Investor
Property
How do I sell my plots while abroad?
Rank: Member Joined: 10/26/2011 Posts: 181 Location: Nairobi
Good people, I am in the process of subdividing a parcel of land in Kisaju into eleven 1/8 acre plots. Being out of the country, I am having my surveyor is help me out with the Title processing (for a fee) after I signed the mutation and consent to subdivide documents. I hope to have the titles soon. I intend to dispose off 7 - 8 plots, so I can fund a construction project I have began in Nairobi. However, my concern is how to go about selling these plots, especially if my presence is needed when closing the sale. I realize that the plots will not sell all at once, and I can not travel each time I have an interested buyer. I plan to travel this August to initiate the sale process, but beyond that, I am seeking your input on how I can go about selling my 7-8 plots without my physical presence. First time in history we can save the human race by laying in front of the TV and doing nothing. Let's not screw it up
@apricot, weka co-ordinates hapa tuone ni wepi, will view, weka bei then we can talk.
wilyum wrote:@apricot, weka co-ordinates hapa tuone ni wepi, will view, weka bei then we can talk. Thanks for the interest, I would like to do so, lakini ata Titles bado sijamaliza processing, so I don't want to jump the gun here. I am just trying to get the procedure right before I put the "for sale" sign. First time in history we can save the human race by laying in front of the TV and doing nothing. Let's not screw it up
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/21/2010 Posts: 6,183 Location: nairobi
My friend,you will have to choose a trusted friend or your wife and see a lawyer to guide you on drafting a document called"the power of attorney"which gives a second party the authority to act on behalf of the owner or 1st party.. "Don't let the fear of losing be greater than the excitement of winning."
mlennyma wrote:My friend,you will have to choose a trusted friend or your wife and see a lawyer to guide you on drafting a document called"the power of attorney"which gives a second party the authority to act on behalf of the owner or 1st party.. Thanks. That is doable and I will talk to a lawyer soon. First time in history we can save the human race by laying in front of the TV and doing nothing. Let's not screw it up
You don't to give a power of attorney which can be very unsafe. Do this. When you come in August, get a decent lawyer. Ideally this should be from a reputable firm. He can drift agreements with your buyers which he emails to u Sehemu ndio nyumba
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/21/2010 Posts: 6,183 Location: nairobi
It all depends on how you relate with friends and family,so long as you leave firm instructions the work is only to sign,call or email to consult but its only a tall order for secretive men/women. "Don't let the fear of losing be greater than the excitement of winning."
mlennyma wrote:It all depends on how you relate with friends and family,so long as you leave firm instructions the work is only to sign,call or email to consult but its only a tall order for secretive men/women. I have been away for so long (over 10 yrs) that over time I have learnt to rely & develop good relationships with two or so dependable people. I look after their interests as they do mine. I could never achieve many things that I have without them. That said, I am of the impression that in the Power of Attorney, one can define very specific actions allowed to the persons granted the power and very specific limitations like no sale process without owners signature, etc. Is that what you mean by an unsafe power of attorney @ Mainat? First time in history we can save the human race by laying in front of the TV and doing nothing. Let's not screw it up
Apricot wrote:Good people, I am in the process of subdividing a parcel of land in Kisaju into eleven 1/8 acre plots. Being out of the country, I am having my surveyor is help me out with the Title processing (for a fee) after I signed the mutation and consent to subdivide documents. I hope to have the titles soon.
I intend to dispose off 7 - 8 plots, so I can fund a construction project I have began in Nairobi. However, my concern is how to go about selling these plots, especially if my presence is needed when closing the sale. I realize that the plots will not sell all at once, and I can not travel each time I have an interested buyer. I plan to travel this August to initiate the sale process, but beyond that, I am seeking your input on how I can go about selling my 7-8 plots without my physical presence. Where is Kisaju and which country are you in?
