3 Pages<123
Biggest loser (own experience)
#41 Posted : Tuesday, June 18, 2013 6:21:08 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
Caramba wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:
I guess it's a loss only when one sells. Holding large chunks of KQ bought at 46 and Mumias at 14. But if you count opportunities lost as a loss, my worst is offloading EABL at 53, a stock that has since done a 1:5 split and the current price is in the strastophere.

I'm sailing in the same boat. Bought sukari at 14.00, it now tastes bitter than Malariaquinne.

@Caramba and @Gordon Gekko relax. You don't know what it means to be 'shaved'. If memory serves me right, I remember being conned Ksh. 49 for that mumias thingy. I remain bald to date Sad Sad Sad

d'oh! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly A buddy of mine told me he got his at 49/- too, i've always thot he lies about it...Kumbe. Pole sana
#42 Posted : Tuesday, June 18, 2013 7:14:55 PM

cmc @ 21, Kq at 42. Bado nalia
the deal
#43 Posted : Tuesday, June 18, 2013 7:32:17 PM

Common theme in this thread is that TN has screwed most of us!
phantom
#44 Posted : Tuesday, June 18, 2013 8:23:47 PM

Bought KQ at 60 bob and also another chunk of 1000 at 35 all in the name of averaging
Your boss's job is to give you a job. Its your job to make yourself rich
Prime
#45 Posted : Tuesday, June 18, 2013 8:37:17 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
Caramba wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:
I guess it's a loss only when one sells. Holding large chunks of KQ bought at 46 and Mumias at 14. But if you count opportunities lost as a loss, my worst is offloading EABL at 53, a stock that has since done a 1:5 split and the current price is in the strastophere.

I'm sailing in the same boat. Bought sukari at 14.00, it now tastes bitter than Malariaquinne.

@Caramba and @Gordon Gekko relax. You don't know what it means to be 'shaved'. If memory serves me right, I remember being conned Ksh. 49 for that mumias thingy. I remain bald to date Sad Sad Sad

d'oh! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly A buddy of mine told me he got his at 49/- too, i've always thot he lies about it...Kumbe. Pole sana

Naona tuko wengi.
Pesa Nane
#46 Posted : Tuesday, June 18, 2013 11:27:25 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
Caramba wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:

The con game was called Mumias Sugar Secondary IPO 2006. The prospectus / info memo was all sugar coated, honey stuffed and with a few chocolate flakes. All for a SUPER DISCOUNTED PRICE OF ONLY Ksh. 49.50 (NOT 49)

Ironically, this was implemented under the Economic Recovery Strategy for Wealth and Employment Creation (ERSWEC) Programme.d'oh! d'oh!
Merciless Mafia.Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
#47 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 9:33:26 AM

phantom wrote:
Bought KQ at 60 bob and also another chunk of 1000 at 35 all in the name of averaging

Sad pole mine is worse My book has KQ printed at 70 and 110 when i had given my broker free hand to trade... sisemi kituBrick wall
Halafu CFC stanbic 132 Even with the consolation shares given for liberty holdings I ask myself Pray kwani the company got chopped into 2 and some chaps disappeared to British Virgin Islands kuficha huko?
The i remember dozing of in class during CAPM MM and other asset pricing theories... but i crammed the other sections and escaped with a B.
kazee
#48 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 9:41:23 AM

My worst ever was buying 600,000 safcom shares at 5 bob back in the days before and after listing then it went sub 3. Sold them at below 3 and wrote off a net loss of just above a mita, accepted and moved on smile
mwekez@ji
#49 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 9:46:36 AM

kazee wrote:
My worst ever was buying 600,000 safcom shares at 5 bob back in the days before and after listing then it went sub 3. Sold them at below 3 and wrote off a net loss of just above a mita, accepted and moved on smile

Classic buy high sell low case. hope you got the lesson. pole
kazee
#50 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 9:50:50 AM

mwekez@ji wrote:
kazee wrote:

