wazua Thu, Mar 19, 2026

14 Pages«<89101112>»
First timer-Cars
#91 Posted : Wednesday, July 03, 2013 8:24:09 PM

Has anyone ever paid the penalty for late transfer of ownership to shed some light on this?

wilyum
#92 Posted : Monday, July 08, 2013 9:35:21 AM

The L sticker is it a must for first timer? Can 1 print for themselves ama you have to pick it from somewhere?
Burning Spear
#93 Posted : Monday, July 08, 2013 3:58:12 PM

Na usitumie miguu/tire ya Longlilo...nunua miguu za maana.
Shame on you

I noted that one in every 5 cars in Uganda (Kampala) is on Linglong tyres.

I dont think the tyres are that bad. Also, In Kenya, mashinani motorists are Longling people.

Please check.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
Meduza
#94 Posted : Monday, July 08, 2013 4:56:28 PM

Burning Spear wrote:
Shame on you

I dont think the tyres are that bad. Also, In Kenya, mashinani motorists are Longling people.

Please check.

if not Longling...then which? But wont that depend on the depth of my pocket?
You cant win, unless you first begin....
#95 Posted : Monday, July 08, 2013 8:40:06 PM

Meduza wrote:
Burning Spear wrote:
Shame on you

Please check.

if not Longling...then which? But wont that depend on the depth of my pocket?

GTR, made in Indonesia as well as Maxxis will serve you well. I get crazy mileages out of those.
CLK
#96 Posted : Monday, July 08, 2013 9:20:30 PM

Meduza wrote:
Prime wrote:
Meduza wrote:
What do you need to know about cars especially being a first car? or should I just expect the mechanic to do everything.

Be gentle with it. Treat it well and it will reciprocate. Dont fill a sal oon car with 10 of your pals when from a rave. Fuel at reputable stations. Not those selling fuel at 5 bob below market prices.Accelerate gently, Release the accelerator early enough when you anticipate you will need to brake. Service it regularly. Use "original" parts. Cheapest may not last long. Wax your car at least once a month. Avoid omo. Weka seat covers esp of those beige fabrics. Second from last... To the best of your ability, be stingy with it. Only help those who you know beyond a shadow of doubt that they will take good care of it. Not those funny college dudes who will use it for drinking sprees and street racing. Last, and most important... Dont overtake on blind corners (or where you cannot clearly see ahead), Remember to drive within reasonable speeds, and within a reasonable distance from the person ahead. Isnt all I have said common sense anyway?

Thanks alot...and ooh yes I plan to be stingy..LOL

Don't be stingy, however my rule is, i can only give my car to :-
1. someone who owns a car and its been well taken care off
2.the above mentioned human being can afford some 40k to replace my headlump just incase, yaani sio mtu wa kulia saa yote.

Hata wewe unaweza omba gari siku moja.
also do not get too attached, cars can really disappoint and avoid those silly scratches with ma3 and other motorists if you can.

Brakes will make the difference as to how soon we see you in the obituaries.
enjoy your new ride...
CLK
#97 Posted : Monday, July 08, 2013 9:25:22 PM

Realize that many drivers are idiots who always flout traffic rules and thus always give way. I learnt it the hard way when I refused to give way to an idiot who was trying to overtaking me while there was an oncoming vehicle. I refused to slow down to give him space to get back to the correct lane (i wanted to teach the idiot a lesson) and he opted to hit my car kwa side to avoid a head-on collision with the oncoming vehicle. I nearly wept due to the damage to my car, though he did pay for the repairs. So always give way to those matatu and probox idiots, for the sake of your life and to avoid unnecessary police/insurance cases and hours at the garage. They call it defensive driving.

You are lucky, try this stunt in slow traffic with overlappers but not on the highway, talk of kumuagikiwa na damu if you happen to be nearby where two people are fighting.
But seriously, that guy could have died and other people too including youSad Sad Sad Sad
CLK
#98 Posted : Monday, July 08, 2013 9:44:48 PM

wilyum wrote:
The L sticker is it a must for first timer? Can 1 print for themselves ama you have to pick it from somewhere?

Its not a must, however depends on whether we are talking about a first time car owner or a first time driver. for the later its advisable, only that personally i find Nairobi drivers harass you when they see the sign but can live with you making stupid mistakes until you get to know.
I hear you need to have someone else who is an experienced driver in the car with you if you have the 'L' sign, otherwise its an offense, the argument is who are you learning from? i can be corrected on this.
Prime
#99 Posted : Wednesday, July 10, 2013 10:18:09 AM

CLK wrote:
wilyum wrote:

Its not a must, however depends on whether we are talking about a first time car owner or a first time driver. for the later its advisable, only that personally i find Nairobi drivers harass you when they see the sign but can live with you making stupid mistakes until you get to know.
I hear you need to have someone else who is an experienced driver in the car with you if you have the 'L' sign, otherwise its an offense, the argument is who are you learning from? i can be corrected on this.

Si nitasema ni mama anajifunza and I cant keep on peeling the sticker on and off any time we are swapping cars smile
ahoo
#100 Posted : Wednesday, July 10, 2013 10:32:55 AM

Prime wrote:
CLK wrote:
wilyum wrote:

Si nitasema ni mama anajifunza and I cant keep on peeling the sticker on and off any time we are swapping cars smile

Nothing legal in this advice.My practical experience in Nairobi was you get a lot more stress with that 'L' sign as a new driver.I removed it after a day and my driving life has never been better.
You were put on this earth to achieve your greatest self, to live out your purpose, and to do it fearlessly.
14 Pages«<89101112>»