wazua Thu, Jan 16, 2025

Faulu Kenya: the next big thing
#1 Posted : Wednesday, July 03, 2013 6:55:32 PM

I sense by the year 2015 this DTM will morph into a bank. By then we will have the following as top five banks 1. Equity. 2. Cooperative. 3. CFC Stanbic 4. Stanchart. 5. KCB.. www.nation.co.ke/busines...80/-/ylhabf/-/index.html

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#2 Posted : Wednesday, July 03, 2013 7:02:42 PM

Why are you foreseeing KCB as being no.5?
#3 Posted : Wednesday, July 03, 2013 7:38:34 PM

Why are you foreseeing KCB as being no.5?

the lacklustre performance of regional subsidiaries vis a vis capex outlay in recent past, plus much greater aggressiveness and strategic leaders in competition..

#4 Posted : Wednesday, July 03, 2013 7:43:55 PM

Old mutual buys big stake here.
#5 Posted : Wednesday, July 03, 2013 7:57:19 PM

http://www.nation.co.ke/...80/-/ylhabf/-/index.html
mwekez@ji
#6 Posted : Wednesday, July 03, 2013 9:08:34 PM

I sense by the year 2015 this DTM will morph into a bank. By then we will have the following as top five banks 1. Equity. 2. Cooperative. 3. CFC Stanbic 4. Stanchart. 5. KCB.. www.nation.co.ke/busines...80/-/ylhabf/-/index.html .

Interesting this acquisition and that top five lineup smile
Pesa Nane
#7 Posted : Wednesday, July 03, 2013 9:38:54 PM

I sense by the year 2015 this DTM will morph into a bank. By then we will have the following as top five banks 1. Equity. 2. Cooperative. 3. CFC Stanbic 4. Stanchart. 5. KCB.. www.nation.co.ke/busines...80/-/ylhabf/-/index.html

Proper link. (nose pinch smile )

Old Mutual Acquires Faulu
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
#8 Posted : Wednesday, July 03, 2013 10:12:58 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:

Proper link. (nose pinch smile )

Old Mutual Acquires Faulu

Wewe unatumia HTML kali bwana.. Not everyone is digital.. :)

#9 Posted : Wednesday, July 03, 2013 10:16:17 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:
I sense by the year 2015 this DTM will morph into a bank. By then we will have the following as top five banks 1. Equity. 2. Cooperative. 3. CFC Stanbic 4. Stanchart. 5. KCB.. www.nation.co.ke/busines...80/-/ylhabf/-/index.html .

Interesting this acquisition and that top five lineup smile

Dont be suprised. The lineup has been changin like musical chairs all through the last few years with Stanchart being the most unpredictable.. H1 2013 will form the outline of the eventual picture

#10 Posted : Wednesday, July 03, 2013 10:22:29 PM

with 31 branches, Faulu has 400,000 customers while the CDE's lion has less than 2M clients with over 250 branches! Equity and Coop along with Family all have strong retail customer bases. The corporate book of the green lion is being eaten by CBA owned by you know who.. Its only a matter of time..

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#11 Posted : Wednesday, July 03, 2013 10:29:42 PM

It's now official,obiero divorces simbasmile
@SufficientlyP
#12 Posted : Thursday, July 04, 2013 9:03:02 AM

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:

Simba imelala sana, and they don't even know it. Labda waamushwe kwa maji baridi. How can they take over 7wks to approve a personal loan?Sad Sad
mwekez@ji
#13 Posted : Saturday, July 06, 2013 12:08:23 PM

jerry wrote:
How does FAULU manage to give loans at 1%p.m. interest rate and at the same time give 12%p.a. interest on fixed deposits? Saw this on DN.

@jerry, they are making a kill out of the loans

Loans are at 12% p.a. flat rate; equivalent to 21.46% reducing balance rate for a 1 year loan

Fixed deposits are at 12% per annum simple interest rate

Simply, their profit margin out of the loan is 9.46% (21.46-12%)
#14 Posted : Saturday, July 06, 2013 4:59:17 PM

mwekez@ji wrote:
jerry wrote:
How does FAULU manage to give loans at 1%p.m. interest rate and at the same time give 12%p.a. interest on fixed deposits? Saw this on DN.

@jerry, they are making a kill out of the loans

Loans are at 12% p.a. flat rate; equivalent to 21.46% reducing balance rate for a 1 year loan

Fixed deposits are at 12% per annum simple interest rate

Simply, their profit margin out of the loan is 9.46% (21.46-12%)

Their advertising and marketing skills are enviable. Very inviting. Sooner or later, all civil servants will be with Faulu Kenya

jerry
#15 Posted : Sunday, July 07, 2013 12:40:05 AM

Thanks @Mwekez@ji, @Obiero. It's now manifest.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
jerry
#16 Posted : Sunday, July 07, 2013 12:58:29 AM

jerry wrote:

How can I have a pie of FAULU?
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#17 Posted : Sunday, July 07, 2013 10:42:52 AM

jerry wrote:

How can I have a pie of FAULU?

Hi. I doubt whether one can buy in currently on individual basis. From my recollection Food for the Hungry is the second largest owner after Old Mutual with Bill Gates having an interest too through their foundation.

#18 Posted : Sunday, July 07, 2013 1:02:40 PM

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:

sold the damn thing at KES 40.50 :) now only holding BoK, COOP, and KQ..

Cde Monomotapa
#19 Posted : Sunday, July 07, 2013 6:59:57 PM

Cde Monomotapa
#20 Posted : Sunday, July 07, 2013 7:13:26 PM

You see, I don't work for Simba I own a part of it and that's a 200% return so far. I'm happy.