wazua Thu, May 14, 2026

3 Pages<123
Close shave from Kimaiyo's mboys!!!
#21 Posted : Thursday, June 27, 2013 10:47:22 PM

carygoh wrote:
Back to the topic
Towards the end of last year my pal(who was like 8 months pregnant), went to withdraw company Petty cash as was the norm,at a bank located at parkside towers,she went with the driver and a colleague(who was on training as she was to hand over to her when going for the maternity leave),their offices are like opposite the parkside towers, when they were coming back, just as they were parking the car, 2 men on a bodaboda came out of nowhere and told the passenger at the back (the colleague)to give them the cash they noticed she was not the one (maybe from the description they had been given) ,they went to pal's side (she was at the passenger seat),of course after been shown/pointed with a gun she gave out the money (1.4M) and before the could even raise an alarm the thugs zoomed with their "getaway" bodaboda,
The money was not insured so ikapotelea hivo
The boss decided not report to the police because the first suspect to be locked up would have been my pal and with pregnancy would have been hard on her,my pal has been with that company for over 5 yrs and she has withdrawn more than the 1.4 so there was no reason to suspect her
They have never known who gave the thugs the info to date ,maybe the someone from the bank
am not sure how the case ended though

someone told me a very similar story just as i was going to transact at that bank and i was cautious about any funny characters transacting at the bank kumbe some tellers and walinzi are in cahoots with the criminals.....thank heaven the people narrating have lived to tell their ordeals....
#22 Posted : Friday, June 28, 2013 7:24:08 AM

carygoh wrote:
Do you still go to buros

I sense an invite?d'oh! Those mbenches have flattened many a mbut and the alcohol had a way of passing on a meru accent.. sijui its that mathe?

You a member?

Kinda....naweza kunywa na deni.... i pitia there but not frequently...
Kuna venye despite that place having those tu benches one still enjoys the drink

Kweri kabisa.. Must be the 'open-air' atmosphere. I pity the neighbors tho'. Its family affair here, the dad must have been among the earliest patrons, so yours truly is asked family questions and I'm guessing my kids while in 'shags' will also make noise to the unfortunate folk. If you'll buy Keringet sparkled, we can discuss why God frowns upon 'strong drink'smile

Wazua, this maneno of plastic money.. If I can pay may bills, shop et al can't I transfer my money from one bank to another via the same card? (free-of-charge)

its the only place you can take milk while others are drinking frothy water and not feel wierd
Mainat
#23 Posted : Friday, June 28, 2013 8:29:50 AM

Caramba wrote:
Ngong wrote:
Help us brother,which bank is this, .

Coop Bank, next to Nandos/Mobil, South C

And that is one of the co-op branches which has small queues in Nai. Thanks for the onyo
Sehemu ndio nyumba
#24 Posted : Friday, June 28, 2013 8:59:29 AM

poor tellers. poor bank guards. most likely it is an inside job from outside the bank - like an employee or colleague who knows one is going to withdraw a lot of money. or just thugs targeting those from bank with various telltale signs - bulging pockets or socks; fidgety sweating magigi etc (of stories of people being hit with lots of money there may yet be untold stories of those hit with no or small amounts). but the tellers and guards have to cop the blame - the wazua way.
CLK
#25 Posted : Friday, June 28, 2013 9:54:28 AM

Am not surprised co-op bank is being mentioned here, heard a story abt the bell-bottom house branch and i want to imagine with pple being transfered, the ugonjwa has spread. the teller signals to the security guard, the sign means how much money you have withdrawn, the watchie relays this to thugs outside, they would be two normally, they then would sandwich you or follow you into a ma3, ask you for the exact amount, very scary.

At times the watchie will put a mark on your clothes with a felt pen as though by mistake or you wont even know.

Am surprised because i thought CBA (only bank i know has a branch at parkside towers) was safer.
#26 Posted : Friday, June 28, 2013 10:04:59 AM

Taxi drivers are another bunch to watch out.if he is constantly on his phone know they are waiting for you at your gate next stop being the atm machine...
#27 Posted : Friday, June 28, 2013 10:26:11 AM

Why not get a firearm or let me provide security.
#28 Posted : Friday, June 28, 2013 11:24:27 AM

madollar wrote:
Taxi drivers are another bunch to watch out.if he is constantly on his phone know they are waiting for you at your gate next stop being the atm machine...

Quite true. Happened to a colleague on Mbagathi way while coming from clubbing. Taxi guy was constantly on phone, feigned a break down, thugs struck and took all their smart phones & cash. Only later did they realize 'twas a set-up.
#29 Posted : Friday, June 28, 2013 12:04:28 PM

my first working life was in a bank which was robbed twice and the 'thugs' always new who had keys. was naive then, but looking back, there must have been staff involvement.
3 Pages<123