wazua Thu, Jan 16, 2025

13 Pages«<23456>»
Kenol Kobil deal off!
#61 Posted : Tuesday, April 09, 2013 12:24:29 PM

@mwekezaji. i am in KQ but in a very small way compared to total portfolio. the amazing value on offer pulled me in, despite my general reservation on the airline industry. in my own estimation KQ has hit its true bottom and the only way from here is up! KK on the other hand, I cannot comment, sielewi! :)

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
Cde Monomotapa
#62 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2013 10:24:14 AM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Hehe. Let it tank! I might consider getting in again at 9 like last time. Cde, are you ready?smile

Kama kazi Comrade Brother! smile

With one part of the SELL decision materialized let's see the results & look for value in the BS coz enyewe..bottom line will mostly likely be a large turn off.

Mar. 01, 2013
#63 Posted : Wednesday, April 10, 2013 10:39:43 AM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Hehe. Let it tank! I might consider getting in again at 9 like last time. Cde, are you ready?smile

Kama kazi Comrade Brother! smile

With one part of the SELL decision materialized let's see the results & look for value in the BS coz enyewe..bottom line will mostly likely be a large turn off.

Mar. 01, 2013

The 9B was unexpected! With the new info, 9 bob would still be expensive, to me. All the best to folks though
#64 Posted : Monday, July 08, 2013 11:55:44 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:
guru267 wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:
hii mambo ya mafuta sielewi sana therefore I cant invest. its highly similar to airlines in that its prone to many macroeconomic variables that change by the minute! very unattractive..

You are in Financials (KCB and HFCK). Where else? Diversification is important

QUESTION: Would I ever diversify into an expensive crappy stock just for the sake of diversifying??

ANSWER: I think not!!

@Guru, Diversification ni muhimu. Am sure we agree on this front To stocks that one understands and are well priced. @obiero doesnt understand biashara ya KK thats why he even thinks its comparable to KQ which is outrightly incorrect. I would therefore not try to woe him to diversify in KK .... Am curious to know which counters he has put his money. DO YOU WANT TO ANSWER THAT FOR HIM!!!

ona sasa hii mambo ya mafuta.. KK & KQ are competing in losses as well as share price..

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
mwekez@ji
#65 Posted : Tuesday, July 09, 2013 9:27:58 AM

mwekez@ji wrote:
guru267 wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:
hii mambo ya mafuta sielewi sana therefore I cant invest. its highly similar to airlines in that its prone to many macroeconomic variables that change by the minute! very unattractive..

You are in Financials (KCB and HFCK). Where else? Diversification is important

QUESTION: Would I ever diversify into an expensive crappy stock just for the sake of diversifying??

ANSWER: I think not!!

@Guru, Diversification ni muhimu. Am sure we agree on this front To stocks that one understands and are well priced. @obiero doesnt understand biashara ya KK thats why he even thinks its comparable to KQ which is outrightly incorrect. I would therefore not try to woe him to diversify in KK .... Am curious to know which counters he has put his money. DO YOU WANT TO ANSWER THAT FOR HIM!!!

ona sasa hii mambo ya mafuta.. KK & KQ are competing in losses as well as share price..

KK over KQ any day. But hauelewi biasara ya mafuta so you cant get it ... waiting for the falling red hot knife to hit the ground to pick in bucketload
mibbz
#66 Posted : Tuesday, July 09, 2013 9:35:31 AM

interesting article'kk running low on ksh

http://www.nation.co.ke/...20/-/bcg11y/-/index.html
mwekez@ji
#67 Posted : Tuesday, July 09, 2013 9:45:16 AM

mibbz wrote:

http://www.nation.co.ke/Feature...20/-/bcg11y/-/index.html

Refinery wants to go down with KeKe *he he* *no laughing matter*
#68 Posted : Tuesday, July 09, 2013 9:54:33 AM

mwekez@ji wrote:
mibbz wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Ain't happening ;-)
#69 Posted : Tuesday, July 09, 2013 9:55:53 AM

KenolKobil, Kenya’s second largest oil marketer, is on the verge of collapse unless the government and its agencies change their stance on the once politically connected company in the country.
The oil marketer, controlling about 21 per cent of the oil market, has been locked out of the only two avenues of importing oil products in the country — the open tender system (OTS) and allocation through Kenya Petroleum Refineries Ltd (KPRL).

According to an insider who sought anonymity due to the sensitivity of the matter, this has forced the oil marketer to buy oil products “from here and there” to keep its outlets in operation.

“The company is still not allocated fuel products from the refinery and it cannot participate in the OTS as well. This has forced it to survive on purchasing fuel from other marketers, leaving very little profit margin, if at all there is any,” the source told Smart Company on Friday.

Someone here almost killed me, calling me a KANU sympathiser when i said a businessman with a piece of brain should NEVER engage the government in any tussle, be it verbal or legal. Just ask Dagonte.

Now this is what 'genius' Sengeman has brought to KK investors.

