wazua Sun, Feb 2, 2025

6 Pages«<23456>
Keep Left Unless Overtaking
#61 Posted : Saturday, July 06, 2013 11:20:14 AM

seppuku wrote:
I have noticed road signs saying "Keep Left Unless Overtaking" on the Thika Superhighway. They are posted on sections that have 3 lanes on either side. Is this the proper way to driver on a one-way road? I can't imagine what is to be gained by driving this way or what is to be lost by driving along whichever lane happens to be clear - with careful cross-lane maneuvering of course.

There is a good reason why this is being done! I have driven for kilometres on that road behind vehicles - especially lorries - moving at the same speed and driven side by side by drivers who don't give a hoot about the other road users.

Also, the presence of vehicles moving at a slow speed - some as low as 50km/h - on each lane forces other drivers to keep changing lanes over and over which is not only inconveniencing but it increases the chances of accidents happening!
#62 Posted : Saturday, July 06, 2013 11:34:07 AM

seppuku wrote:
It's coz of the speeds involved. If you are on the inner lane and you are driving slowly, of course you'll make faster drivers keep maneuvering the lanes. The outer lane is for slow cars and those exiting, while the inner lane is for higher speeds. Again, the left side is your blind side, it's easier to see cars from your right side mirror.

Which IS a problem. If I am cruising at 110kph, why not just stick to the innermost (right-most) lane instead of weaving in and out of the left one? That feels like the less dangerous and more efficient strategy.

If you are driving at 110km/h you will be in perpetual overtaking mode so you will correctly be on the right most lane. But may you slow down and become an overtakee you duly move back to the left.
#63 Posted : Saturday, July 06, 2013 11:42:13 AM

JkMwatha wrote:
seppuku wrote:
It's coz of the speeds involved. If you are on the inner lane and you are driving slowly, of course you'll make faster drivers keep maneuvering the lanes. The outer lane is for slow cars and those exiting, while the inner lane is for higher speeds. Again, the left side is your blind side, it's easier to see cars from your right side mirror.

Which IS a problem. If I am cruising at 110kph, why not just stick to the innermost (right-most) lane instead of weaving in and out of the left one? That feels like the less dangerous and more efficient strategy.

What if I am behind you cruising at 120kph?

You will be arrested!!!
#64 Posted : Saturday, July 06, 2013 11:46:07 AM

On Thika highway it is possible to keep left but other dual carriage roads like msa road ni ngumu. I may be driving from airtel to town. This means I have to be in the inner lane at some point. This change from the outer lane to the inner lane will definitely inconvinience the rest. And they will have to overtake from the left
seppuku
#65 Posted : Saturday, July 06, 2013 11:53:16 AM

On Thika highway it is possible to keep left but other dual carriage roads like msa road ni ngumu. I may be driving from airtel to town. This means I have to be in the inner lane at some point. This change from the outer lane to the inner lane will definitely inconvinience the rest. And they will have to overtake from the left

You are right. I remember this exception for overtaking from the left was explicitly told to me in driving school. The other one was the classic "when asked to do so by a police officer". I think there was a third one but I can't remember it.
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
#66 Posted : Saturday, July 06, 2013 12:07:16 PM

I agree in Mombasa.....the lane that is supposed to be the fastest becomes the slowest at the point when you have to do a U-turn to ge to the opposite road!!!!
#67 Posted : Saturday, July 06, 2013 12:08:45 PM

seppuku wrote:

You are right. I remember this exception for overtaking from the left was explicitly told to me in driving school. The other one was the classic "when asked to do so by a police officer". I think there was a third one but I can't remember it.

if a car has stalled or there is an accident
seppuku
#68 Posted : Saturday, July 06, 2013 12:11:42 PM

seppuku wrote:

If you are driving at 110km/h you will be in perpetual overtaking mode so you will correctly be on the right most lane. But may you slow down and become an overtakee you duly move back to the left.

Now, this sounds very sensible. In fact, according to an article on Wikipedia referencing common practice and most US law, "the left (right here in Kenya) lane is reserved for passing and faster moving traffic, and that traffic using the left (right here in Kenya) lane must yield to traffic wishing to overtake". Now, this makes a lot of sense to me than a fanatical obsession with keeping left. If a faster driver shows up behind me then I simply move to the left and let them pass. I then stick to the left lane until I have to overtake. I contend that using this strategy leads to less, rather than more, cross-lane maneuvers and that it is therefore safer.

