wazua Sun, Feb 2, 2025

6 Pages«<3456>
Keep Left Unless Overtaking
#81 Posted : Saturday, July 06, 2013 9:43:47 PM

There's also this issue of climbing lanes. The lane is an overtaking lane for those climbing the hill, not those going downhill. I always see motorists flouting this rule.

yeah, especially past kinungi climbing up to fly over. Guys going downhill on the wrong lane then they washa lights and hoot at you as if you are on the wrong
CLK
#82 Posted : Saturday, July 06, 2013 10:11:04 PM

seppuku wrote:
CLK wrote:
seppuku wrote:
@Ante_Christa/@thuks, so you are saying that the slow guys should stick to the left-most lane and leave the other lanes for faster traffic? No?

Ulipata aje DL wewe?

Was going to ask the same thing, this explains why so many people have no idea why they have been shown the middle finger on the road.
And those when you flash your lights they decide to put on hazards, ignorance!!!

Boss, THIIIIIIIIINK! I believe I have raised my points cogently throughout this conversation. I know what the textbook says. Don't just rant, argue out your points. And don't just follow the law brainlessly, think about the motivation behind it. Wewe niaje?

As someone said hapo juu, 'Let's pray' let me assume hauna driver's license and that you have never driven a car and that you read those signs as a passenger. This assumption is arrived at after reading your subsequent comments on this subject.
WakaWaka
#83 Posted : Sunday, July 07, 2013 4:06:22 AM

There's also this issue of climbing lanes. The lane is an overtaking lane for those climbing the hill, not those going downhill. I always see motorists flouting this rule.

yeah, especially past kinungi climbing up to fly over. Guys going downhill on the wrong lane then they washa lights and hoot at you as if you are on the wrong

climbing lane is the extra lane on the left that slower traffic should shift to, to allow those driving on normal speeds to overtake, no?
Ante_Christa
#84 Posted : Sunday, July 07, 2013 8:19:56 AM

BLESSING wrote:
We learn a thing or two each day. If you find a switch, press it to see if its a bell or a light switch.

lol. Sorry.

reminds me of deedee the sister of dexter, both cartoon characters in dexters laboratory cartoon show that i have chanced to watch in moments of idleness.

"what does this button do?"

"what will happen if i do it ESPECIALLY when the sign says dont.."
Chiizi
#85 Posted : Sunday, July 07, 2013 9:39:54 AM

By the way, do you notice that trucks are from using lanes 3 & 4 on Thika highway. And the moron truck drivers still use these lanes. This is where police should be getting their chai from. Nktiest!
seppuku
#86 Posted : Sunday, July 07, 2013 9:50:40 AM

CLK wrote:
seppuku wrote:
CLK wrote:
seppuku wrote:
@Ante_Christa/@thuks, so you are saying that the slow guys should stick to the left-most lane and leave the other lanes for faster traffic? No?

Ulipata aje DL wewe?

Was going to ask the same thing, this explains why so many people have no idea why they have been shown the middle finger on the road.
And those when you flash your lights they decide to put on hazards, ignorance!!!

Boss, THIIIIIIIIINK! I believe I have raised my points cogently throughout this conversation. I know what the textbook says. Don't just rant, argue out your points. And don't just follow the law brainlessly, think about the motivation behind it. Wewe niaje?

As someone said hapo juu, 'Let's pray' let me assume hauna driver's license and that you have never driven a car and that you read those signs as a passenger. This assumption is arrived at after reading your subsequent comments on this subject.

You, my friend, are a genius.
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
seppuku
#87 Posted : Sunday, July 07, 2013 9:55:07 AM

WakaWaka wrote:

climbing lane is the extra lane on the left that slower traffic should shift to, to allow those driving on normal speeds to overtake, no?

Right, @WakaWaka. If there is no continuous yellow line between the regular right and left lanes, the guy driving downhill is completely free to overtake, but usual precautions must be taken, and that does not include intimidating the oncoming driver by flashing headlights.
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
#88 Posted : Sunday, July 07, 2013 11:45:27 AM

Same story on your way to Nyeri as you climb up after crossing river Tana, na hata huko pande za strongholds as you cross Nithi. Here the contractor had to put up some rather high 'bumps' to discourage the same.
#89 Posted : Sunday, July 07, 2013 11:55:58 AM

i hope people are not posting whilst keeping left or right......or on the climbing lanePray
#90 Posted : Sunday, July 07, 2013 12:29:06 PM

WakaWaka wrote:

right @waka waka, it is for slow traffic going uphill but speeding fellows driving downhill assume all traffic going uphill should use the climbing lane
#91 Posted : Sunday, July 07, 2013 7:03:17 PM

Huu mjadala tumekuwa tunachangia hapa kimchezo, sasa ona. As we speak, I'm reliably informed of a major accident at Tana bridge, bodies still being retrieved from the wreckage. Sad Sad Apparently, one of the fellows took the climbing lane to be his overtaking lane, went on an overtaking spree and smack at the middle of the bridge has collided head-on with an oncoming lorry.