I know! Learnt my lesson but at the time I weighed between how long it would take for me to recover and opportunities in real estate developments that I had and opted for the latter. Time value of money. But what a lossPray
MoneyMonger
#51 Posted : Wednesday, June 19, 2013 10:02:24 AM

kazee wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:
kazee wrote:

I know! Learnt my lesson but at the time I weighed between how long it would take for me to recover and opportunities in real estate developments that I had and opted for the latter. Time value of money. But what a lossPray

Sorry for the loss. But the key thing is in bold. smile I haven't been in the market for long and I started off trading with the BRITAM IPO which proved to be monkey business, averaged down at some point @6 pershare - which really saved me. Since I started with little cash I was patient to wait and sold at a small profit when it crossed the IPO price(loss really if you bring in opportunity cost).
There is nothing as dangerous as an Idea, when there is only one Idea
#52 Posted : Saturday, June 29, 2013 7:05:59 AM

Pesa Nane wrote:
Caramba wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:

Shame on you Shame on you @murchr @caramba@Gordon Gekko no no no hapana Mumias split I think 1:5 after hitting 49. So it is not the worst performer. I stand corrected theKing of the Monkeys are KQ and CFC . . . Kuna kupigwa na kuchifichio
hisah
#53 Posted : Saturday, June 29, 2013 7:58:59 AM

@siringi - MSC had a secondary offer @49.50 back in 2007. The split was done much later. @pesa nane is talking about this OFS that indeed was a conned job as gok dumped more shares during the IPO euphoria season back in 2006.

http://allafrica.com/stories/200612040871.html
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#54 Posted : Saturday, June 29, 2013 9:15:00 AM

Mumias split was 3:1 after the Offer For Sale in 2007
The optimist
#55 Posted : Saturday, June 29, 2013 1:41:06 PM

symbols wrote:
850k at age 21.Tough lesson,but it beats a MBA anytime!

How now?d'oh!

Was young.Got lucky and confident and in a flash I learnt the rules of Nairobbery.Pap! Lost some in deci,some in K-Re listening to brokers,but the majority vanished with conmen as I tried to enter the matatu industry.

Talk of serious Seasoning
[url=https://www.facebook.com/AdeptTranport]Adept Tranport Services[/url]
#56 Posted : Saturday, June 29, 2013 2:07:02 PM

Ilikeyou wrote:
mlefu wrote:
Bought paka at thirty I don`t know what !@#!$$%...

My wazua log-in only support Club SK

@elder Mlefu,
Paka has NEVER traded at that price.

I actually still have my statements where I sold paka at 28...
Mine is Britak at IPO price though i cancelled it out with buying more at 5.30 selling at 8...
Mumias mumias mumias....bought @8...sigh

And Total...@23...

@symbols cant beat an MBA from the ICMA
symbols
#57 Posted : Saturday, June 29, 2013 3:25:03 PM

The optimist wrote:
symbols wrote:
850k at age 21.Tough lesson,but it beats a MBA anytime!

How now?d'oh!

Was young.Got lucky and confident and in a flash I learnt the rules of Nairobbery.Pap! Lost some in deci,some in K-Re listening to brokers,but the majority vanished with conmen as I tried to enter the matatu industry.

Talk of serious Seasoning

symbols
#58 Posted : Saturday, June 29, 2013 3:27:41 PM

Ilikeyou wrote:
mlefu wrote:
Bought paka at thirty I don`t know what !@#!$$%...

My wazua log-in only support Club SK

@elder Mlefu,
Paka has NEVER traded at that price.

I actually still have my statements where I sold paka at 28...
Mine is Britak at IPO price though i cancelled it out with buying more at 5.30 selling at 8...
Mumias mumias mumias....bought @8...sigh

And Total...@23...

@symbols cant beat an MBA from the ICMA

If it's working for you then I can't argue with that.In or out of class,if you're learning that's all that really matters.