wazua Thu, May 14, 2026

Can we make ourselves happier?
Wakanyugi
#1 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2013 10:18:28 AM

Yaani, according to the 'Mbi mbi Cee:'

- People who drink in moderation are happier than people who don't drink at all.

- Men tend to be happier in a society where women enjoy greater equality.

- Being considered good looking increases men's happiness more than it does women's.

- You tend to be happier if you think you're good looking, rather than if you actually, objectively speaking, are.

- Having children lowers your happiness levels, but your happiness increases when they grow up and leave home.
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#2 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2013 10:30:02 AM

You can make yourself happy. But this kind of happiness for the self is so useless that I wouldn't bother to find it.
#3 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2013 10:41:53 AM

Happiness cannot be pursued; it must ensue, and it only does so as the unintended side effect of one's personal dedication to a cause greater than oneself or as the by-product of one's surrender to a person other than oneself. Viktor Frankl
#4 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2013 10:45:47 AM

I have always maintained that to be happy is a choice we all make (or should be making)!
Meduza
#5 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2013 10:51:17 AM

To be happy is a choice...even though there are other factors that can contribute to it, like family or friends or relationships, environment around you or the daily activities
You cant win, unless you first begin....
sherrif
#6 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2013 1:16:05 PM

Purpose to be happy.
Rid yourself of stress,gloomy and stressfull company,laugh more often,be grateful for what you have not what you lack,good health,there are a million reasons to be happy but some people treat happiness as a disease to be avoided.
Don't waste time on them.
Wakanyugi
#7 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2013 6:20:16 PM

I think you are all saying that happiness is a state of mind, not a product.

Yet studies have shown that money can 'buy' happiness. (RINK ndiyo hii).

Discuss

"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#8 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2013 7:04:23 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
I think you are all saying that happiness is a state of mind, not a product.

Yet studies have shown that money can 'buy' happiness. (RINK ndiyo hii).

Discuss

No. It's neither a state of mind nor a product.

It's nothingness.
Wakanyugi
#9 Posted : Tuesday, July 02, 2013 11:20:12 PM

[/quote]

No. It's neither a state of mind nor a product.

It's nothingness.[/quote]

Young Tycho, I thought we agreed you will sit this one out? smile

So if happiness is nothingness, how come some of us experience it?
symbols
#10 Posted : Wednesday, July 03, 2013 4:21:39 AM

This is my opinion.Happiness fades but joy is worth pursuing.You seldom find a joyful person who isn't graced with wisdom for such an individual possess a treasure hidden from the world.

It is a path to lessen the loads we carry.Our emotions,ego and body are the cause of these burdens.It is being strong in the face of fear,freeing yourself from the shackles of anger,focusing on appreciation rather than gratification and learning acceptance.Any one of these is difficult to achieve let alone juggling them.That knowledge is more precious than anything this world can offer and thats why I say,such an individual is truly blessed.