Mbona watu hawaskiangi wakionywa lakini??Brick wall Brick wall
Prime
#92 Posted : Sunday, July 07, 2013 7:35:23 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
Huu mjadala tumekuwa tunachangia hapa kimchezo, sasa ona. As we speak, I'm reliably informed of a major accident at Tana bridge, bodies still being retrieved from the wreckage. Sad Sad Apparently, one of the fellows took the climbing lane to be his overtaking lane, went on an overtaking spree and smack at the middle of the bridge has collided head-on with an oncoming lorry.

Pray Pray
That river Tana stretch as you go uphill will keep on being the waterloo for many a motorist. this is as you go upwards towards Makutano. Some mororisa will be rightly overtaking as they move up then some idiot decides to overtake as he/she goes downhill. The only problem is that there is a blind corner. The fellows overtaking meet bang at the middle. And neither can escape because there are cars on both sides. Add to the smoothness of that road and the speeds involved. Disaster.
safariant
#93 Posted : Sunday, July 07, 2013 7:52:10 PM

Prime wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:

Pray Pray
That river Tana stretch as you go uphill will keep on being the waterloo for many a motorist. this is as you go upwards towards Makutano. Some mororisa will be rightly overtaking as they move up then some idiot decides to overtake as he/she goes downhill. The only problem is that there is a blind corner. The fellows overtaking meet bang at the middle. And neither can escape because there are cars on both sides. Add to the smoothness of that road and the speeds involved. Disaster.

That part of the road needs to be clearly marked. You can't tell that there is a Climbing lane.
The greatest act of bravery is chancing a fart while suffering from diarrhoea
#94 Posted : Sunday, July 07, 2013 7:57:12 PM

safariant wrote:
Prime wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:

Pray Pray

That part of the road needs to be clearly marked. You can't tell that there is a Climbing lane.

Come to think of it, it used to be but someone slept on the job after recarpeting. And that bridge...sometimes I get the feeling it's too narrow bwana.
#95 Posted : Monday, July 08, 2013 9:37:09 AM

In addition to keeping left, what do you say about those guys who stick their necks outside the window in a fast moving traffic in order to wipe the windscreens due faulty wipers especially in Thika road or Waiyaki way?

Should these types of guys keep on right so that the oncoming vehicles cannot severe their empty heads?
d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

#96 Posted : Monday, July 08, 2013 5:54:06 PM

In addition to keeping left, what do you say about those guys who stick their necks outside the window in a fast moving traffic in order to wipe the windscreens due faulty wipers especially in Thika road or Waiyaki way?

Should these types of guys keep on right so that the oncoming vehicles cannot severe their empty heads?
d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

Don't remind me that incident!

Crazy Kenyans!!!

#97 Posted : Wednesday, July 10, 2013 4:10:34 PM

Maybe those "keep left" signs should be replaced with the below ones and they shud all be put on the left side, maybe with some modifications to the effect that the nude ones are strictly on the left.

thuks
#98 Posted : Wednesday, July 10, 2013 5:52:35 PM

Maybe those "keep left" signs should be replaced with the below ones and they shud all be put on the left side, maybe with some modifications to the effect that the nude ones are strictly on the left.

Try that here and I guarantee you a 6.9mile jam and motorists complaigning, "Kwani wanatokelezea saa ngapi?"
I care!
kiash
#99 Posted : Wednesday, July 10, 2013 7:11:09 PM

seppuku wrote:
Some people here are zealously repeating what is already well known and acknowledged in the title of the thread - that the law says you should keep left unless you are overtaking. Others are making up their own rules about fast lanes and slow lanes. I am saying that I think this particular rule does more harm than good on a one-way road with multiple lanes. And by the way, does it have exceptions? When you are driving up to a roundabout to make a 270 degree turn for example, you want to be on the rightmost lane, right? But you are not overtaking. When you get onto the superhighway from Roysambu for instance, and there are 2 slow-moving trucks 700m apart on the left-most lane, are you going to get back between them when you overtake the first one or are you going to maintain your higher speed on the next lane for as long as it is clear? Who here drives like this? The fact that you think divergent opinion is stupid or wrong doesn't lend any credence to your own.

He Seppuku unauliza maswali, i did my driving in Kenya and had to drive later where they keep right. I think the point was explained by Mukiha with the number rules (do not know where he got them but that is how it is)I was taught you should always check behind you if there is another driver moving faster than you, then take the left lane and if the person in front is driving slower than you overtake on the right and that is how it works. Some people just block others with free lanes on their left.Experience will teach you that incase of a danger (in front of you ) its easier to escape to the lane on your right and if you are on the right most lane,meaning someone else is on your left ole wako!! If you On the truck thing at Roysambu,you do not have to overtake the first truck and then squeeze in between the two.If there is a car behind you and the distance between the two allows then you can squeeze in but if there is no space you have to move faster to clear the lane.
#100 Posted : Wednesday, July 10, 2013 7:19:49 PM

@seppuku, when are you going yo exit the highway? smile

just for laughs...