two days later sijui 14K, on sato toa kindu 50K for plot top up, next monday morning sijui 7K ya ngata,Friday next week sijui 4K for phombe, tuesday ati 1K for waPizza halafu on 29th toa KES. 150 for ma3 fare and matumbo lunch...HAIBAMBI.
Withdraw like a man!!!!!

Life is joy, death is peace, but the transition is very difficult.
#23 Posted : Tuesday, July 09, 2013 9:03:16 PM

I think you guys are jocking. A week?

Yes a week this is just unacceptable some fellow I know has filed a suit against them....

still can't believe that. 1 week is unacceptable....Mara hii serekali inafaa kuingilia kati.

So what happens to people with businesses who don't have ATM's?

Who is in banking specifically CMS he/she can explain how the uplift system works...am being told Equity uplifted 14.5M today from Stanchart and the staff there are shocked...
And there is a story about Obelist (sp) any programmer...
#24 Posted : Tuesday, July 09, 2013 9:15:28 PM

Even ATM can only dispense 2K. This is serious.
MatataMingi
#25 Posted : Tuesday, July 09, 2013 10:03:00 PM

These are the consequences of choices in the procurement of the IT system. i.e. the ATM hardware, switch software etc. The Bank pays more for less, and the difference goes to some " charity " !!!

Why don't we have these problems with SCB, BBK , CFCStanbic, KCB after Ben Kipkorir came on board, even NBK under the late honest Reuben Murembi.
#26 Posted : Tuesday, July 09, 2013 10:19:07 PM

githundi wrote:
Choices have consequences....some people saying system problem, wengine wanasema it's financial....yaani there are guys who have not touched their salaries....DAMN!!!!!

Equity paid teachers on it's gov't payroll on 19th of June.. Knut had not declared their strike by then.
There's a rumour that they might have not received the same cash from the government.
Your guess then should be as good as mine........

the rumor could be true.I know a teacher who banks with equity and received his pay on 22 Jun. teachers using other banks have not yet received their June salary.
assuming equity paid 50000 teachers at avg 20k that's a billion hole.
#27 Posted : Tuesday, July 09, 2013 11:00:37 PM

Finacle might be the problem. Maybe Equity hasn't paid the Indians who developed their core banking system their annual license fees.

Downtime for a week?! And no word from their public relations department?!

If their customers don't switch banks in droves, they must be very peculiar...

If I may ask, what are the benefits of operating a personal account at Equity?
jerry
#28 Posted : Tuesday, July 09, 2013 11:19:32 PM

jguru wrote:
Finacle might be the problem. Maybe Equity hasn't paid the Indians who developed their core banking system their annual license fees.

Personal loans ease of accessibility. I've never had interest in the crowds at EB!
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
akowally
#29 Posted : Wednesday, July 10, 2013 1:07:14 AM

Whaaaaaaaaaaaaaat!!!!

Just got down to this thread...

Hope it gets sorted out soon to avoid some potential embarrassments.

JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
#30 Posted : Wednesday, July 10, 2013 3:07:57 AM

jguru wrote:

Bank run in the offing...they marketed themselves as bank ya mwananchi...thats people moved there in droves...
webish
#31 Posted : Wednesday, July 10, 2013 6:48:14 AM

All these banks always go through such, once or twice. Bad luck when it finds you.
I hope I didn't speak too soon. Coop_bank.
I know of guys from Eco-Bank who Loans have not been deducted for 4 months. :) :)

Life is joy, death is peace, but the transition is very difficult.
#32 Posted : Wednesday, July 10, 2013 7:43:40 AM

githundi wrote:
Choices have consequences....some people saying system problem, wengine wanasema it's financial....yaani there are guys who have not touched their salaries....DAMN!!!!!

Equity paid teachers on it's gov't payroll on 19th of June.. Knut had not declared their strike by then.
There's a rumour that they might have not received the same cash from the government.
Your guess then should be as good as mine........

the rumor could be true.I know a teacher who banks with equity and received his pay on 22 Jun. teachers using other banks have not yet received their June salary.
assuming equity paid 50000 teachers at avg 20k that's a billion hole.

I believe this is kidogo money and they can easily borrow this to cover the shortfall...
the deal
#33 Posted : Wednesday, July 10, 2013 8:05:27 AM

Interesting...if this story keeps growing and the lame mainstream media starts spinning it...it could grow into a mini crisis...the small depositors are Equity Bank's key funding base...any mass exodus....could put the bank in an akward situation.
#34 Posted : Wednesday, July 10, 2013 8:06:36 AM

https://m.facebook.com/e...399_0_36_2&refid=17

Read the comments there they are handling this matter poorly...come out and tell people what is happening...
#35 Posted : Wednesday, July 10, 2013 8:18:37 AM

I'm not one for nataka serekali but if what guys are saying online is true, someone at CBK or the ministry needs to step in before things don't look rosy.

It is unacceptable for a bank to do this to their customers.

It is even more unacceptable that no one in gov't says anything about this.

You just can't let a bank behave like this. What happens when the systems come back? What are the chances of a bank run after staying for 2 weeks without funds?

Who said that such things can't then migrate to another bank due to panic?

Equity are handling this pathetically. The CBK by pretending they don't know what is going on is putting other banks at risk.

Fix this before it starts affecting others who would never touch equity.
#36 Posted : Wednesday, July 10, 2013 8:43:49 AM

I'm not one for nataka serekali but if what guys are saying online is true, someone at CBK or the ministry needs to step in before things don't look rosy.

It is unacceptable for a bank to do this to their customers.

It is even more unacceptable that no one in gov't says anything about this.

You just can't let a bank behave like this. What happens when the systems come back? What are the chances of a bank run after staying for 2 weeks without funds?

Who said that such things can't then migrate to another bank due to panic?

Equity are handling this pathetically. The CBK by pretending they don't know what is going on is putting other banks at risk.

Fix this before it starts affecting others who would never touch equity.

Unfortunately things that touch on some people seem not to bother the powers that be!!!!!
Vallerrie
#37 Posted : Wednesday, July 10, 2013 8:51:55 AM

I believe NCR handles ATMs for all banks and other financial institutions in the country. I don't see how the problem would only affect Equity, it has to be something else....
mmarto
#38 Posted : Wednesday, July 10, 2013 9:04:48 AM

Vallerrie wrote:
I believe NCR handles ATMs for all banks and other financial institutions in the country. I don't see how the problem would only affect Equity, it has to be something else....

ALL Equity atm's are from Wincor and not NCR as you mention
The only time you should be looking down on others is when you are helping them up.
streetwise
#39 Posted : Wednesday, July 10, 2013 10:03:55 AM

ajaa , how can such a huge bank depend on one vendor..unless the vendor is microsoft
Ante_Christa
#40 Posted : Wednesday, July 10, 2013 10:47:27 AM

the deal wrote:
Interesting...if this story keeps growing and the lame mainstream media starts spinning it...it could grow into a mini crisis...the small depositors are Equity Bank's key funding base...any mass exodus....could put the bank in an akward situation.

Kenyans are very forgiving.

Or is it Kenyans have short memory.

I think its our peculiar habits in calling and banking.

They wont leave Equity, after all.