I don't want to burst your bubble about your friends but 10yrs my friend is a long time. If you are coming in August, I suggest you wait until then to see what kind of friendship you will have until then. Yes you can sell your property without being on site. But it carries huge amounts of risk. Come back in August,go straight to a lawyer and get your things in order including who you're going to pick in your power of attorney. You can spend this time trying to figure out who's a good attorney. Please remember this is Kenya. Things happen. I have personal experience in this matter. I also have a few friends who can bear witness to what I've just advised. One of them was "building" a five story apartment complex. Trusted family and friends. They bought a piece of land. Nice building, updates and even pictures. On coming back, found out that the building was not on his kaplot but on the next plot which his "trusted advisory team" had bought. Needless to say that this really is Kenya and his case went nowhere. Come back and get your things in order. Don't you dare trust anyone who's children you can't kidnap and extort, especially if you are 10yrs gone. Be safe and you will be happy. Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
Be very careful my friend. Trust nobody until money is safely in your bank. It might be efficient and safe if you sell the whole portion to a single buyer instead of subdividing. work to prosper
Apricot wrote:mlennyma wrote:It all depends on how you relate with friends and family,so long as you leave firm instructions the work is only to sign,call or email to consult but its only a tall order for secretive men/women. I have been away for so long (over 10 yrs) that over time I have learnt to rely & develop good relationships with two or so dependable people. I look after their interests as they do mine. I could never achieve many things that I have without them. That said, I am of the impression that in the Power of Attorney, one can define very specific actions allowed to the persons granted the power and very specific limitations like no sale process without owners signature, etc. Is that what you mean by an unsafe power of attorney @ Mainat? My friend, I have advised you based on experience. Wachana na power of attorney unless its your mother you are giving that to. In Kenya, a lawyer can amend your power if attorney. Then you will be here with "a friend...' Sehemu ndio nyumba
wilyum wrote:@apricot, weka co-ordinates hapa tuone ni wepi, will view, weka bei then we can talk. Titles are ready. Contact me on Nanokenian at gmail dot com for more details. First time in history we can save the human race by laying in front of the TV and doing nothing. Let's not screw it up
ChumsQuest wrote:Apricot wrote:Good people, I am in the process of subdividing a parcel of land in Kisaju into eleven 1/8 acre plots. Being out of the country, I am having my surveyor is help me out with the Title processing (for a fee) after I signed the mutation and consent to subdivide documents. I hope to have the titles soon.
I intend to dispose off 7 - 8 plots, so I can fund a construction project I have began in Nairobi. However, my concern is how to go about selling these plots, especially if my presence is needed when closing the sale. I realize that the plots will not sell all at once, and I can not travel each time I have an interested buyer. I plan to travel this August to initiate the sale process, but beyond that, I am seeking your input on how I can go about selling my 7-8 plots without my physical presence. Where is Kisaju and which country are you in? Near Kitengela boys high school as seen on google maps. Contact me on Nanokenian at gmail dot com and I can give you specific details. First time in history we can save the human race by laying in front of the TV and doing nothing. Let's not screw it up
Mainat wrote:Apricot wrote:mlennyma wrote:It all depends on how you relate with friends and family,so long as you leave firm instructions the work is only to sign,call or email to consult but its only a tall order for secretive men/women. I have been away for so long (over 10 yrs) that over time I have learnt to rely & develop good relationships with two or so dependable people. I look after their interests as they do mine. I could never achieve many things that I have without them. That said, I am of the impression that in the Power of Attorney, one can define very specific actions allowed to the persons granted the power and very specific limitations like no sale process without owners signature, etc. Is that what you mean by an unsafe power of attorney @ Mainat? My friend, I have advised you based on experience. Wachana na power of attorney unless its your mother you are giving that to. In Kenya, a lawyer can amend your power if attorney. Then you will be here with "a friend...' I heed your warning. All sales will be done through me and lawyer. Sipeani power... First time in history we can save the human race by laying in front of the TV and doing nothing. Let's not screw it up
Sasa huku ni wapi you have been for a solid 10 yrs? how do people do that! Follow @ almas advise hapo ju.
Rank: Member Joined: 9/12/2009 Posts: 236 Location: Nairobi
famooz wrote:Sasa huku ni wapi you have been for a solid 10 yrs? how do people do that! Follow @ almas advise hapo ju. Nimeatembea mara tatu in those ten years and nakuja next week. So I will handle all the biz myself. First time in history we can save the human race by laying in front of the TV and doing nothing. Let's not screw it up
Investor
Property
How do I sell my plots while abroad?