wazua Sat, May 9, 2026

13 Pages«<23456>»
Churchill Exposed
#31 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2013 12:04:47 PM

Our youth is a lost lot.... All they are focusing on is the zeros after the figure... this should be their opportunity to sell their talent big time! Can you imaging how much they'd have to pay if they were told to advertise themselves on that TV? and yet, they are giving two free minutes to do exactly that? On a show that the owner has made sure millions are glued to watch? And many multi-billion making organisations are fighting to get a space to advertise their product? Yet, you are given that moment for free, to advertise yourself, you talent....yet you do not see that.... They cant be helped! At all!

This is the time to make themselves so indispensable that if Churchill wanted to let you off, he'd have to fold and go home... And you start your own show. Yet, there is none of them who've reached that level..... that level that makes the whole crowd ecstatic! That's what they should be aiming for right now!

This reminds me of the day Wahome Mutahi moved his column from Nation to Standard. Nation watched as their sales dropped dramatically...eventually they called him back... of course at better terms.

Most of our youth just want to share in other people's sweat but not to eat from their own! I have seen many coming to seek employment in my consultancy offering to do for me exactly what I do myself!

I usually tell them that the only way I can allow them to ride on my reputation that I have build over a long time is if they paid me! They think I am crazy.

Imagine you are a doctor (I am not!!) and you have built your reputation for expertise and diligence over the last decade, then a young graduate medic wants to join you practice to treat your patients...

Why not just open their own clinic or join a hospital? There is a reason why patients go to doctors' clinics instead of hospitals...
#32 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2013 12:09:31 PM

Churchill must be using those famous words "unajuakule tulianzia" commonly used by successful enterprenuers who have struggled to make it to the top to justify underpaying your workers which is bad for business as it leads to high turnover .What are the current market rates of paying comedians this i believe is what churchhill should use and add a little more cos his show is more successful.
#33 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2013 12:18:37 PM

There is no justification for under-paying workers in the name of experience, platform, advertisement, etc!

#34 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2013 12:23:16 PM

InnovateGuy wrote:
Our youth is a lost lot.... All they are focusing on is the zeros after the figure... this should be their opportunity to sell their talent big time! Can you imaging how much they'd have to pay if they were told to advertise themselves on that TV? and yet, they are giving two free minutes to do exactly that? On a show that the owner has made sure millions are glued to watch? And many multi-billion making organisations are fighting to get a space to advertise their product? Yet, you are given that moment for free, to advertise yourself, you talent....yet you do not see that.... They cant be helped! At all!

This is the time to make themselves so indispensable that if Churchill wanted to let you off, he'd have to fold and go home... And you start your own show. Yet, there is none of them who've reached that level..... that level that makes the whole crowd ecstatic! That's what they should be aiming for right now!

I'm afraid, the kids are not thinking along this lines.

I wonder what the old think about.
iller
#35 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2013 12:26:36 PM

employers should grow with their employees
webish
#36 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2013 12:35:19 PM

keraka wrote:
[quote=alma]ehem

Let's be serious for a moment.

The show is called churchhill live. It was made famous by bwana Ndambuki. He's also the very same fellow who managed to get a contract with a huge company like nation.

Why do employees think that they deserve to get the same rewards as the risk taker in a venture? This is not a churchill syndrome either. It's in each and every company.

Churchill took a big risk when no one wanted to touch comedy. He's given those comedians HUGE exposure.

In fact, they should be paying him for being on TV. We know most of them aren't even funny and they should be saying mea culpas for boring us to death and getting paid for it.

You employ a kenyan and in a short He/She starts reviewing the salary vs what you make in profits.Not knowing how much risks youve taken to be where you are.

While I agree fully with humbling oneself as an employee. After how long should one enjoy the fruits of his/her exposure/experience? At what point do you say enough is enough?
Like in this case, at what point should the "employed actors" say that "it's time to do my own"?

And true, this happens even more in White collar jobs. After yr 1, you start comparing your salary with Founder's.
At what point are you worth doing this comparison???????

Life is joy, death is peace, but the transition is very difficult.
marex
#37 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2013 12:36:59 PM

All this hullabaloo about pay, sijui nini nini does not make sense to me. Platform, Platform, platform and I say again...PLATFORM is what matters. Only fools focus on the short term monetary goals
The way I am
#38 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2013 12:44:36 PM

There is no justification for under-paying workers in the name of experience, platform, advertisement, etc!

Not being one to justify under payment for work done, I pose the question:
1. Do these comedians become partners when they get aired? No.
2. Is the arrangement negotiated? Yes.
3. Do they sign under duress? No.

Then what is or who is exposed?
marex
#39 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2013 12:55:00 PM

Aren't they people looking for a platform?
The way I am
iller
#40 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2013 1:01:18 PM

marex wrote:
iller wrote:
employers should grow with their employees

Are they employees or people begging for a platform?

I think they are employees, im sure they have contracts
13 Pages«<23456>»