It also makes more sense than my earlier idea that the faster driver should simply overtake me from the left.
Learn first to treat your time as you would your money, then treat your money as you do your time.
#69 Posted : Saturday, July 06, 2013 12:18:33 PM

Theory Vs Pratical........unfortunately Kenyans have over time developed their own rules on the road......not very good ones!!!!

Like changing lanes on a roundabout and going round a roundabout while on the outer most lane! It's a good thing most of us don't carry guns!! Some times I get so mad I feel like getting out of the car and punch someone in the face!

Last weekend I was driving towards Thika on the middle lane and a truck on my left. There was a stalled car on the right. A bloody fellow drives all the way to the stalled car and stops. I'm doing like 100km/h a fast moving truck on my left, other equally fast moving vehicles behind me and I couldn't move to the right because of the stalled car. The punk behind the stalled car all over sudden decides to join my lane despite my hooting immediately I saw him trying to join the lane. The fellow totally ignored me and joined my lane. He almost killed me! The stunts I pulled to avoid hitting the son of a b!tch, hitting the stalled car, being hit by the truck and the vehicles behind were straight out of a hollywood blockbuster!! I was so incensed I was tempted to follow the punk and run him out of the road. But he definitely got the middle finger!
seppuku
#70 Posted : Saturday, July 06, 2013 12:22:47 PM

Theory Vs Pratical........unfortunately Kenyans have over time developed their own rules on the road......not very good ones!!!!

Like changing lanes on a roundabout and going round a roundabout while on the outer most lane! It's a good thing most of us don't carry guns!! Some times I get so mad I feel like getting out of the car and punch someone in the face!

Last weekend I was driving towards Thika on the middle lane and a truck on my left. There was a stalled car on the right. A bloody fellow drives all the way to the stalled car and stops. I'm doing like 100km/h a fast moving truck on my left, other equally fast moving vehicles behind me and I couldn't move to the right because of the stalled car. The punk behind the stalled car all over sudden decides to join my lane despite my hooting immediately I saw him trying to join the lane. The fellow totally ignored me and joined my lane. He almost killed me! The stunts I pulled to avoid hitting the son of a b!tch, hitting the stalled car, being hit by the truck and the vehicles behind were straight out of a hollywood blockbuster!! I was so incensed I was tempted to follow the punk and run him out of the road. But he definitely got the middle finger!

Pole ndugu. I guess it's true what they say. Every other single road user except yourself had boiled cannabis for breakfast, or at least you should assume as much.
Julie
#71 Posted : Saturday, July 06, 2013 1:27:19 PM

Seriously guys.....Hakuna kitu ingine ya kudiscuss.
I have been away for too long. Let me see....Ngoja topic hot sasa!
#72 Posted : Saturday, July 06, 2013 1:35:37 PM

Julie wrote:

Hey @Julie, what's up.....been long!!!
#73 Posted : Saturday, July 06, 2013 1:44:56 PM

Julie wrote:

Tafuta a thread by the name njaa mingi and another one called drugging on the rise after clubbing.
#74 Posted : Saturday, July 06, 2013 1:48:31 PM

Julie wrote:

Tafuta a thread by the name njaa mingi and another one called drugging on the rise after clubbing.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause .....huko kuna uhondo kweli!!!
Julie
#75 Posted : Saturday, July 06, 2013 1:57:37 PM

Thanks Mc Reggae:
Niko kwa drugging on the rise...hilarious stuff right there!
BLESSING
#76 Posted : Saturday, July 06, 2013 6:36:08 PM

Julie wrote:
Thanks Mc Reggae:

Forget the drugging, watch this and you will love overtaking on the left cauze those guys kept on the right lane.

And Seppuku walks among us.

BLESSING
#77 Posted : Saturday, July 06, 2013 7:44:30 PM

BLESSING wrote:
Julie wrote:
Thanks Mc Reggae:

Forget the drugging, watch this and you will love overtaking on the left cauze those guys kept on the right lane.

http:
Super Highway experts

And Seppuku walks among us.

For continuation of that nerve raking video, go
BLESSING
#78 Posted : Saturday, July 06, 2013 7:51:58 PM

We learn a thing or two each day. If you find a switch, press it to see if its a bell or a light switch.
BLESSING
#79 Posted : Saturday, July 06, 2013 7:57:31 PM

It was like a movie. Girl!, that guy can drive. It was a third generation Lexus doing over 210 KPH. Maximum speedometer reading is usually 280 on that car.
#80 Posted : Saturday, July 06, 2013 9:11:00 PM

There's also this issue of climbing lanes. The lane is for those climbing the hill, not those going downhill. I always see motorists flouting this rule.