Cde Monomotapa
#70 Posted : Tuesday, July 09, 2013 10:05:33 AM

What happens in Naxvegas, stays in Naxvegas??
mwekez@ji
#71 Posted : Tuesday, July 09, 2013 10:06:49 AM

mwekez@ji wrote:
mibbz wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Ain't happening ;-)

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly cool ;-)
mwekez@ji
#72 Posted : Tuesday, July 09, 2013 10:16:44 AM

Although the company officials have chosen to remain silent on the progress made in the bid to have a strategic investor on board, recent developments point to a possible buyout by a local oil marketer. Sources familiar with the progress have told Smart Company that the company is in talks with one of the leading local oil marketers for a possible buyout.

... do these reporters know the meaning of the word "buyout"

... gather that NOCK is only interested in some assets that it wants KeKe to sell to it ... say NOCK wants to cannibalise KeKe in the name of buying the "idle assets"

#73 Posted : Tuesday, July 09, 2013 10:22:30 AM

mwekez@ji wrote:
Although the company officials have chosen to remain silent on the progress made in the bid to have a strategic investor on board, recent developments point to a possible buyout by a local oil marketer. Sources familiar with the progress have told Smart Company that the company is in talks with one of the leading local oil marketers for a possible buyout.

... do these reporters know the meaning of the word "buyout"

... gather that NOCK is only interested in some assets that it wants KeKe to sell to it ... say NOCK wants to cannibalise KeKe in the name of buying the "idle assets"

All news houses should be compelled to have consultants before they publish technical news. A business news consultant will be handy for BD.

mkeiyd
#74 Posted : Tuesday, July 09, 2013 10:33:33 AM

KenolKobil, Kenya’s second largest oil marketer, is on the verge of collapse unless the government and its agencies change their stance on the once politically connected company in the country.
The oil marketer, controlling about 21 per cent of the oil market, has been locked out of the only two avenues of importing oil products in the country — the open tender system (OTS) and allocation through Kenya Petroleum Refineries Ltd (KPRL).

According to an insider who sought anonymity due to the sensitivity of the matter, this has forced the oil marketer to buy oil products “from here and there” to keep its outlets in operation.

“The company is still not allocated fuel products from the refinery and it cannot participate in the OTS as well. This has forced it to survive on purchasing fuel from other marketers, leaving very little profit margin, if at all there is any,” the source told Smart Company on Friday.

Someone here almost killed me, calling me a KANU sympathiser when i said a businessman with a piece of brain should NEVER engage the government in any tussle, be it verbal or legal. Just ask Dagonte.

Now this is what 'genius' Sengeman has brought to KK investors.

]
@dunkang, Are you suggesting that we, Kenyans should always tag tails between our legs even when the gov't is on the wrong?

If so, where would the gov't stop?
#75 Posted : Tuesday, July 09, 2013 10:46:48 AM

@mkeiyd, you engage the government in talks. Remember how MTR came down? Discuss the issues and look for a way out.
Yu and Airtel held talks with CCK, and rates were even back dated.

The KK approach was wrong. Refusing to pay for fuel, then rushing to court for compensation because of a contentious report.

FYI, any government has nothing to benefit by your collapsing as a businessman, but if you decide that you will blackmail it, YOU DEFINATELY have to change your act or die.

mibbz
#76 Posted : Tuesday, July 09, 2013 10:55:17 AM

You know even uchumi went down,signs were there but some were adamant investors always defended it,they awaited 5 years for a relisting....kk is getting cash strapped,will they find a new source of funds to pump in or go down?
#77 Posted : Tuesday, July 09, 2013 12:04:20 PM

@mkeiyd, you engage the government in talks. Remember how MTR came down? Discuss the issues and look for a way out.
Yu and Airtel held talks with CCK, and rates were even back dated.

The KK approach was wrong. Refusing to pay for fuel, then rushing to court for compensation because of a contentious report.

FYI, any government has nothing to benefit by your collapsing as a businessman, but if you decide that you will blackmail it, YOU DEFINATELY have to change your act or die.
Talking to the govt is all OK but not when you have to sell your soul.
#78 Posted : Tuesday, July 09, 2013 12:17:09 PM

Losing a case among the many cases kk has can have it received,if ordered to pay huge sums.
Meduza
#79 Posted : Tuesday, July 09, 2013 12:41:02 PM

[quote=mkeiyd][quote=dunkang]

You cant win, unless you first begin....
Kausha
#80 Posted : Tuesday, July 09, 2013 1:22:38 PM

Immmaculate is twat of a journalist and embarassment to her teachers. KK did 4.7m cubic meters of oil in 2012. Lets assume 2m cubic meters was OTS going through KOSIF ullage. Then how would a company that does 2.7m cubic meters in other words 2.7m tonnes of fuel in 10 african countries have 5,000 cubic meters of storage space in Kenya. Is she suggesting the rest of the oil is traded via text or email ama?

The thing is KK has been the only brave oil marketer fighting the REAL cartels at the ministry of energy and KPRL who want to profit for no investment. The one company that is going to shut for sure is KPRL. It owes marketers 7B and karambu ackowledges that much so how is it that she didn't find that a story worth verifying of providing more details?